Skip to content

What a Difference a Day Makes

June 23, 2013

Have I said how much I like High Density, Short Duration grazing?

100_5324

100_5330

Wow!

100_5341
Twenty four hours later the herd has moved on to greener pastures.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2013 12:25 am

    That’s AMAZING! I can’t believe what a difference a day can make – I would never have believed it.

  2. June 23, 2013 1:17 am

    Looks great. I don’t care to convince my neighbors about the virtues of daily moves but it would be nice to have dad along for the ride.

    Is that a hose in the foreground?

    • June 23, 2013 4:56 am

      Thanks, I know, I talked to a fella yesterday who just sold his cows, too much work and they are out of pasture…the thought of trying to convince him to moving them daily would be less work and more grass could not happen yesterday for sure.

      Hotwire.

  3. A.A. permalink
    June 23, 2013 3:58 am

    Yay to the herd! Good job!

    It’s a bit funny though how the whole herd managed to hide behind those trees in that last picture 🙂

  4. June 23, 2013 4:56 am

    That is fantastic! We rotationally graze but we’ve always been restricted by water so we have a longer-duration rotation schedule. We currently divide our pastures into paddocks and rotate the cows to allow the grass to be eaten/tromped in one paddock and other paddocks rest and regrow. But each of our paddocks contains a pond. How do you deal with water in your quicker 24-hr rotations?

    ~Taylor-Made Ranch~
    Wolfe City, Texas

    • June 23, 2013 5:04 am

      I haul water to them each day, I’m driving to the pasture most days anyway, and an food-grade IBC tote works perfectly for a small herd. In my location all the water is in the deep canyons, so it either has to be pumped (we use water power to pump ours) or you have to go to it. Ponds are illegal here for the most part unless they are existing, putting in a water system for the pastures would be cost prohibitive. Hauling is the simplest and most cost effective for me. Even the folks with a watering system are still hauling a trough around from paddock to paddock, so they are using some kind of vehicle.

      • June 23, 2013 5:18 am

        I forget about the legalities of water collection in different locations. Thank goodness we have 5 ponds on our small acreage, but I’ve really been wanting to tighten up our rotations. We’ve been weighing our options and I always wondered how everyone else handled the water issue. Thanks so much for sharing!

        ~Taylor-Made Ranch~
        Wolfe City, Texas

      • June 23, 2013 5:55 am

        Why are ponds illegal?

        • June 23, 2013 7:27 am

          It makes no sense…but the State owns the water unless it comes from your roof, if you impound it (pond)the water will warm and could potentially warm up a fish stream and harm fish. Saving wild fish is THE MOST important thing around here to hear folks talk, yet the Conservation Service is contacting landowners about non-native plants and offering to eradicate the said non-native plants with 5 years of herbicides, etc, in order to restore creeks to a natural state. Supposedly the herbicides are safe for aquatic life but you know how that goes. Everything is safe until someone decides it isn’t. I’m guessing those poor chumps who will be doing the spraying of blackberries, nettles, reed canary grass etc, for the conservation service will be howling in 20 years about cancer and other diseases after being exposed repeatedly to “safe” herbicides. But no one will connect the dots until it is too late. This kind of a rant, but adding edge effect diversity by having ponds is a good thing, but you would never know it if you talk to a gummint official. One actually told me the other day he heard grazing cows might be good for the land. Who’da thunk? He proceeded to learn me about rotational grazing…you know divide your acreage up and build small pastures, and fence out the streams, and they will cost share too.

  5. June 23, 2013 8:43 am

    You’ve sold it to me! Now i just have to get my hands on an actual cow … it’s my dream.

  6. June 23, 2013 12:09 pm

    Dear MOH, if I hadn’t lived in the good ol’ US of A, then I would have found all that incredibly hard to believe, but my two years of being there and the issues over water rights in the semi-arid area of Fort Collins with its green lawns which have priority over farmers means I know the stupidity of some officials when it comes to water

Leave a Reply

