Skip to content

First Frost!

August 24, 2012

We thought it felt a little too chilly for just a sweatshirt at chore time this morning 😦  Besides milk buckets and cat milk, we grabbed our down vests too and felt a little wimpy for feeling cold.

When my daughter found a frost pocket, I didn’t believe her.  But it was true.  Sigh.  Just a little here and there, but there will be no turning back now.  For a more eloquent take on the waning of summer this post sums it up well.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2012 8:05 am

    Thank you so much for the link! I wasn’t expecting to find it when I stopped over to read about your frost. So sad to see summer ending. We had a really good one all things considered, but I am still not one bit ready to let it go. Here’s to a long, warm fall!

  2. August 24, 2012 8:13 am

    Wow that’s early, the earliest we have had a frost in these northern parts in the last four years we have been in Latvia was the 1st September. Hope we don’t have a frost soon, some things have only just got going. I actually picked runner beans this week and the plants are loaded with flowers. The squash plants finally look like they might actually have some squash for us over the winter, so if you don’t mind can you keep the frosts to yourself? 🙂

  3. jenj permalink
    August 24, 2012 8:14 am

    Yeesh, it’ll be close to 100 here today. Low this morning was 75, and I was grateful for it to be that cool. I’m actually getting ready to put in our fall garden this weekend, and here you are with your growing season coming to a close. Amazing how different things are!

  4. August 24, 2012 8:14 am

    It didn’t freeze at our house last night, but we had our sixth or so consecutive night of ground fog, and I did a double take at the broccoli leaves as I walked by this morning (not frost, by it sure looked like it!). It was 45 degrees at 7:00 this morning, and they’re calling for 43 overnight tonight. Brrr! I’m sure glad we moved the portable greenhouse over the tomatoes Wednesday night!

  5. August 24, 2012 8:39 am

    Oh yeah. We feel it too! Brrr….. I could see my breath last night at 8pm! Crazy.

  6. August 24, 2012 8:57 am

    I wish we would have our first frost…. really I am so sick of this long hot summer. It has just been miserible at my job. I looking forward to more fall like temperatures. It is still in the 90’s here in the Chicago area. It has been so hot here this summer we didn’t do as much gardening and yard work as we would have liked.

  7. August 24, 2012 9:21 am

    Can I send you all our heat, and you send us all your cold? It’s so hot outside today (in direct sun), and I seriously wish that we could have a nice cold snap again.

    This doesn’t hurt any of your crops though, does it?

  8. August 24, 2012 9:48 am

    Too soon. Too soon! c

  9. Diana permalink
    August 24, 2012 10:25 am

    NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  10. August 24, 2012 11:15 am

    Oh, my goodness. We are still hitting 90s outside and, likely, 100′ early next week. We would so welcome some of that coolness. Though my gardening plans on it not freezing till November…. And our hot summers are all a part of having very mild winters. Must take the good with the bad with no complaints.

  11. August 24, 2012 11:21 am

    Oh no! Please keep it on your side of the pond. The harvest of beans, courgettes, tomatoes, etc is way late here and has only just got going – no frost yet, please.

    • September 2, 2012 3:01 am

      Oh, we are on the same page after all! Overnight 30/31 August saw 2.5C local to me (Leicestershire) and -2C in parts of Scotland. Coldest August night/day for about 100 years. (My earliest frost date is usually middle of October and sometimes much, much later.)

  12. August 24, 2012 11:29 am

    Spring came early here. Summer came early here. No surprise if fall comes early too. Here’s to hoping for a long fall instead of an early winter. If we have a white Halloween we’ll have to update the Currier and Ives dishes to include Jack-O-Lanterns on every porch.

    No chance of frost in the near future here. High above 90 today, low above 65 tonight. Birds are flocking up though. Won’t be long…

  13. August 24, 2012 11:54 am

    But it’s only August!! Actually, it feels like September here already. The whole year has been a month earlier than usual.

    I overheard a couple of old men talking over the weekend. They were talking about when they were kids and after a particularly hot and dry summer, that winter was one of the coldest on record. Goodness I sure hope that history does not repeat itself.

  14. August 24, 2012 5:05 pm

    Really? Wow. I thought it was a cold at 50 last night!!

    • August 24, 2012 6:15 pm

      Ben, I think it was one of those fluke things, that if we didn’t see it we never would have known it was there. The thermometer registered 40F, so milking the cow was a good way to warm my fingers!

  15. August 25, 2012 5:24 am

    WOW! We are up to 90 degrees again here in Indiana this weekend, and, while I don’t want FROST anytime soon, some chillier mornings would be welcomed. Can’t wait to hear about your first snow (not to jinx you or anything!).

  16. Elizabeth permalink
    August 25, 2012 11:30 am

    Yup…here, too. This was the third summer in a row where we saw low thirties in the middle of August. So no tomatoes, not many green beans, not much squash and no basil. It’s really disheartening to spend time and money nursing plantlings that aren’t able to produce fruit during a 90 day summer. I think next year I’m going to reevaluate what we can successfully grow here on a yearly basis and stick with those veggies.

  17. August 25, 2012 2:16 pm

    We almost had frost here in MN a couple nights ago and now its back up to almost 90 during the day. Such a crazy time in the calendar. The post you linked to was beautiful! Amazing how you never know what that frost is going to come, when the birds are going to leave, etc. Makes you appreciate each and every moment. 🙂

  18. August 25, 2012 2:17 pm

    That is early for frost. But it has been a crazy year. I am way South East of you and although I don’t think frost will be here anytime soon I am already seeing some colors in the trees. Our garden is done for the summer so I am so ready for Fall. Of course with fall comes Winter right on it’s heels. Oh well, we are always wanting what we don’t have. LOL.

  19. August 25, 2012 4:42 pm

    August is usually our hottest month here and Sept. is not much better but by October we will be getting cooler and we’ll have a good frost at least by December, lol. Seriously I am expecting we will get a bit of a harder winter this year, we are definitely overdue for one. After you have lived in one place long enough, you know what to expect.

  20. August 26, 2012 2:03 am

    I sure hope we don’t get an early one here in Western Mass. Normal is the 3rd week in September. The last 2 years it’s been mid to late October.

    But I sure hate it being dark at 5:45 AM and by 8 PM. 😦

  21. August 26, 2012 4:27 pm

    No frost here, but definitely cooler at night, quite suddenly the last few nights – about 10 C, so well above freezing still, but definitely chillier. I guess you’re up so much higher, you’re going to get the frost sooner than those of us down on the coast anyway. It did come too fast, didn’t it?

  22. August 28, 2012 5:01 am

    Sorry to hear that! We made it past the 27th with no frost yet (the earliest we’ve had since we moved up north), and the forecast looks good for another week or so. I’d be in my glory if it held off for another month, but I doubt we’ll get that lucky. I hope your gardens didn’t suffer too much damage!

Leave a Reply

