Skip to content

Off Grid Morning

April 7, 2013
tags:

Normally on Sunday I do the Sunday chicken deal, making up hubbies lunch chicken and start another batch of bone broth…with the luxury of electricity 😦  Wind storm, lights out!

"Someday I will roast you my pretty!"

“Someday I will roast you my pretty!”

Sock dryer pinch hitting as flint corn dryer.

Sock dryer pinch hitting as flint corn dryer.

No luxuries this morning.  No coffee until the fire is hot.  No breakfast until the fire is hot.  Hmmm, it’s sure easy to get out the habit of building a fire in the cookstove when it has been such a mild end to winter.

My biggest worry would normally be chicks in the brooder, but we don’t have chicks yet, and any plants needing supplemental heat could survive in the greenhouse since it’s not really that cold.

Luckily by the time the lights came back on, I was done with my chicken cooking chores and no worse for wear.  Off Grid Lite!

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2013 2:18 pm

    most years we lose our power a couple of times over winter – once for almost 3 days. You don’t realise how much you rely on electricity until you don’t have it – water pump, hot coffee and yep, chickens in the brooder. Unfortunately we don’t have a lovely cookstove so it’s usually the bbq for us.

    • April 7, 2013 3:16 pm

      Helen, I know and I’ve gotten soft this winter since it was fairly warm. No need to light that many fires in the cookstove 🙂

  2. April 7, 2013 3:44 pm

    We might get a bit more snow & hail up here, but we are not quite as hard-core as you, what with our gas cook stove and new generator. I will say that this morning’s high winds kind of stirred my neck hairs around 5am and I thought of you & the animals. Glad to know there was nothing terribly remarkable to report, aside from no coffee or breakfast 😉

    • April 7, 2013 4:34 pm

      Yeah, that no coffee thing was making the instant espresso powder look mighty fine in a pinch. 🙂

  3. April 7, 2013 4:49 pm

    What do you use the flint corn for?

    • April 7, 2013 5:45 pm

      Corn bread, polenta etc. This corn does pretty well here and even though we don’t eat much corn, I like to keep this seed going 🙂

      • April 8, 2013 1:18 am

        Thanks. I’ve never grown that type of corn before, so thought I’d ask. This year I’m growing Gaspe Corn, the corn that was grown by the Micmac in Nova Scotia when the first European explorers arrived in Canada. It’s smaller than usual corn. I’m excited to have the seeds to grow it.

  4. April 7, 2013 5:58 pm

    It is pouring up here in the Seattle area. So much so that the chicken run and rabbit area is just a soggy, boggy mess – standing water and unhappy animals!! I’m just glad the rabbits are in elevated hutches with lot’s of good cover and fresh warm hay. Poor babies. We haven’t lost power yet, but the night is still young. 🙂
    I like that first picture – “I will roast you someday…” That’s hilarious!

  5. April 8, 2013 4:39 am

    Love the pictures of your house!! I thought a cookstove had to have 18 inches or so of clearance from the wall?? Is yours closer or a special stove. When we had wood heat our insurance guy came every year with the yardstick and his camera. About the corn… is that something you will not feed Jane? I remember my Dad feeding it to the milk cow (we broke each ear in 4 pieces and that kept her busy for the milking)

    • April 8, 2013 5:15 am

      Beth, no comment about the stove… . It’s hard enough to grow enough corn for us, but I sure Jane would love this corn, but she’ll have to stick to root crops for extra’s.

      • April 8, 2013 8:40 am

        Oopps! Sorry! Any way do you think 14 months is too old to halter break a heifer? I have 3 I am trying to gentle down, I have had them a week and am able to currycomb one, and can’t even touch the other 2. You would not believe the scarcity of dairy stock around here. To get anything purebred is a 100 mile drive.

        • April 8, 2013 9:53 am

          Beth, I meant I have no comment about the stove :p I would say no it’s never too late to halter break, but the older they are the harder it is on you! Do you have a stanchion or head catch? You may be able to get away with no halter breaking if you train them to a stanchion, most dairy cows on dairies aren’t halter broke, but they know they have to behave when they are in the headlock. A lot depends on your setup.

  6. April 8, 2013 1:52 pm

    Yeah, the stanchion idea sounds more workable, I’ve got a stable with a smaller run-in pen for the calf. Heck this is long range planning,,, all these heifers look like they need to grow a little more,,, (before breeding) don’t know what their nutritional history is, and where on earth I’m gonna find a dairy stock bull even black angus would seem large next to these gals.

Leave a Reply

