Skip to content

Stick a Fork In It

July 18, 2013

Or rather in me.  I’m done.  Hay is all in, none got wet, tempers only simmered and equipment repairs were minor.  Cow pantry full.

EOS_1703
The balerman off in the distance to the left.

EOS_1722
EOS_1715

Last load in sight

Last load in sight

Last load!

Last load!

28 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2013 2:27 pm

    Oh how I covet your truck. And loader. What would I look for, if I was looking for a loader like that? and will it work next to a truck with a bed?

    • July 18, 2013 3:17 pm

      I love that loader, my daughter and I can haul a lot of hay with that thing. They are called pop-up loaders, and you know I think Bruce K. had one a year or so ago, don’t know if he still does. I just found one like ours for a friend, and there is no brand name that I have seen but they were made in Eastern Oregon. I would stay away from the Henry brand, and maybe John Deere unless you are picking up 60# + bales, they need a stout bale that holds together for the duration of the squeeze trip up through the chute. These are a little gentler. We bought this from a guy who used it with his draft horses until he retired them. I’m not sure about a pickup bed, as this rubs the truck pretty hard, and I do know using one with a trailer is and exercise in, well I don’t know what, but it’s difficult.

      I love the truck also, we are third owners, but only the truck’s second farm. 🙂 Pretty economical gas-wise too, and with a two-speed rearend you can really creep along in the field.

  2. Mich permalink
    July 18, 2013 2:35 pm

    Can’t beat the satisfaction of a dry crop of hay in the barn 🙂 Love your truck.

  3. 12Paws permalink
    July 18, 2013 2:40 pm

    Such good news. And besides, I LOVE the dear old truck! I’ll bet she has some stories.

    • July 18, 2013 3:19 pm

      12Paws, thanks! I wonder what the truck could tell, it is a local truck, only traveling about 7 miles from it’s first farm, but I am sure it has seen and heard a lot.

  4. July 18, 2013 3:25 pm

    “seen a lot”… sweat and cussing?

  5. Sheila Z permalink
    July 18, 2013 3:48 pm

    Beautiful sight. I really miss haying, it was always my favorite time of the year.

  6. Rock Island Newt permalink
    July 18, 2013 4:07 pm

    It’s always good when the weather cooperates in hay season. Not so here, but with the droughts of late, I am not complaining about rain on the pasture.
    Live the flatbed truck! What year?

  7. July 18, 2013 4:18 pm

    Hooray! Glad to have caught a glimpse of you whilst in mid-process, or so. It seems you did not get the light rain we got up here when the thunder rolled through… or was that the jubilant sound of Red bringing in a midnight load or two?!

    • July 18, 2013 4:26 pm

      Kathryn, I think we only got about 10 drops of rain and few thunderclaps. Thank heavens! I wondered who the exuberant waver was 😉

  8. July 18, 2013 6:22 pm

    Mines in too! feels good to have that done….

  9. jackie permalink
    July 18, 2013 7:05 pm

    I so admire farmers…I don’t know what the weather has been like out where you live, but here in the midwest it has been so hot and humid that just watering my tiny tomato patch and a few potted plants and herbs leaves me hot and soaking with sweat…and that is only about a generous half hour in the heat….and you guys are in it all day long! You work so hard in all kinds of weather.

  10. A.A. permalink
    July 18, 2013 11:44 pm

    Congrats!

  11. scottishsoapmaker permalink
    July 18, 2013 11:58 pm

    Wonderful hay making weather here in Scotland too. I don’t have ground to make hay but it looks like the barn will soon be full of good bought in hay.
    The goats have been sunbathing for days which is very unusual!
    Delighted that it went so well for you.

  12. July 19, 2013 5:21 am

    Great truck. Great stories.

  13. Elizabeth permalink
    July 19, 2013 5:50 am

    So on average, how many tons could one beef eat in a winter if you are feeding for 4-6 months?

    • July 19, 2013 7:34 am

      Elizabeth, I would estimate 30 – 50 pounds a day just to be on the safe side. A lot depends on hay quality, winter temperature, how much pasture they have access to in the winter or not, and if you’re feeding grain.

  14. Chris permalink
    July 19, 2013 7:09 am

    Beautiful and Red is the same age as me and see? She still looks great! :))

  15. Chris permalink
    July 19, 2013 9:13 am

    They sure did! 🙂

  16. July 19, 2013 9:57 am

    Congratulations! What a peaceful feeling.
    It’s been a dreadful year for haying in the northeast so far, and I am already worried about being able to find enough decent hay for my goats…at any price. It’s a difficult problem. 😦

  17. Bev permalink
    July 19, 2013 4:29 pm

    What a great truck We have a 1966 3/4 ton, 4/speed Ford pickup. Bought brand new. We call the truck “Steadfast”, My DH says anythig can be fixed when needed. He can do it, not like the newer vehicles. In the 50″s he used to haul lots of hay. Brought back good memories. Another item off your summer list.

    • July 19, 2013 9:59 pm

      Bev, Steadfast sounds like a champ! The newer vehicles are a pain, and expensive to fix if it can even be done.

  18. Regina Pishion permalink
    July 20, 2013 11:57 am

    http://www.vintageprojects.com/farm-construction/Bale-Loader.pdf

    If any body is a tinker? Here’s plans.

Leave a Reply

