Skip to content

Garden Update – Outside Edition

May 14, 2013

Drizzle, I love you ❤   The much awaited rain finally showed up Sunday morning with a gentle drizzle to settle the dust.  You couldn’t ask for more perfect timing, we did a lot of direct seeding last week.  Mother Nature’s irrigation works the best for germination, that is, if you can get it.

garlic

garlic

The garlic looked pleased after those rain storms, you could almost see it breathing a sigh of relief.

ready to plant

ready to plant

IMG_5001

Maxibel – haricots verts

I won’t bore you with the details of the actual planting and will just post my list pulled from my garden notebook.  I gambled and planted at least the first plantings of some of our warm weather crops, figuring that nothing ventured is nothing gained.  While it may seem wasteful to be sticking my neck out this early with some crops, frugality comes in with farmstead-saved seed.  I always save enough seed for multiple years, and meter the seed out in case of crop failure.  (Purchasing larger lots of some seeds saves money too, as many seeds keep for several years.)  The value of a handful of winter squash seeds that turns into hundreds of pounds of actual squash that will keep a year is quite a boon to the pantry and the pocketbook.  I can “afford” to be a little squirrely and plant a little early.  I’m also going to include variety names because I think it’s important that our food has a name also.  Besides  just having a name, there is a history there too, maybe unwritten yet in the case of a new variety, but just as important.  All venerable vegetables started out new at one time.

The List – Round One.                         *farm saved seed, TP = Transplant

♥  Turga Parsnip *
♥  Uncle John beans (local dry bean heirloom)*
♥  Maxibel filet bean *
♥ Sweet Meat winter squash *
♥ National Pickling cuke
♥ Marketmore 76 Slicing cuke
♥ Lemon Cuke
♥ Cocozelle zuke
♥ Raven zuke
♥ Golden Glory zuke
♥ Spring Treat sweet corn
♥ Kolibri kohlrabi
♥ Merlin beet
♥ Detroit Dark Red beet
♥ Red Cored Chantenay carrot
♥ Napoli carrot
♥ Nelson carrot
♥ Oasis turnip
♥ Summer Cross daikon
♥ Brilliant Celeriac – TP
♥ Veronica romanesco – TP
♥  Cheddar cauliflower – TP
♥  Arcadia broccoli – TP
♥ Marjoram – TP
♥ Mucho miscellaneous plant sale leftovers – kales, cabbages,  & chard.

I know this list seems like a lot of vegetables, but remember many of these are small succession plantings that take up only a small part of the garden.   One plant of each summer squash and one bed of each cucumber will supply plenty for fresh eating and a first round of pickles and will be replaced later as they wane with a second succession.

The important thing to remember about gardening is to plant what you will eat and enjoy.  We aren’t really grain-centric eaters, so a diet rich in vegetables we can grow, compliments the meats that we raise.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2013 9:16 am

    I’m so excited reading this, knowing my relocation to Oregon later this summer means I will find you and come get some of these!!!

  2. Ben permalink
    May 14, 2013 12:59 pm

    We still haven’t had any rain… so crazy.

    • May 14, 2013 2:39 pm

      😦 We didn’t get as much as I hoped, the garden is already dry today.

      • May 14, 2013 8:53 pm

        The rain must have come farther north. We’ve probably had close to two inches since Saturday night. And things were just drying out nicely…:(

  3. mom24boys permalink
    May 14, 2013 6:21 pm

    Here in south Lane county (Oregon) we could hardly call that slight wetness “rain”

    Hub is in charge of the garden and, like you, feels it worth the risk to plant some stuff earlier — take advantage of the early warmness that is accompanying the dryness. We are lucky in that our garden is smaller than yours and irrigation won’t be too expensive.

    He did get some dead tomatoes with some surprise frost but 1/2 the plants survived.

  4. May 14, 2013 6:55 pm

    This list is so inspiring! I was telling my students in a food course the other night that carrots were red until quite recently…they were amazed! I wish we could have a garden this summer, too much time out of town to make it happen. But in the fall our toddler daughter will have her first planting, I can’t wait. I will enjoy your garden vicariously until then, and haunt the farmer’s market…

  5. Mich permalink
    May 15, 2013 2:25 am

    We had a afternoon of constant rain, then heavy rain and wind overnight here 😦 My long row of tall hazel sticks for my heritage peas are now at a jaunty angle so guess that will be the first garden job of the day! Sadly ground is now too wet to work so yet again I’m twiddling my thumbs in frustration. Thank goodness for a greenhouse to do module sowing.

  6. May 15, 2013 1:56 pm

    That is an AMAZING list! I want to come sample everything once it’s ready. 🙂

    I hope we get some drizzle soon. It’s been a nice cool spring/intro to summer, but now that we’ve had a few 80+ days, it’s time for a little rain to keep those planties happy.

  7. Racquel permalink
    May 24, 2013 12:00 pm

    I notice that the “fruit room” in no longer posted on your blog (unless it is something with the size of my computor screan settings). I was trying to find some of the seed suppliers you use. There are several types of seeds I haven’t been able to find locally and on the few sites I’ve checked. Can you share one or two that have a wide variety? I’m trying to find fennel, tomateos, and Bok choy for example.

    • May 24, 2013 1:39 pm

      Racquel, I’m reworking that page but it didn’t list specific varieties. I use Johnny’s, Fedco, Territorial, Wild Garden Seed, High Mowing, and a few others for odd varieties that I can’t find somewhere else. I would have to say I have had the most consistent good luck with Johnny’s over the years, others not so much. And for a greens heavy supplier Wild Garden Seeds has good, consistent seeds also.

Leave a Reply

