Skip to content

Taking Stock

November 15, 2011

a handful of bones

I posting today over at Simple-Green-Frugal Co-op about making stock.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. jenny permalink
    November 15, 2011 12:08 pm

    good post. We just claimed a turkey carcass from our church’s annual Harvest Dinner. It’s been simmering for a day and now we’re ready to jar it up. I am planning to pressure can it this time, even though we usually just refrigerate broth and use it up within the week it was made. I want some that is shelf-stable.

    We try to use good, strong, home-made broth for cooking in place of water whenever possible.

    • November 15, 2011 1:17 pm

      Jenny, thanks, wow good score! Me too, I end up canning beef broth more, because of the way the bones arrive (sans cow.) My DH about fell over last holiday season, one of his co-workers brought a turkey carcass to work to throw away in the company garbage. The only meat that was missing was one breast, the rest was there. Same co-worker complains about the high cost of dog food…

  2. November 15, 2011 7:49 pm

    I also add the stuff in the bottom of the pan after I cook a roast, since I rarely make gravy. I scrape out the pan drippings into a glass canning jar and let it sit in the refrigerator, adding more when I roast another chunk of beef. I also add pan drippings from a pork roast or from pan roasting steaks. The pork flavor is usually overwhelmed by the beef when I add it to the stock. Our butcher says we are one of the few customers he has who ask for soup bones, shank meat, ox tail and ALL the scraps. We use every bit of it, either for ourselves, for dog food or for chicken balls (these are fine ground meat scraps mixed with fatty scraps, packed into fist-size balls and frozen. Take out a few a day and toss to the hens for protein.)

  3. November 16, 2011 8:16 am

    I hope DH brought the carcass home! 🙂 In my sister’s family no one will eat dark meat, so at least she just buys a breast at Thanksgiving. I can’t imagine going to the work of cooking the whole thing knowing you were going to throw it all away!

    Now in my family we actually eat the dark meat first! I’m thinking of buying chickens from a farmer down the road whose family doesn’t like white meat. He’s developed a four-legged chicken so he gets more dark meat. The only problem is, when I asked him how it tastes, he said the darn things run so fast he hasn’t caught one yet. 😀

    • November 16, 2011 2:58 pm

      Susan, he would have if it hadn’t languished more than a week after Thanksgiving taking up space in their fridge! I would have thought they could have made a bigger dent in it than that…

      HA HA if only it were true 🙂

Leave a Reply

