Skip to content

A Few of My Favorite Things

July 1, 2013

At least this week anyway.  My mom used to say I was as notional as a dancing bear, because I changed my mind constantly.  This week I’m loving fresh berries and fresh cream and fresh chicken.  Not all together mind you.  Last week it was new potatoes.  Here  are few photos of what has been going on around here.  At the end are a couple of videos of me moving cows, er, actually trying to move cows.  Of course, when you try to video them they have to stand there and look at me like, “what?”  Well, you can hear them, and me anthropomorphizing in my best cow voice what they are thinking in the first video.

Late evening raspberry picking

Late evening raspberry picking

Fresh broiler chicken

Fresh broiler chicken

My favorite chicken this year is one I didn’t have to raise myself 🙂  I’m trading hard-earned dollars for meat.  Doing broilers this year was not in the cards for me.

lovely pasture

lovely pasture

This photo was taken after the video shenanigans.

Twelve-spotted skimmer

Twelve-spotted skimmer

Obviously I harvested these insect photos from my daughter’s files.  I don’t have that much patience!

eos_0394_1.jpg
Finally, cows are pretty much always one of my favorite things.  Although when it’s 95°F, I just want them to do what I say, when I say it.  I was doing some landscaping this past week around the hayfield and where the chestnut tree came down, so that’s why the long skinny, barren looking paddock looks so stark, I planned it that way.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. Livia permalink
    July 1, 2013 10:09 pm

    N, You and your cows live in heaven!

    Liv

  2. Bev permalink
    July 1, 2013 10:13 pm

    One cow starts and the others follow. They are so sleek and you can see how they enjoy their pasture. A few of our favorite things. Bluebirds nesting in the box nests we put up every spring. Fun to watch them with full beaks feeding their young. We have been weeding in the garden. Our garden was late due to frost this year, but our corn is about 10″ tall. The rest of the garden is doing great. Have been running the wood splitter and stacking every day. Early, last few days we have had 100 degrees plus. Thunder and L. predicted the next few days. Hope for no fires. Enjoying strawberries and fresh peaches. Peaches come from our CA central valley. Canned peaches, pies for the freezeer, jam, etc. Will be so good this winter. We have a source that sets up a stand twice weekly in Yreka. Took a break from meat chickens this year. Not as lucky as you are to have a good source. Darn, know they are tasty.
    Know you are busy everyday. So enjoy getting together with friends and family and have a great 4th of July!

    • July 2, 2013 7:36 am

      Bev, if I can cajole one, the others do go. Most of the time they only have to go to the adjacent paddock, this move was around a corner, through some gates and then through some already grazed paddocks. All I really had to do was just leave and go through the gates and they came running. I guess that makes me lead cow 😉

      Same here on the wood, squirreling away for winter I guess. 🙂 It was kind of nice not doing broilers, but my friend is retiring so I’ll be back at it next year I guess unless I can twist his arm 🙂

      Have a great 4th!

  3. July 2, 2013 12:19 am

    Love those videos. Happy cows. Or should I say Happy / Stubborn cows. Can’t blame them though…… I wouldn’t want to move much either in that heat-LOL!

    • July 2, 2013 7:20 am

      Sue, I know I just wanted them to come right away. Me standing there staring at them didn’t help much though 😦

  4. July 2, 2013 1:43 am

    I rotate, but into larger pastures so moving is a small adventure. I love how excited the calves get. I see Blake is your helper – I can always count on Bling.

    • July 2, 2013 7:19 am

      AMF, the calves are a caution for sure, I have a 6 pack and 1 late one who stays with mama. Those are usually in the paddock before the cows get there. Creep feeding MiG style 🙂

  5. July 2, 2013 3:38 am

    Remodeling? Already? Have you already shipped your beef? Long and narrow = low pasture utilization, lots of carbon pushed in. I’m amazed at the recovery of narrow strips we grazed a month ago. The pasture is coming back so thick it’s hard to walk through over a mulch of dead grass beneath.

    Thanks for showing how it’s done. And thanks for showing your cows don’t always come when you call either. I usually have to walk beside Flora (pet dairy cow) who will lead the rest to fresh grazing when we do an odd move like that.

    • July 2, 2013 5:13 am

      Well, remodeling for a week, I needed to get the debris from that tree exposed before we found it with the haybine. I’ve shipped some and more to go this week so a day and a half of 12 hour moves worked really well. Now they’re back in nice big fat square paddocks on their way to the corral. After years of doing this I believe when they are on the ridge top they don’t want to leave, I feel the same thing in garden, some kind of energy coming from that area for sure. When given a chance all the animals hang out on that line. Interesting living on a volcano…

      • July 2, 2013 6:24 pm

        That’s interesting. My cows have universally favorite spots too, although we don’t live on a volcano. I remember reading once, was it Carlos Castineda (?) about how dogs are tuned into some energy forces which is why they circle and fuss before picking the spot they want to lie down on. Who knows.

        I could kneel in my garden all day too – very healing place for me.

  6. July 2, 2013 3:42 am

    erm…that comment was not from Farm School Marm. She’s far too busy actually doing stuff to sit at the computer, though she did watch the videos.

  7. July 2, 2013 4:54 am

    Gorgeous cows! I should try for a sheep moving video :-D.

  8. Chris permalink
    July 2, 2013 7:29 am

    I didn’t see any link to the videos…can you send them to my e-mail?? Your daughter takes amazing insect photos…love that skimmer!!

  9. Chris permalink
    July 2, 2013 7:30 am

    oops, never mind….I found them!! now I’ll go have a view!!

  10. Chris permalink
    July 2, 2013 7:33 am

    Awesome!! Beautiful, healthy cows…beautiful, healthy pasture and loved hearing your voice!! 🙂

  11. July 2, 2013 9:00 am

    Nice to see & hear you and your tribe in action, minus the canines, felines, fowl & swine! (Maybe next time you can film the subtle skill & art form of corralling them ALL?!)

    • July 2, 2013 9:20 am

      Yeah, maybe I need to be wearing my GoPro as I walk among the bovines 😉 Or the weeds 🙂

      One of your neighbors saw a cougar walk out of our garden by the greenhouses and into the pasture just last week or so! Makes me wish I had a game camera on the garden so I could see what goes on 🙂

Leave a Reply

