Skip to content

Wordless Wednesday

September 7, 2011
tags:

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Sheila Z permalink
    September 7, 2011 12:25 am

    Oh shi…. I mean fertilizer.

  2. September 7, 2011 1:40 am

    Woo-hoo! Yup, I just got one that looks a lot like that. I’m looking forward to spreading shellfish “waste” on my fields – should be quite aromatic indeed. Just need to get that puppy all squared away (it needs a little work) and on the farm, then get my smelly load delivered, then away I go!

  3. September 7, 2011 2:28 am

    Interesting photos. 🙂

  4. akaangrywhiteman permalink
    September 7, 2011 3:08 am

    An obama speech??

  5. September 7, 2011 3:46 pm

    I have 8 tandem dump truck loads of pure chicken litter,no bedding,waiting to do the same thing…..my neighbors will not be impressed! ha!

  6. FL.T permalink
    September 7, 2011 9:00 pm

    I still use a shovel! 😦

  7. September 8, 2011 9:42 am

    Frankly, I wish it wasn’t Wordless! I’m sure you’re spreading composted manure at least that’s what I’m guessing. I was sitting and reading Melissa Coleman’s book and thinking, “boy I’ve gotta get some composted manure spread.” My big question is in order to spread it should it be composted first? Hope all is well…thinking and praying for you all.

    • September 9, 2011 10:45 am

      Diane, it depends, you can put it on fresh if no animals have to graze there for some time, or at least the same species of animal as the manure. Composting is like waiting for that first paycheck, once you get in the cycle you always have some manure to compost and some that is composted. One benefit is that the composted manure is lighter and easier to handle.

      Thanks for the thoughts, we’re on the mend.

Leave a Reply

