Skip to content

Crazy ‘Bout a Sharp Dressed Heifer

January 30, 2012

I don’t know what the word for halter is in cowlish, but torture device comes to mind.  Especially when it’s complete with a subliminal message.  As if… a prima donna heifer would want a torture device halter for Christmas.  With barb wire, you got to be kidding!


Actually, it is my present.  Cows are headstrong and follow their nose.  Control the nose, control the cow.  Well sort of.  Did you know that a cow thinks anywhere her nose fits, she will too?  Sometimes the hole gets bigger when the cow tries to go through the hole, sometimes not.


I digress.  Mind you an off-the-rack halter would be cheaper, but it may not fit, and sometimes the buckles and rings aren’t user friendly, for the bovine or the human.  So Hangdog made me Jane the halter of my our dreams.  Leather, adjustable nose strap, rivets with smooth side to the cow, and nice roller buckles.  The barbed wire tooling was his idea to match her collar.  I Jane also wanted something a little less beige…

Sorry about the glare.

I was thinking something darker that matched my romeos.  Love the dark oil tack.   Hangdog would have preferred I told him I wanted it dyed before he made the halter, but I assured him, I’ll take full credit for the dye job.  After a few days in the pasture, I don’t think it will matter much either.  They don’t carry manure tone, so chocolate would have to suffice.


The Fiebings leather dye is inexpensive and very easy to apply.


In just a few minutes the halter was completely dyed and was hung to dry.


Much better.  Now the bos has to obey the boss!  Most of the time…

24 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2012 3:22 am

    Nice! It’s perfect. I’ve always hated pumpkin colored tack – it’s always a rough month or so breaking in a newly dyed saddle though.

    • January 30, 2012 7:54 am

      AMF, me too, when he came home with that I groaned…to myself. Cow, dirt, light tack? Ick. She was getting to the point though, that the collar was merely a suggestion to behave, she’s big and she knows it.

      • January 30, 2012 9:12 am

        Although, pumpkin matches Jane perfectly. She gets prettier each time you write about her – I’d enjoy looking at her every day : )

        When’s the big day? Also wondering – how many days will you leave her calf with her and will you milk first day for colostrum?

        • January 30, 2012 10:40 am

          AMF, it’s funny she matches Willy perfectly, and he’s technically a red dun, although cows don’t get such names for their colors 😉

          Just working out a post about that…it’s looming, the due date that is :p

  2. January 30, 2012 4:17 am

    It’s gorgeous!!! As well as Jane! I think I learned a thing or two this past week about a cow and it’s nose…rather a steer and it’s nose! What a battle we had on our hands getting Buddy up to the trailer and off to the butcher. He’s nice and cold now. And boy did I get a workout! Control the nose and you control the cow! Got it!!!!

    • January 30, 2012 7:52 am

      Diane, thanks, yeah they either need to be completely halter broke, or you need a sturdy corral. Halter broke and a butt rope work really well, and if mobile slaughter is available that works good too. Glad it worked out Ok and you came out safely. 🙂

  3. A.A. permalink
    January 30, 2012 4:30 am

    Very beautiful!

  4. January 30, 2012 4:32 am

    Haha. Good luck. Hope it works! Have a wonderful day. 🙂

  5. January 30, 2012 5:01 am

    Wow nice halter your ‘hang dog’ made JANE 😉 Love the new color too. Much better to hide the DIRT 😉 Hope your day is a good one.

    • January 30, 2012 7:49 am

      Maura, I agree, cows like to apply war paint, so that blond halter would have been dirty brown really fast.

  6. January 30, 2012 6:24 am

    wow! Impressive!

  7. jenj permalink
    January 30, 2012 6:37 am

    Jane looks somewhat suspicious of her new accessory, despite its classiness!

  8. January 30, 2012 7:15 am

    Wow so much I didn’t know about cows! So much to learn….. I really enjoy your blog—- I’m (an aspiring) farmer mama and am trying to learn everything I can about country life. Blogs like yours showcase it is possible to do such fun and crazy and hard adventures on the land 😉

    Blessings,
    Samantha (Woodland Woolens)

    • January 30, 2012 7:38 am

      Woodland Woolens, thank you, and yes, it can be an adventure, even when you’re seasoned 😉

  9. Chris permalink
    January 30, 2012 8:47 am

    Wow, beautiful halter…she is the best dressed cow I know…well, I don’t really know that many but I’d be willing to bet she is!! The tooling is amazing! Yes, you certainly do have a “well equipped” man! 🙂

  10. January 30, 2012 9:22 am

    Pretty Jane!

  11. January 30, 2012 3:22 pm

    really loving that halter!!
    I’m a sucker for barbwire on anything and boy Jane sure looks fancy in that halter!!
    beautiful girl!!

  12. Janet permalink
    February 4, 2012 2:50 pm

    love that halter! Yes, have been down the ordering halters that don’t fit, aren’t user or cow friendly road. That is a very nice one and love the darker color. Looks good on your “chestnut, sorrel, red dun” cow. 😉

  13. Terry permalink
    April 10, 2012 7:15 pm

    Missed reading this earlier! You write great, I chuckled all the way thru. Hope Jane is coping well with her new accessory

Leave a Reply

