Skip to content

Really?

September 12, 2012
tags:

Maybe there is hope yet for our society…I wonder about the labeling on commercial buttermilk.  Low Fat.  Hmmm, lets see, I always thought buttermilk is naturally low fat or actually almost no fat.  The word butter must be scaring everyone off, meanwhile off they go to eat their TBHQ laden chicken nuggets and forgo the butter.

Well, if it’s in the New York Times it must be true!  Interesting article, but not news.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Nancy Knopp permalink
    September 12, 2012 1:58 pm

    I think any cake made with buttermilk is always better. I agree with this article completely. I also love buttermilk and cornbread mixed together in a cup with black pepper – Yum! My son won’t even stay in the room when I am eating it though – what is up with that? Where did they come up with the idea that it was that nasty?

    • September 12, 2012 2:23 pm

      Nancy, I have no idea! Buttermilk is wonderful to drink and to have on hand for cooking, a well-kept farm kitchen secret I guess…

  2. September 12, 2012 4:42 pm

    My Granma brought me up on buttermilk…drinking it and cooking with it. Nothing better!

  3. September 12, 2012 7:00 pm

    For some strange reason buttermilk is the only food I actively dislike…

  4. Carol permalink
    September 13, 2012 3:57 am

    TBHQ may not be what you think it is:
    http://scienceblogs.com/moleculeoftheday/2007/03/29/tbhq-mixed-feelings/
    but I never eat chicken nuggets either.

    • September 13, 2012 5:15 am

      Carol, I guess when everything needs to be preserved pretty soon even though there may be a miniscule amount in each thing, all the little things add up. Some toxins are hard to get away from, and a necessary part of modern life (we think) so if I can avoid some buy eating home cooked fresh food or at least food I put up myself without preservatives I feel a lot better.

      This article reminds me of my friend’s argument that tomatoes contain a natural msg therefore msg in foods “can’t” cause an allergic reaction. I have a whole greenhouse full of tomatoes and they don’t cause my face to get red, or my heart to race, no matter how many I eat. MSG in food causes that reaction in about 10 minutes if I eat something with MSG in it.

      I think homemade chicken nuggets might be pretty good. 🙂

  5. Bev permalink
    September 13, 2012 5:41 am

    What an excellent article. Enjoyed all the links, too. When young marrieds we had a Jersey cow. Such good milk and our family so enjoyed the butter, etc. I use buttermilk for pancakes, etc. It upsets me having to use commercial buttermilk, having additives. Most times I use vinegar and make my own., but it is not the same as the real thing. I am always reading labels to see what is in a product. Homemade is the best along with the real thing!

Leave a Reply

