Skip to content

Saucy Dogs

September 1, 2011

Still formulating that grass update post, but in the meantime garden and preserving pics will have to do.


Thirty six pounds of tomatoes = 8.5 pints of sauce to can… and lots of stuff needing harvesting in the gardens.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2011 8:41 am

    Very busy time of year….I love your pics, keep them coming!

  2. Hayden permalink
    September 1, 2011 10:43 am

    wonderful photos. Your dog is farm-functional, mine not so much. But where would any of us be without their companionship? Yours have such sweet faces!

    • September 1, 2011 6:06 pm

      Hayden, I don’t know how functional 80# lap dogs are, but we sure like them. Spoiled rotten, them. Couldn’t be without my shadows 😉

  3. Wendy permalink
    September 1, 2011 12:33 pm

    What attachment do you use on your food mill for sauce? I can’t seem to find a happy medium between the juicer and the salsa one. How are you prepping your tomatos? Thanks

    • September 1, 2011 6:02 pm

      Wendy, I have a Villaware strainer but I don’t think they are made anymore, but it looks like this.
      http://www.amazon.com/Victorio-VKP250-Model-Strainer-Sauce/dp/B001I7FP54/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top
      It’s nice because it takes out the skins and seeds and leaves just the sauce.

      I roast my tomatoes with garlic, onions and herbs and then run them through the food mill, and then I reduce the sauce in a crockpot. Then I can it. It’s a process that takes several days from harvest to canning, but I like the results and the fact that I am NOT chained to the stove for the entire time. What doesn’t work for me is freezing tomatoes and thinking I will sauce them later. Never happens.

  4. September 1, 2011 5:55 pm

    AMF, yeah these guys like to lurk and hope to snag a treat for themselves. Jane’s suitor was # someone or other, a calving ease Hereford though for her first calf. I hope she took!

  5. September 1, 2011 6:05 pm

    AMF, these guys like to lurk and see if they can snag a treat all under the guise of hunting some varmint 😉

    I just picked a calving ease Hereford, who only has a # in the catalog. He was nice looking though. I hope she took!

  6. Wendy permalink
    September 2, 2011 1:47 pm

    Does sauce have to pressure canned, or can it be done in a water bath?

    • September 2, 2011 6:31 pm

      Wendy, I pressure can it because it is faster, but you could water bath it, just follow USDA recommendations. You can add lemon juice or citric acid to each jar if you’re not sure of the acidity of the tomatoes.

  7. brenda permalink
    September 2, 2011 11:42 pm

    Those are some happy looking shadows. You know you got me started watching a ton of Joel Sallatin YouTubes. Very interesting. I found a like minded gentleman at our tiny farmer’s market with veggies, pork and beef, soon to have chickens. So fun.

    brenda from arkansas

  8. September 6, 2011 2:15 pm

    Love your photos! And that delightful dog …I feel just like that when I get my canning done!

    Linda

    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

