Skip to content

Gettin’ Ready

June 1, 2013

IMG_5137
Jane is due next to calve next week.  So in my usual fashion I have been procrastinating.  I was down to my last jar of udder salve and there really was no excuse to not make more since I had my infused oils ready for both cottonwood and calendula salves.

kitchen sink insectary row

kitchen sink insectary/culinary/medicinal row

I gather the Populis (cottonwood) buds throughout the winter whenever I see a limb down.  I need a bumper sticker on my pickup that reads:  I brake for flora, because I can spot a plant out-of-place at 40 mph.  My girlfriend and I are always driving our families crazy discussing weird plants we see on our travels.  But in the garden I plan for salve.  Our staple garden that grows squash, potatoes, corn and beans, is more like a dysfunctional family garden, instead of a three sisters garden.  Or the boring garden to bugs and birds.  Add in that I like to keep the headlands mown or grazed to keep the vole and rabbit habitat beat back a little.  So to that end I always plant a pollinator row, and it serves several purposes.  One, I can clean out my old seed that I have squirreled away in paper bags, and two, it provides me with culinary and medicinal plants, and three, it provides some food and shelter for pollinators in the staple garden.

Resina calendula infused EVOO

Resina calendula infused EVOO

Calendula is a great self-sower, so once you have some established in your gardens or beds you’re pretty much set.  We normally just thin out the volunteers instead of reseeding each year in the main garden.  The exception to that is the pollinator row in the staple garden, where we do plant calendula intentionally.

salve for home and dairy

salve for home and dairy

You can’t beat canning jars in the 4 and 8 ounce size for salve jars.  You can always find lids to fit and they are easy to clean.  The cleanup is the worst part of salve making, and probably the reason I always put it off.  Planting seeds, gathering buds on a walk, that suits me.  Melting beeswax in warm oil does not.  Here is an earlier post about cottonwood salve, I use the same method for any salves I make.

Her Imminencey

Her Imminence

100_4971

Checking the pins

So now we wait.  Jane is due next week and I am trying to remain cool, calm and collected…

Seriously!

Seriously!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2013 9:01 am

    So exited for you, I started reading your site when I just got my sweet calf -girl and you helped me raise her up and know to keep her on milk till she was ten months etc.

    I wanted to share the exciting news that she had her little heifer calf with no issues at all two weeks ago this coming Monday, other then a few days of a learning curve on teaching her to keep her foot down while being milked, and getting my hands/arms etc into the groove of things 🙂

    Its been so far, just wonderful, I truly hope your coming baby arrives just as perfectly!

    I am also making my own bag balm and I will make and give yours a try and compare to the one I made 🙂

  2. Chris permalink
    June 1, 2013 10:36 am

    Can’t wait for her royal highness to calve! She probably can’t either…that’s a heavy load to be carrying around!! Try to stay calm, mama! Both of you! 🙂

  3. June 1, 2013 10:43 am

    Checking the pins… Google helped me find this: http://www.ehow.com/how_8124119_tell-cow-calf.html And you probably have a post about it; I’ll fish your site too! Thanks again for a much-needed education!

  4. Janet permalink
    June 1, 2013 9:05 pm

    Aww, Jane looks so good! Hoping for all the best for you both. 🙂 You are amazing and an inspiration. Thanks for sharing your life and wisdom with us!

  5. June 2, 2013 1:59 am

    Eeep! I am excited for you, and cannot wait to see that new baby 🙂

  6. michelle permalink
    June 7, 2013 7:35 am

    I’m sure you already do this, but I saved some old pots for salve making, and since I use all safe ingredients, I don’t have to be crazy about cleaning them out perfectly. Now I don’t use my salves on cows granted, just me, but it works and makes clean up less of a pain.
    I can’t wait to see Jane’s baby. I know the both of you will do great.
    Keep Calm and Calve on;)

Leave a Reply

