Skip to content

Tomato Trials and Garden Tribulations

September 20, 2011

Fall is almost officially here, and the garden has produced a mixed bag of goods.  Many crops compressed their maturity period once we finally got some heat, and others will never come to fruition.  Surprises in this cool, wet summer, cucurbits and solanums have all ripened right on time.  Blueberries were large and plentiful, as were other types of berries, but the standbys – apples, pears and prunes are almost non-existent and if there was fruit set, as in the case of prunes, they will not ripen.  The nights are too cold, and the days too short already.

Growing your own food is always fraught with difficulties.  Seed to table even for the experienced is, or can be a roller coaster ride.  I try to avoid too much anxiety by planning for abundance.  Attention to variety and continual tweaking in the gardens make for at least something to eat.

This year a friend and I put our heads together and decided to trial one variety of tomato with seeds from different sources.  We had already decided we liked Costoluto Genovese for most of our salsa and sauce making.  We both live at the same elevation – as the crow flies, she is right through the woods, by road that is a different story – and, we both are growing warm-weather crops in greenhouses. And, we can and preserve until our eyeballs pop out of our heads!  Then we start poring over seed catalogs for next year.


To do a proper trial we needed to keep things as similar as possible and minimize the differences.

Differences:
♥ Greenhouse orientation – mine is north/south, hers is east/west.

♥ My greenhouse has more, err, ventilation due to roll-up sides, higher peak, and it’s not finished.  Hers is tighter, smaller doors, lower roof, and is therefore warmer.

♥  I use composted cow and chicken manure, she uses horse.

♥  Seeds from 5 different sources.

Similarities:

♥  Same variety of tomato.

♥  I started all the plants and then distributed them accordingly.

♥  Same planting dates.

♥ Kept meticulous or ridiculous (depending on how you look at it) records of plant habits, fruit set, and problems, triumphs and yields.

♥  Hog-tied family members for taste tests of fresh tomatoes and cooked products.  When anyone sees us with a pigging string and a plates of tomatoes they now walk quickly in the other direction…

♥ Admired each others gardens repeatedly and smiled a lot.

♥ Made plans for seed saving from the ones we like and subject ourselves to a repeat next year.

As for the rest of the garden, it is now in full swing.


Peppers galore, for fresh eating and preserving.  New this year Flavorburst F1 from Johnny’s.  Delicious!  Of course, my standbys, Numex Joe E. Parker and Red Ruffled Pimiento are doing great too.


The deer made their appearance last week, so the deer netting was in order for the carrots.  The most popular vegetable with us, voles, deer and dogs is carrots.  The netting helps, but voles and dogs (who are supposed to be chasing deer) still get under the netting and help themselves.  Sigh, more abundance planning.  At least the voles and dogs eat them as opposed to the deer just tugging at the tops and leaving rubbery carrots for us to find.


I didn’t really hold out any hopes for the corn ripening, but it looks like it may get there.  The cover crop is coming in nicely, that is the thing with dryland gardening, when you want to direct seed in the dry time, you watch the weather report like a hawk and plan your planting accordingly.


Mice and voles have been a terror this year.  They first started in on the strawberries in the greenhouse, then I put down some black plastic mulch at the greenhouse sides and the snakes moved in.  The snakes kept the mice at bay, but scared the pee out of me every time I reached in to the dark recesses of some plant to harvest or saw the black, snake-like soaker hoses out of the corner of my eye.  Alas, the snakes have tired of mouse meat and the mice have regrouped and started in on my coriander.  Good thing I still had tomato twine still hanging in the spots where some tomatoes succumbed to symyphylans.  I just pulled the plants, and trussed them up in the air.  Now they can continue to dry down and the mice will have to get a little more creative to get my coriander seeds.


Italian prunes – my favorite.  Normally they are bursting right now and begging to be dried.  I don’t think they will ripen this late.  The days too short, the nights too cold.


Mangel wurzel for winter chicken feed, planted late, but still doing pretty good for such a short season.

