Skip to content

Dog Days

August 17, 2012

Finally the heat has arrived here, although it will be fleeting.  Fortunately our proximity to the Pacific Ocean keeps us for the most part, fairly cool and comfortable during the summer.  As for rain, this is our normal drought time, it rarely rains here during the summer.  I always think it’s a shame we have to reach the century mark on the thermometer to have a really warm night…but I really can’t complain about our weather… much, I really like it.  There is a reason why flannel is not just a fashion statement in the PNW.

However, the dogs are pretty content to stay in the house where it is cool during the day, and “work” in the gardens at night… .  Just like us!


The essentials for tomato harvest:  boxes, Felcos, garbage disposal faithful companion.


Summer, I hope you  hang on a little longer!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2012 8:40 am

    So. When are you going to invite us to attend a gardening class at your place? Plan on 2 adults and four children. All of us know how to work and I’m the only picky eater. (I don’t like mayonnaise.) Also, I’m the worst looking of the bunch. Maybe I should stay home…

    • August 17, 2012 8:48 am

      HFS, NO MAYO! That’s a must with tomatoes!! Wait til you see the next post – pic heavy late summer evening garden tour!

  2. Chris permalink
    August 17, 2012 8:42 am

    Yes, Summer…..please hang on as long as you can….please! You have no idea how much us Northwesterners LOVE you!! 🙂

    • August 17, 2012 8:47 am

      Chris, I know, I have that sad sinking feeling…last night I was doing some recreational weeding and trying to drink in the feel of dry soil and the scent of the summer flowers in the garden. Too soon it will be back to wet 😦

  3. August 17, 2012 10:00 am

    Oh i really hope summer lasts too! c

    • August 17, 2012 12:38 pm

      Ceciliag, me too, sometimes we get a real nice fall though before the doldrums of winter set in!

  4. August 17, 2012 12:32 pm

    recreational weeding, lol…
    maybe that’s the same as recreational chick chores – I stand there for several minutes after I’ve done feed and water, just watching them interact and fool around etc.
    Despite this nice heat wave we’re having, I too can feel the fall coming – sunrise and sunset are my big indicators. I can feel those shorter days already.

    • August 17, 2012 12:37 pm

      SSF, my daughter and I trade weeding jobs, and kinda fight over the recreational weeds LOL. She likes weed, and I like to hoe. But gosh I’ll do anything to prolong the summer. Must be kind of daft though, I’m roasting toms today for sauce, and dreading going out in the sun to move the cows 😦 Oh well, once I get over there I can watch them graze and check out the new paddock and that’s kind of recreational too 🙂

  5. Ien in the Kootenays permalink
    August 17, 2012 1:03 pm

    The pattern the last few years seems to be for summer to arrive late and linger into fall. Too bad, but at least September has been very nice.

  6. August 18, 2012 10:13 am

    Summer is wearing out its welcome here in California, but I’m glad you are enjoying the hot weather up there. It does wonders for tomatoes and veggies.
    Great photos. Love that dog.

  7. August 19, 2012 5:31 am

    Your australian shepherds are gorgeous! The pup in that first photo looks like one of my childhood dogs, named Shiloh. I’ve also known some other great australian shepherds: Thistle, Birch, and Orie.

    This past year, we moved to a place that had enough room for a dog, but I don’t know if it’s enough for an aussie. I know how much they love to run.

    • August 19, 2012 5:37 am

      Jenna, they are great dogs! What I like about the Aussies is that they are happy being with us, they don’t have to be herding everything in sight and are content to “help” us in the garden or during milking etc. Sweet dogs!

      • August 19, 2012 5:49 am

        How much space do they have to run around?
        What would you consider “too small” of a yard for aussies?

        • August 19, 2012 6:56 am

          Jenna, they are confined to about an acre and would tolerate much less, but for the most part they stay right at the house with us. They stick to us like glue. Whatever we do is what they are interested in.

        • August 19, 2012 8:28 am

          Oh good! Eventually, we might be able to keep them on our 2 acres. 🙂 Thanks for the prompt responses!

Leave a Reply

