Skip to content

No Pink Slime Here

March 26, 2012


Oh dear,  pink slime has been in the news a lot lately.  If you haven’t heard the hubbub, you can read about it here.  And if you want to opt out of purchasing your meat from the store, and want to buy more direct, peruse the website – Eat Wild, where you can  source meat from producers in your area.


Eat wild is a good place for sourcing local dairy products too.  We drink raw milk  when available and Real Milk  is another site that explores the benefits of raw milk and also has a producers list by state.

It’s getting deep around here…we had to raise the log that serves as a rub rail in the feeding shed.  The bedding is about 18″ deep, and the bedding is heating up – 100°F so far – providing a nice warm place for the cows to bed down while they wait out our cool spring.  Our grass is no where near ready for grazing yet.

How’s spring treating you?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. maurakeith permalink
    March 26, 2012 5:15 am

    You certainly are having a late spring in the PNW…not the normal spring you’re used to that’s for sure. Spring has come early in our part of Kansas. We didn’t get any snow to speak of during the winter but at least we’ve gotten some much needed rain over the last few weeks. The lilacs are starting to bloom, the clematis has blossoms that will open soon and the daffodils are nearly done for the season. It’s been a very strange year weather wise all around the world. Makes you wonder what this summer will bring…hope it’s better than last year for us as we were in a drought. Good luck to you!
    Maura 🙂

    • March 26, 2012 6:43 am

      Maura, glad you got your precip, I hope it is enough!

      Our snow finally left yesterday, but now they are predicting low snow levels next week, but I’m hoping the weather prediction is wrong! Maybe we’ll get a great summer 🙂

  2. March 26, 2012 5:39 am

    Great column. A thought: don’t you have raw milk available (seasonally) without recourse to buying it? I wish I did.

    • March 26, 2012 6:44 am

      Jenny, raw milk is available if you look for it, but it is expensive. We’ve been holding out waiting for Jane!

  3. naturalearthfarm permalink
    March 26, 2012 6:51 am

    I think it is great that Pink Slime has reached the mainstream – now if we can just get people to pay for Real Food.

  4. March 26, 2012 9:41 am

    I went to the milk website and it said that the farmers in Louisiana had been harassed out of the business by the government.
    >:o{

    I really do despise how overbearing our government has become.

  5. latviajo permalink
    March 26, 2012 10:23 am

    Our spring, here in Latvia, is earlier this year but we are still waiting for the snow to finally go. You can see on my blog the pictures just from last week. We are still expecting a bit more snow tonight, but I am guessing it won’t last long, or at least I hope not.

    Raw milk is quite easy to get here in Latvia and I love it. I get mine delivered twice a week from one of the local farmers, who happens to be the mother of a friend of mine. I never realised until I got to Latvia that milk could have different flavours. I have also had butter made from raw milk and that was very different, I wasn’t sure if I liked it at first but it grew on me as I realised this was probably the way butter should taste.

  6. March 26, 2012 1:08 pm

    How do you decide when the grass is ready to put the animals on it?

    • March 26, 2012 1:36 pm

      Susan, it’s usually a combination of the long range weather report, hay & bedding supply and how tall the grass is getting. Usually around mid-April. But last year I turned them out the first week of April, and then it got very cold, and I was moving through my rotation too fast, so I made a large sacrifice paddock and fed them hay for a week until it warmed again.

  7. Bee permalink
    March 26, 2012 3:26 pm

    Spring — whazzat? Still, I can’t complain, it’s finally started to rain in northern California and we need it desperately. All that carbon and manure is finally getting the moisture it needs to make grass. Now it just needs a little sun…

    MOH, I don’t remember if I told you we started the cows on Redmond salt and kelp; mixed into their daily ration of grain screenings (which is more a treat than an integral component of their feed supply — lets me get close enough to look them over carefully while they eat) and they were convinced I was trying to poison them! We laughed until we cried. Now it’s old hat. Thanks for the info in a previous post on these supplements.

    • March 26, 2012 6:38 pm

      Bee, we had a good day or two here, just enough to melt the snow, and finally tonight I did rounds in my Romeos. Ahh wonderful, no boots!

      Have you tried free-choicing to see what they gravitate to? Mine are slurping down Poultry Nutribalancer and Kelp and salt too.

      • Bee permalink
        March 26, 2012 7:56 pm

        Didn’t want to free choice for a couple of reasons. One is all the wild birds — turkeys, geese, quail and RW blackbirds — who frequent the feeding area. The other is the @#&$& ground squirrels. They will eat anything that isn’t nailed down. I figured if I was going to pay top dollar for this stuff, I wanted to be sure it got to my critters, not the whole neighborhood!

        • March 26, 2012 9:12 pm

          Bee, I guess since we don’t feed grain we don’t have problems like that. Those ground squirrels are a pain, our dogs love them, but never get very many 😦

  8. March 26, 2012 5:08 pm

    There’s been info out about pink slime since 2002 at least. I don’t know why people are so surprised – that’s exactly what I expect from industrial food. Wait ’till they find out FDA approved ammonium hydroxide is in their puddings, caramels, beer, sports drinks and a whole bunch of other stuff too.

    Pretty soon you’ll be rich in raw milk…

    • March 26, 2012 6:36 pm

      AMF, I know, you gotta wonder sometimes… The book Diffusion of Innovations sheds some light on how ideas move through the population from innovators to laggards. I cracked up reading an article about alternative farming last year, the interviewee was quite enamored by being interviewed and said people weren’t farming like this a few years ago, which really translates to say that she wasn’t farming like this a few years ago.

      Can’t wait for that milk!

  9. March 27, 2012 2:50 am

    Last week it was 80’s: shorts and barefeet. Last night it was 25F after barely making 45F all day and windy. All week to be like this, then back to 80’s next week. This is really scary weather!!

    I’ve been reading Wendell Berry this last week. Depressing on one hand, as he’s describing the the pushing out of the old farming methods. On the other, his more recent posts describe the return of them, in a small way. I knew what we started doing in 2008 was NOT new, just to us.

    As to eating stuff from the store, I seldom do anymore, especially meat. That’s beyond disgusting, and the rest is nutritionally deficient.

    And I do so envy you your greenhouses….

  10. JP Swift permalink
    March 27, 2012 4:28 am

    Last week we had days in the 70’s and 80’s. This morning it is in the teen’s with a twenty mile and hour Canadian wind in New Hampshire. We are very lucky here is NH when it comes to raw milk. It can actually be sold retail by law. I get mine at a small organic dairy where they milk Gurnseys and Jerseys. They are all grass fed. I buy 2 gallons per week and pay $3 per half gallon. She should be charging more in my opinion. JP

  11. March 27, 2012 5:56 am

    That pink slime is just disgusting – oh my, and they wonder why people have so many health problems.

    I have commented in quite some time, but I wanted to let you know that we finally got our milk cow last June, and she has been such a blessing. We thank God everyday for her. She gave birth to a little heifer in November.

    Thanks for all the effort you put into this blog. It provides alot of great information.

Leave a Reply

