Skip to content

My Office Today

May 5, 2013

100_4657
It’s still hot and dry here, the cow’s are taking it in stride though.  Some in the shade and some sunning themselves.

100_4671

I caught a glimpse of Mount Hood on my way to build fence.

100_4659
Dry enough to lay out fence in my Romeos.  Unheard of in May, usually my footwear of choice are muck boots.

100_4662

100_4669

Lula, the official stink-eye giver.  If I didn’t know her (or if she was a bull), this broadside would be an aggressive posture.  With her it means nothing, except I’m taking too long to get the paddock ready 😉

100_4694
Note the wide load in the top left corner – calves will be coming in a couple of weeks.  July in May, I feel guilty for enjoying this weather, knowing we need rain badly. 😦

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2013 7:22 pm

    Broadside is aggressive – I didn’t know that! Thank you so much – I just googled “bull broadside aggressive” and got plenty of hits. You rock, Nita!

    • May 5, 2013 7:38 pm

      Marilyn, you too! I just read about you and Ifarm 🙂

      • May 5, 2013 7:51 pm

        😉 I come across a little like a dilettante – I have taken care of the farm by myself for a week with a fever – but Ben did a great job of explaining a complicated story.

        I’ve learned so much from you. I wanted to go to your class, but life is a bit too complicated right now to pull it off.

        • May 5, 2013 7:56 pm

          I thought it was a great article, and I did not realize it was you until I saw your comment and the River Blessings ID 🙂
          Thanks so much for the kind words!

  2. May 6, 2013 2:41 am

    We need rain here too, and I’m hoping we get some this week, though it doesn’t look promising. It’s been over 2 weeks, or maybe 3, I’ve lost count. The grass has stopped growing, so no cows until rain. Can’t risk running out of grass.

  3. May 6, 2013 2:54 am

    Cow stinkeye cracks me up. Of course not so funny with my stinkeye oaf of a bull…

    I lost TWO WHOLE DAYS of outside work to solving a mysterious short on my fence – basically had to rebuild the whole thing bit by bit. The only thing that made it better was that it was so beautiful out & I got to spend the day watching the cows from afar.

    I like it when they forget I’m there and return to their unsupervised ways.

    But after last year, while I totally enjoyed it, I worry about being behind on rainfall. Last year’s hay situation may just ruin me yet…

  4. May 6, 2013 4:58 am

    I envy you not having to much around in the mud. I just got finished listening to road closings from flooding on the radio and the mud is knee deep on my farm : ) As usual your herd is looking pretty healthy!

  5. Racquel permalink
    May 6, 2013 7:37 am

    Your place looks beautiful as usual. We are having plenty of rain here in VA. It’s been very cool as well. That’s good news for my cool weather crops but I missed my small window to get most of the garden planted. Every time we till up the rows it rains again. I had just gotten the Earthway seed planter (manually pushed) to help me out with the small seed planting and it has hardly stopped raining since (except for the days I was too sick to get my old rump out of bed). Isn’t it always the way….when we want rain we can’t get any, when we’ve had enough…it just won’t quit. Life is good.

    • May 6, 2013 7:50 am

      I hear ya! After three cold wet springs, and very late gardening, I’m trying not to complain, the sun is wonderful 🙂

  6. May 6, 2013 8:29 am

    We had a foot of rain in April and 3 inches so far in May. The warm-season annuals are behind. I bet the pasture grows a foot this week with mid-70’s and sun though. Unfortunately, the alfalfa field is a swamp and the chickens are damaging the stand.

    We grazed this year’s set-aside pasture hard with horses last winter. I’m amazed at the recovery out there. In the past it has been a nearly pure stand of goldenrod. There’s grass there now! It’s cool to watch the early, rapid stages of succession.

Leave a Reply

