Skip to content

Snowy Chores

March 13, 2012

Still waiting for spring…sigh.


The dogs love the snow.


Cows and horses, not so much.


I wish I had that much enthusiasm.


While I tend to the chickens the dogs keep playing.


More playing.


While we bed the shed, the dogs do their only cow work – keeping the cows out.  I’m sure Border collies the world ’round are scoffing…


And then get back to grooming off the dingle balls.


Cows are allowed back in.


More playing as we head to the house.


Makes my butt cold just thinking about it.  What’s the weather doing at your house?

27 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2012 3:54 pm

    I love the snowballs hanging from there fur:) yes sitting my arse in snow would not thrill me at all unless maybe I had fur too! Thanks for sharing:)

  2. TBirdsMomma permalink
    March 13, 2012 4:00 pm

    EVERYTHING! We’ve hit pretty much everything on the weather list today, except maybe “scalding heat”:) Ahh, March.

  3. March 13, 2012 4:01 pm

    It is getting hot here. It got into the upper 70’s and rained about 1/2″ today. Tomorrow it is supposed to hit 82-84, near record high. Enjoy the snow while it last…

    I miss snow, just not the full 6-7 months we used to get in Alaska.

  4. March 13, 2012 4:07 pm

    84 today with sunshine all day long

  5. March 13, 2012 4:10 pm

    I was outside in a t-shirt today…very weird but I’ll take it! Funny about the dingle balls, I could read the text before the photo loaded, and I was *hoping* it was snow. 🙂

  6. March 13, 2012 4:21 pm

    I’m with you. After a beautiful day at 6 degrees and sun yesterday, today was about -4 with a wind chill of -11 and we have 10-15 cm of snow forecast for the next 12 hours or so, followed by ice pellets and freezing rain. Lovely. But we know that spring, eventually, will arrive and I guess this long old winter just makes it all the more wonderful when it does!

  7. March 13, 2012 5:30 pm

    We haven’t any real winter here in NJ. Today it was 75 and it’s supposed to be remain this way all week. I’m not thrilled, I miss the snow.

  8. Tammy permalink
    March 13, 2012 5:45 pm

    We’re having crazy-mild weather here in Vermont. I rototilled my garden yesterday – it is an all-time record to till the garden this early. My chickens and ducks and peafowl are enjoying worms and bugs and dustbaths.

    Your snow is beautiful and I’m a little concerned that we didn’t have it. But we do have mud. Lots of it.

    Thanks for the beautiful pictures.

  9. March 13, 2012 5:48 pm

    70 degrees today and sunny. Grass is starting to green up a tiny bit and I let the chickens out for the first time this year to get some greenery into their diets.

  10. March 13, 2012 6:51 pm

    It is 69.6 degrees here, according to Wunderground.com, and we can expect 90-91 Friday through Sunday. But it might rain tomorrow.

    I found a few potatoes I missed last season, the last week in January. And replanted them. So I have started the garden, I guess. The sweet peppers in the kitchen window are still bearing smallish fruits.

    The last day of frost is supposed to be April 5-20 here in north central OK. That might not be the case this year. Strange weather, with the sun blowing energy particles at us this way.

  11. brenda from ar permalink
    March 13, 2012 8:07 pm

    I envy your dog’s energy levels too.

    Arkansas -about 80 degrees. I played in the dirt today – moved the oregano to a new spot and made a new bed for Jerusalem artichokes. Also, moved some short potato plants from the compost pile to another spot. The most fun things come up in the compost pile – one year it was honeydews. Years ago, all my tomato plants were killed by freezing rain on April 19th, but this year has been so mild. Some chard left in a flower pot by the back door is resprouting. One thing about the garden – there are always surprises – isn’t it fun?

  12. Dawn permalink
    March 13, 2012 9:30 pm

    I have enjoyed reading your blog and especially I have fallen in love with your dogs. They are just beautiful. You are truly living the “good” life. Such beauty all around you, the garden, the animals and your family. If everyone lived this way it would be a beautiful world.

  13. March 13, 2012 10:20 pm

    Snowed twice today, but all we got was mud. Even the ground in the hoop house is re-saturated. Nothing going into that ground for a while.

