Skip to content

State of the Gardens

August 4, 2012

Weedy and slow growing!  That best describes the state of the gardens here.  Thank heavens for the greenhouse, we have been eating tomatoes and peppers for a couple of weeks.  The biggest challenge this year has been the weeding, delayed due to the constant rain in June and into July and then haying time, the weeds had a heyday for sure.  We’ve finally got a modicum of control weed-wise, only to start planning for August sown cover crops.  Where did summer go?

Greenhouse 1

Flavorburst F1 bell


Bellstar OP paste

Costoluto Genovese OP All purpose

Red Long of Tropea

Ruby Ball F1

All in all the greenhouse has been the garden this year so far.  Carrots, beets, kohlrabi, salad turnips, cucumbers, summer squash, sweet onions, lettuce, kale, Asian greens, cabbage, and herbs have been on the harvest menu.  Soon the tomatoes and peppers will need some immediate harvesting attention too.  We’ve reached 96°F today and that will certainly bring on the solanums!

Corn, parsnips, and potatoes

The outside gardens are a mixed bag of goodness and disappointment.  Certified potato seed has proven not to be as hardy as our homegrown potato seed.  I have low hopes for a good harvest of spuds. 😦  Other root crops like carrots, parsnips and mangels are doing well.  The winter squash is going gang busters and liking this latest burst of heat.  The corn is iffy too, but it’s not like we eat much corn, if it does well, great.  If not, it’s not a big deal.

Mangels, Sweet Meat squash, Naked Seed pumpkin

Main (old) garden, south end

Cabbage, celeriac, cauliflower, brussels sprouts and romanesco look like they always do.  Easy crops to grow in the Pacific Northwest.

Main garden middle to north end

The third succession of beets, and carrots are coming along too.

Napoli F1

And the fourth and final planting of carrots and beets has germinated and look to be able to mature before the days get too short.

Detroit Dark Red

How is your garden/harvesting going this year?

21 Comments leave one →
  1. Shannon permalink
    August 4, 2012 7:07 pm

    Well, like you I live in the Pacific Northwest but I live near the Strait of Juan de Fuca. So the garden has been slow growing. Though these last few days of heat is making my garden come a live, finally!

    • August 4, 2012 9:21 pm

      Shannon, hasn’t it been amazing? Finally some warmth – I guess it got to 102 in PDX, glad it wasn’t that hot here!

  2. August 4, 2012 7:40 pm

    Are those marigolds on the ends of the rows?

  3. August 4, 2012 8:31 pm

    That’s a lot of garden to keep weeded and harvested and planted! In between milking and moving fence and canning…you do sleep, right?

  4. August 4, 2012 11:09 pm

    My allotments here in england are ok. It’s not been a very good year due to the unseasonable cold weather we have had recently but things are ok. I’ve had a bumper year outside for broad beans, peas raspberries and strawberries but my potatoes all have slug holes (so I doubt they will store) due to all the wet weather we have had and my squashes have hardly grown since I planted them at the end of May…oh well, you can’t win them all

    • August 5, 2012 5:13 am

      NJGF, slugs have been a major problem here too. I’m still finding them daily in the greenhouse, and it is drier in there so I don’t expect to find so many 😦

      Sigh…gardening is never easy.

  5. August 5, 2012 2:18 am

    Huge crops of green beans and wax beans, Best crop ever of sugar pod peas. Tomatoes just starting to ripen. Onions did well. Broccoli the best ever. Even tried cauliflower for the first time, and that did well, it’s supposed to be finicky.

    On the minus side, have almost no what I call sprawly things: squashes, cukes, pumpkins, etc. Replanted even and still nothing.

    Greens did well and I need to replant, but the high temps here in Western Mass have stopped that. Maybe later in the week, it’s supposed to cool down starting tonight.

    Pasture grass has been overwhelming. The cows have yet to leave our 5 acres, and there’s 12 acres more waiting.

    Very much a strong pluses and very bad minuses year.

    • August 5, 2012 5:11 am

      Pam, it’s exactly like that here – really extreme on both ends. We are going to have our 7 year fruit year too – the trees are loaded. Last year I don’t think we had a box of apples, no pears and the prunes didn’t ripen because of the cold nights, they just rotted on the tree when the fall rains came. We’ll have something to eat, just maybe not what I planned at the beginning of gardening season!

