Skip to content

Pasture Changes Coming Fast

April 7, 2013
March 26, 2013

March 26, 2013

I’m moving the cows out of the barn tomorrow.  I was going to do it today (Sunday) but the power outage gave me pause.  The cows are pretty squirrely the first day out.  I like the option of having the fence on :p

April 5, 2013

April 5, 2013

What a difference a week or so makes come springtime, you can’t even really tell I made a pass through here with the harrow except the missing molehills.

2-8-stockpile 2012

Stockpiled forage – PNW style

Stockpiled forage here we come.  A little fencing to inspect and some to build, and the cows will be out kicking up their heels.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2013 8:18 pm

    We’re thousands of miles apart and completely different ecosystems but I’m following your grazing strategy and pasture progression closely… hoping to glean some insight for my first full year of rotational work with my mob. Currently have the 8 ladies “parked” on a thin-soiled section, eating hay and trampling in carbon, waiting for the last two to calve, and the rest of the grass to grow. Not yet 6 inches tall in the best spots. Last year this time, woulda been knee-high. So many variables. Yay for green grass!

    • April 7, 2013 8:31 pm

      TD, I would truly love to follow Greg Judy’s strategy all the way, but I can’t keep my stockpile as easily due to our heavy rainfall, and alas I can’t see ever going hay-free for winter. So I am trying to get the cows out before the grass is so lush I need to worry about bloat, and I do want to quit feeding hay. I have to remember in the past in my old continuous grazing days we quit feeding when the cows would quit eating hay, which was always the first part of April, and they could glean enough from the pasture to make the hay unpalatable to them. At this point in my grazing career this way of managing by easing out on grass in large paddocks has worked pretty well. For 4 winters now, I have grazed 3 more months, or looking at it another way I have fed hay 3 less months. Win, win, that’s a lot less hay to put up! Yeah!

  2. April 8, 2013 2:29 pm

    Wow- Jane doesn’t look like a juvie at all anymore. Very mature and proper. I can’t see green grass soon enough. The cows know it’s there… still eating hay, but busy exploring parts of the pasture they haven’t explored in ages.

    • April 8, 2013 2:59 pm

      Yes, she informs me she IS a full-grown lady these days. All business now. Man the cows went out today and lit out the barn like someone set off a firecracker, heels and tails in the air. They are happy now. 🙂

      • April 8, 2013 6:15 pm

        I had a lot of flagging tails and everybody has to run everywhere… that makes me happy to watch. I noticed Jane’s mother in a later post – she was a beauty.

Leave a Reply