  14. March 13, 2012 11:46 pm

    Our snow here in Latvia seems to be finally going. I can now actually see grass in some very small areas and we even had temperatures up to 43F (6C) outside – at last above fridge level temperatures and a lot better than colder than a freezer only a few weeks ago. Won’t be long before the storks are back.

  15. MaryAnnNC permalink
    March 14, 2012 4:30 am

    Piedmont NC checking in 🙂 …. Nice day yesterday about 77 def F … today 80 or so. Pulled some more weeds last night after work. A mild winter was a relief after last year! I think the cool season weeds enjoyed it as much as I did. Two tulips are blooming this morning.

    Talked to my mother about wanting to plant green beans (Jade because we can’t find Marseille anymore ) , but we know its really too early, otherwise its just a waste of seed. Mid-April is our usual final frost date. I could start the tomatoes early (I plant Belle Star too along with some other paste and heirloom types), but I don’t have a green house and might find myself with anemic, leggy plants if the weather took a downturn.

    Last year I did plant a few leftover Cuke seeds early in the ground and got some early plants. Think I will try that again this year.

  16. March 14, 2012 4:32 am

    It’s been in the 60’s! It’s only mid March!! I’ve cleared 6 of my big flower gardens in the last 2 days. They claim we’ll have 82F here next Tuesday. In March in Western Mass!! Real scarey!!

  17. March 14, 2012 5:12 am

    We’re brown here. Yesterday we had horrible winds, so bad that I couldn’t open a big gate (and I’m not a weak woman) without it taking me for a spin. There was a prairie fire north of us which made things a little scary for a while and last night I saw lightning in the north. I heard from a friend up there and she said it was the darndest thing…….lightning and a blizzard at the same time. I’m hoping we get a little of that snow just for safety sake.

  18. JP Swift permalink
    March 14, 2012 6:28 am

    Here in New Hampshire it’s 45 degrees and cloudy. The tiny bit of snow we’ve had is almost gone. I’m trying to make maple syrup but the weather is to warm. We’ve made twenty-three gallons so far but the sap has stopped running with both night and day time temps so high. Hoping for a little more col weather. JP

  19. akaangrywhiteman permalink
    March 14, 2012 7:02 am

    We got snow early on but by afternoon it was gone, leaving us with cold mud, typical of our march weather.

    You might like this site;

    http://www.nwrfc.noaa.gov/weather/3_day.cgi

  20. Head Farm Steward permalink
    March 14, 2012 7:06 am

    70’s today. Chance of storms. T-shirt weather since before the sun came up. Animals are back on pasture and the chicken tractors are running.

  21. March 14, 2012 7:50 am

    That is so crazy! This weather is in all the wrong places! It feels like late spring here. We never did get a good freeze which is a little worrisome….

    My dog loved to play in the snow too…. in fact the dog, the cows and I all get a little frisky in a good snow. It’s the mud that gets me down….

  22. March 14, 2012 11:04 am

    Normally, I’m quite envious of your milder winters. Not so much today! On the Colorado Front Range, we’re into week two of amazingly mild weather, highs in the 70s, lows staying about freezing. We will most certainly get hard freezes again though, and *should* get a couple more snows, but with this crazy climate stuff, who knows??

  23. vicki permalink
    March 14, 2012 11:55 am

    Here in Southeast Wyoming we should have snow like you but it is 70 today and they are calling for 80 on friday. Too dang warm for March! Its been a crazy winter.

  24. March 14, 2012 4:56 pm

    Love your pictures! Not only are you a good farmer, but a good photographer too! It’s warming up here in Alabama. My sugar snap peas are up and a rabbit went down my broccoli row eating every little broccoli seedling I planted! Well, we’ll try again something else…
    thanks for your inspiring accounts. Sarah Corson

  25. March 14, 2012 4:58 pm

    Thanks for your inspiring accounts and beautiful pictures. Here in Alabama my sugar snap peas are up…and broccoli and turnip greens.

  26. March 14, 2012 7:06 pm

    I really don’t want to make you feel bad, but 80° and sunshine. The daffodils are done, the Bradford pears are done, other fruit trees are in bloom.

    We didn’t get any snow this winter. I enjoyed your photos, even though I’m sure you’re tired of it!

Leave a Reply

