Skip to content

Good Read – $aved

June 24, 2013

Every once in a while a good writer comes along that keeps your mind engaged.  For me lately that writer has been Ben Hewitt.  Being kind of full of myself, I think he has a good way of setting down what I think and can’t seem to find the right words for.  Kind of a Michael Perry sort of writing guy.  It helps that he milks a cow or two, raises his own food, and speaks his mind.

You know how it is when you hear of something and become aware of that something, you start noticing that the “something” has been there all along and you just didn’t notice it.  I first read an article by Ben in Taproot, and then I happened across Making Supper Safe at the library.  Enough back story, on to the book – $aved.

There are lots of stories around about rags to riches, but this is a different take – more like riches from rags.  I know that sounds corny but it’s true, in this story Ben sets out to write about Erik who lives on less than 10K a year and is happy.  Happy!  How can that be?  That’s barely the cost of the yearly vacation for some folks.  But during the process a different kind of “currency” emerges, one where relationships with real folks and real home economies exist outside the omnipresent corporate finance world .   I am betting you find the book quite engaging in addition to being well researched.  So often the same message is out there every day but always in a preachy, condescending tone, through the story Ben sees how important his choice of lifestyle is for his family and himself.  An important read for anyone, me thinks.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2013 11:12 am

    I came across Ben’s website about two months ago – no idea how I got there! And have been a regular reader for a month(ish). I ordered $aved a week ago from a UK book store and am awaiting its delivery; an looking forward to reading it.

  2. June 24, 2013 11:28 am

    Going to get “Saved”.

  3. June 24, 2013 1:18 pm

    Thanks for the recommendation, Matron. I also love Michael Perry and aspire to be him (in my own way) some day soon. I’m going to check out the website and book of Ben Hewitt.

  4. Jocelyn permalink
    June 24, 2013 2:15 pm

    Oh good! I’m glad you liked it! I have been trying to get a hold of it here, but no bookstore carries it. Of course, the only bookstore anywhere near is Barnes and Noble. Now that I’ve got your good review, I guess I will order it. Thanks!

  5. June 24, 2013 2:35 pm

    What a coincidence – I just got this book this weekend and had a hard time putting it down! I’m glad to hear you liked it, too!

  6. June 24, 2013 7:33 pm

    Gonna check it out as it sounds like my kind of read! Thanks for the heads up : )

  7. June 25, 2013 6:53 pm

    Ben lives in my former home state which I often sorely miss. I’ve subscribed to his blog and thank you for introducing me to a fellow Vermonter who shares meaningful and familiar stories to savor!

  8. Karen permalink
    June 26, 2013 4:05 am

    I just got my book in the mail yesterday-vacation starts on Friday and the reading will begin! I have been reading Ben’s blog for a year now and he always has something thought provoking to say.

  9. June 26, 2013 7:44 am

    I’ve invited him to speak at my campus twice now, and he received rave reviews each time, and more importantly, was great with our students. Consequently, I have signed copies of 2 of his books 🙂

  10. June 26, 2013 11:34 am

    Circumstances caused my husband to leave his job, and our income was cut in half (both of us being 9-5 office workers with similar income at the time). We were amazed and slightly embarrassed that we were quite capable of maintaining most of our already fairly frugal lifestyle with little change. Where had all that ‘extra money’ gone?!? We never did eat out for lunch, or take the trips to Mexico and elsewhere that our co-workers seemed to find important enough to charge on their credit cards, but it certainly taught us that we could make do and be less stressed at the same time – and have more time for the garden, animals and hobbies that we enjoy. I like my simple life 🙂

Leave a Reply

