Skip to content

Sunlight in a Jar

June 12, 2012

Buttermaking is on the schedule every other day now.  Read all about it over at Simple-Green-Frugal Co-op.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2012 11:31 am

    I am finally milking Daisy our first house cow and by tomorrow i think the milk will be white and clean enough to drink and then we will be making butter too. My ancient churn is waiting patiently!! Gorgeous pic! c

    • June 12, 2012 12:54 pm

      Ceciliag, Congrats on the new addition – your cow is beautiful! I love my ancient churns – they are designed so well and work great!

  2. June 12, 2012 12:42 pm

    Freshly made butter is absolutely beautiful! I’ve been making butter all week. Somehow I always seem to start it after cleaning up from the evening milking. Then I end up staying awake much longer than I intended. Oh, Butter…see how you bend me to your will 🙂

    • June 12, 2012 12:52 pm

      Linda, I hear you on that! Sounds like my canning bouts – once you’re committed it’s too late to turn back. I do OK if I fit the butter making in between fixing dinner and milking…doesn’t always work that way though 😉

  3. June 12, 2012 3:34 pm

    What are the specifics on that ancient churn? Please don’t tell me you found it in a second-hand shop for a dollar. Is it meant to mimic the gentle curves of a full udder, or is that just coincidental? Simply and functionally gorgeous…

    • June 12, 2012 9:17 pm

      Sophie, its a Dazey No. 8 which means 8 quart and works best with 4 quarts of cream. The tulip shaped jar is the “modern” style that came after the square jars. For the churn to work properly, it needs either a square shape or have the indented areas like the tulip jar, otherwise you’re just swirling the cream about in the jar. The jars are the weak point obviously, and it’s pretty common to see the top and paddles sold with a round jar, just because the threads and height match. Stay away from those unless you’re getting a deal on the top only. I have a one gallon Dazey No. 4 is one of those cobbled together finds from a flea market or two, but I got the No. 8 on ebay – they’re there if you know what to look for and much better and easier to use than the new ones that cost more usually.

      I didn’t pay this much, but this is a nice one 🙂

      http://www.ebay.com/itm/DAZEY-8-BUTTER-CHURN-/120919995414?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item1c2764b416

  4. June 15, 2012 9:07 pm

    Yikes! That is a lot for a butter churn! I didn’t realize they had gone up so much.

Leave a Reply