  6. August 5, 2012 3:56 am

    Just curious, do you eat your mangel tops at all? I’m growing them for the first time this year, and I have to say, I keep eyeballing them and wondering. They look deliscious! Your gardens all look great!

    • August 5, 2012 5:08 am

      Wendy, I don’t but they are just like beet tops, I have so many beets that getting to the mangel tops is pretty low priority 🙂

  7. August 5, 2012 6:58 am

    I’m glad it’s not just me. I can’t figure out why stuff is growing. so. darn. slowly! Plus, I have stuff in the same bed, planted at the same time, from the same seed packet, and some of it seems to be coming along alright, and the rest of it is just sitting there. The parsnips for instance. Some of it grew two regular leaves and got to be about an inch high, and has stayed that way for weeks! I don’t know what the problem is….

    We are getting a boatload of boysenberries this year, and I have nuts for the first time on one of my native filberts (which is netted against the jays!). Everything is pretty late, though.

    • August 5, 2012 8:00 am

      Paula, I don’t know about your location but our cold nights have really kept everything just limping along. There have been very few nights that I didn’t roll the greenhouse sides down because it has cooled down into the 40’s.

      Here’s hoping that the warmth now will let everything catch up!

  8. August 5, 2012 3:02 pm

    I am encouraged by the shared journeys. Our beds are slow going as well, although raspberries and kale have done great. We have done very little watering. These last few days of heat are getting the gardens excited. I look forward to seeing where we get too!

  9. August 6, 2012 2:59 am

    Brassicas, strawberries, and peas have done well this year here in Latvia. Some onions in one plot have done well, the others got rust. We also avoided to a large extent the scourge of the caterpillars and Colorado beetle due to the cold – not all bad news then! Having peas and broad beans in the greenhouse for the first time worked well but that was due to the cold, I’m sure. I think we might try to get them in earlier next year. Squashes are only now beginning to take off and the same with beans. We should have short beans okay but the pole beans (I think that’s what you call them ie grown up poles) have been very slow and not sure what kind of a crop we’ll get off them. Some of our parsnips in the same bed have done really well and some of them have sat there for ages. Really weird

  10. August 6, 2012 6:03 am

    Every time I read your blog, I want to move home. It’s been unbearably hot here this year in Iowa, and I think we’re supposed to lose like 40% of the corn crop, and what there is so far has been stunted and dry and weird looking apparently.

    I hope you have a good harvest! Somebody needs to this year. I wish we could swap weather with you for a while.

    • August 7, 2012 5:09 am

      Kerry, I’ve been following the drought reports and it sounds awful. Such a hardship! I hope you get some relief soon 😦

  11. epeavey1 permalink
    August 11, 2012 4:41 am

    I took all the hot peppers and took the seeds out cut them up and flash froze them them used the food saver and got a one gallon bag. The tomato’s I used in salsa, along with some banana peppers and two jalapeno no seeds and two small Tabasco peppers. It yielded 1 quart, 1 pint and 2 half pints. Have to start canning more whole tomato’s, We are not getting as many red one’s as we did during July, still so many green one’s left.

    • August 11, 2012 5:15 am

      Ellen, yum! Why the lull? The heat? I know tomatoes don’t set well once the temps get too high. Hardly ever a problem here in the NW!

      • epeavey1 permalink
        August 11, 2012 6:19 am

        We have had afternoon thunder showers all week, some days really a dumping of rain and others just cloudy not much sun. Today again very cloudy and a chance of thunder showers. I lived in Washington State many years ago from 1975 until 1978 husband was in the Army stationed at Fort Lewis. I had one daughter born there in 1976, remember the nice summers not too hot and no humidity. But I love Georgia been here since 1992 so it is my home now. The tomato’s will eventually turn red we are due so more 90’s and still waiting on the squash and green beans. I expect to do much more canning before the summer is over. I’m thinking of my Fall planting in September now going to get some cold vegetables ready to plant in a couple of weeks. Ellen from Georgia

Leave a Reply

