Skip to content

Dueling Suppengrün

November 17, 2011

I’m not much of a fan of the idea of being a short order cook for fussy eaters.  But, when dietary needs and food allergies come into play, I have to get creative.


Cooler weather and root crop harvest means soups and stews are on the menu much more often.  My dilemma?  DH is allergic to potatoes, my daughter and I are not.  The easiest solution I have found is to make two separate pans of suppengrün or soup greens.  One goes in the stew for flavor and my daughter and I use the other to add to our meal.


Sautéed celery root, onions and carrots are the basic aromatic for flavoring soups and stews, the rest depends on what roots have been harvested from the garden.


These are what grows well here, but celery, leeks and carrots are often used too.  What are your favorite soup greens for flavoring?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. localnourishment permalink
    November 18, 2011 3:22 am

    I like a little of whatever the garden has or is available from the farmers market. But I always toss in just a little chopped carrot greens with my carrots. I love the flavor of parsnips and sweet potato in soup.

  2. November 18, 2011 5:12 am

    I know about adding celery to soup and stew, but you can eat the roots? I don’t think I have seen them in the stores here. Celery is always ‘clean’.

    I have used onion and carrot too.

    Loved the post, Matron. Always good to learn new things. 🙂

    • November 18, 2011 6:23 am

      Linda, I meant celeriac which is sometimes called celery root too, it’s a bulbing type of celery that is easier for me to grow than celery. 🙂

      • November 18, 2011 7:30 am

        Oh okay. I know celeriac. And now I know another name for it. Thank you.
        I take it that it tastes like celery then?
        I may have to give it a try. 🙂

        • November 18, 2011 10:28 pm

          Yes, the tops are like strong celery and the root is much milder but still has a celery taste. Wonderful in soups, gratins,or roasted with other roots. 🙂

  3. November 18, 2011 6:14 am

    I made a huge pot of beef-barley mushroom soup last night. The stock was simmered from baby back ribs from our own steers, celery, purple carrots, red onion, a couple of parmesan rinds, herbs, peppercorns, and a large bunch of baby beets ( greens and roots) I had just thinned from the high tunnel. Yum!

  4. November 18, 2011 7:11 am

    Allergic to potatoes, bummer! Yes, for a while there, I had to go diary and egg free as the baby had an intolerance to the protiens. But to make Hubby do the same — that would be cruel. So, I often made two dinners, one for me and one for him. I like your method, though. I might try that with mushrooms…. no mushrooms for Hubby and mushrooms for me!

    • November 18, 2011 10:29 pm

      Rachael, it actually works pretty good after I quit bucking the system 😉 And we still get our potatoes!! And some good leftovers for lunch the next day.

  5. November 18, 2011 9:18 pm

    My 4 year old loves to cook and is my constant companion in the kitchen. One of our favorite things that we made so far this fall is Wild Rice Soup (wild rice is a staple in our Minnesota kitchen). We started with a trip to the garden for the last of the seasons carrots and parsnips and ended with a trip to the pantry for some of the celery leaves we dried this summer. We agreed it was the best soup yet!

  6. brenda permalink
    November 19, 2011 12:56 am

    Favorite soup greens: swiss chard or spinach.

    Where there was a food intolerace (onions), I just cooked one big pot of soup without the onions, and one little pot of sauteed onions. The onion lovers just add a spoonful to their bowl.

    Also, I’m a nut for the heat, but when cooking something with jalepenos, I keep the amount in check so everyone can enjoy the dish. Then, I’ll have a little bowl of diced jalepenos on the side so the heat lovers can ratchet things up a notch.

    I’m also nuts for your veggie shots. I could paper a wall section with them.

    brenda from arkansas

  7. November 19, 2011 2:34 pm

    I love root crops for winter cooking. Fortunately we all eat the same things so no extra cooking. – Margy

Leave a Reply