Compost in place and ready for spreading to mellow a little more over winter.

And the final under-seeded cover crop in before the rains hit last weekend.  The garden is good!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2011 10:22 am

    Your garden is fantastic!

  2. Anna permalink
    September 20, 2011 11:23 am

    Matron, where do you get mangel-wurzel seeds? (And how do you feed them–the mangels, that is–to the chickens?)

    • September 20, 2011 1:01 pm

      Anna, these came from Shumway and I have had them about 5 years and decided to just plant them or throw away the seed. Golden Eckendorf is the variety which I have found to be a little less potent in the diarrhea department. I have grown mangels off and on over the years and I like these yellow ones best, not too big, and much easier to store. As for feeding – chickens can just peck at the root, but if you’re feeding them to cows or sheep they need to be chopped to avoid choking.

  3. Debra permalink
    September 20, 2011 11:46 am

    You lost me at snakes! They’re a cold bucket of water on my back-to-the-earth fantasies.

    Seriously, beautiful gardening under extraordinary circumstances.

    • September 20, 2011 1:03 pm

      Debra, I about lose it myself at snakes everyday, and we only have garter snakes and an occasional rubber boa. I’m trying to get brave enough to remove that black mulch this week, and I keep finding excuses not to 🙂

      • Debra permalink
        September 20, 2011 1:06 pm

        Well, I was just about to pack things up here in the city and move into your barn and offer my services as an intern (in exchange for food and dog-petting privileges), but the snake thingy has stopped me cold … lucky you!!

  4. September 20, 2011 2:03 pm

    was actually about to ask you about how to cover crop in the dry garden. do you just broadcast and pray for rain?

    • September 20, 2011 2:08 pm

      Ben, I plan on planting just before a rain, I got one garden done just a few weeks ago and got a little skiff of mist, but enough to help the seeds germinate, and I did the second one last week in between showers. Which means I have to have my seed on hand.

      I hand broadcast and rake it in. Easy peasy!

      • September 20, 2011 2:20 pm

        did you get a fairly decent rain there? not much more than a light shower here; i would be worried that if they germinated they would dry out right away…

        • September 20, 2011 3:56 pm

          We got about .5″ and it soaked the ground pretty good, I haven’t checked yet to see if the new planting sprouted yet, but it rained enough I root pruned my mature cabbages too.

  5. September 20, 2011 2:48 pm

    At first I thought you meant a different kind of “tomato trials” (as in tribulations)! Your tomatoes are absolutely amazing-looking, as is your entire garden. When do you find time to sleep and eat? Seriously! I totally agree with you about the snakes. All I can say is, what snake wouldn’t love to eat the mice that have been feasting in your garden? Have you ever thought about raising mongooses? 🙂

    • September 20, 2011 3:57 pm

      Susan, the tomatoes turned out pretty good after a rocky start, and we are gorging on fresh tomatoes at each meal. That really helps on meal prep time 😉

  6. September 21, 2011 5:03 am

    How do you store the mangels?

    • September 21, 2011 5:15 am

      brookins, actually I can store them in row with soil hilled up over them. It doesn’t really freeze very deep here. If you live in a colder area, they are excellent candidates for root cellaring and actually are easier for the animals to digest if they are pulled and cured for a little bit before feeding.

  7. September 23, 2011 12:46 am

    We have bazillions of garter snakes, which we regard as good company, and the occasional gopher snake. Trouble with these is they are built like, colored and patterned somewhat like, and behave like rattlers. Corner one accidentally and it coils and “rattles.” Unnerving. But I approve of their diet.

    • September 23, 2011 5:03 am

      Risa, ahh, we don’t have the gopher snakes, but I have seen them down around Brooks. They do look like rattlers :O On my list of tasks while it is still sunny these next few days, is to move that black plastic so the poor snakes can find a warm spot before it gets cold and rainy. They do lots of work, I want to keep them happy, and well.

Leave a comment