Skip to content

Kids and Gardening

August 7, 2011


I’m posting today about incorporating your children into your garden plans.  Read it here at Simple-Green-Frugal Co-op.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. akaangrywhiteman permalink
    August 7, 2011 12:12 pm

    That funny looking beet on the left must be the result of leakage from Hanford. Does it glow in the dark?

  2. Bev in CA permalink
    August 8, 2011 3:13 am

    Our children started young and our now adults. The planting of a seed, one tiny seed was an amazinf leap of faith. We encouraged them to think of what this one seed produced and they enjoyed saving seed for the next year. We all worked in the garden from soil prep (manure detail) in the fall, to the end product of canning. We did laugh, They would do a Tom Sawyer during the summer. getting their friends to help pick. Summer afternoons were for swimming. On a summer night we always said we could hear the garden grow.

  3. August 8, 2011 3:32 pm

    Completely unrelated, but I just wanted to say that I thought of your farm and blog often yesterday – I had the great pleasure to spend the day at a seminar given by Joel Salatin (VERY lucky as I live in rural Australia so never thought I would have that opportunity). As I listened and watched so many of the things he said and illustrated had extra resonance for me because I’d read about them on your blog and seen his ideas in action. My head is now buzzing with ideas! So thanks for your great blog 🙂

  4. Bev in CA permalink
    August 10, 2011 10:20 am

    I wanted to answer the first commentor, No not a beet. It is a Kohlarabi. Good raw with a dip, breaded, in casseriles and sauted. I have always grown the white type. Will have to try the purple. I am sure there are lots of recipes out there.

    • August 10, 2011 12:49 pm

      I think he is teasing 🙂

      I like them raw the best, or grated for slaw and then third choice is lacto-fermented. Yum yum.

    • akaangrywhiteman permalink
      August 10, 2011 3:54 pm

      Sheeew!!, Thanks Bev, I thought maybe the aliens had started experimenting on the locals.

  5. Bev in CA permalink
    August 11, 2011 9:17 am

    You all made my day. I am laughing Thanks, you can see that I take things to literal. I have been going around smiling all morning. Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

