Skip to content

Wordless Wednesday

January 4, 2012
tags:

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2012 4:24 am

    Beautiful photographs. Wishing you a joy filled New Year.

  2. January 4, 2012 6:10 am

    Are those jade plant leaves on the cantaloupe?

    • January 4, 2012 6:52 am

      Naked seed pumpkin seeds in the pumpkin. I’m harvesting the seeds. 🙂

      • January 7, 2012 1:08 pm

        Are there any naked seed pumpkins that have worthwhile flesh, too? I have been considering growing them but it seems like a waste of space if the flesh of the pumpkin isn’t worth eating. (For the record I thought it was purslane at first glance too; then my eyes adjusted.)

        • January 7, 2012 7:53 pm

          Kerrick, you know I don’t think there is, but I think the flesh would be OK cooked and pureed, I grow squash that isn’t stringy so I’m a little spoiled I think. I feed the pumpkins to my cows and chickens. So it’s not a total waste.

  3. January 4, 2012 8:07 am

    Wow, you had some blue sky! I’m envious:)
    This morning is so dark and wet, it’s downright depressing. Mild though, if I want to find something on the ‘bright side’:)

    • January 4, 2012 8:42 am

      I know what you mean, the other day it rained so hard – the clouds were so thick you almost needed lights outside. Blue sky is definitely worth taking a picture of these days.

  4. January 4, 2012 10:11 am

    Hi M – Happy New Year!!

    Was looking at some older posts. What is the role of the barley cover crop? Thanks! wf

    • January 4, 2012 11:57 am

      Hi WF, I wanted a cover crop that will cover for fall and reliably winter kill. Notoriously hard to do in my climate, since it doesn’t get that cold here, and if it does we usually have snow to insulate the ground. Anyway, it is dying back nicely so it will just be like straw in place without all that pesky straw spreading. Sudan grass would work too, but it’s poisonous to grazing animals when frosted, so I don’t like to use it.

  5. January 4, 2012 6:58 pm

    Nice to see you sewing! A patriotic pocket flap……..is it going on a shirt?

    • January 4, 2012 8:06 pm

      Blue Jean, Ha I’ll have to share the whole ridiculous story next time I see you! Remind me to leave the UFO’s in the UFO pile! Actually the shirt turned out nice, I had forgotten how forgiving lightweight denim can be. 🙂

  6. Withywindle Nature permalink
    January 5, 2012 2:55 pm

    Love your top image – I have a thing for weathervanes and compasses… beautiful!!

  7. greenhorn permalink
    January 13, 2012 1:36 am

    if I could add a comment bubble over Jane’s head it would be: “don’t you know who I am…”

Leave a Reply

