Skip to content

Kitchen/Garden Postcard

July 26, 2013
tags:
Finally!

Finally!

It always seems that gardeners have a hard time waiting for that first tomato.  We picked the first one too early and it tasted like a store-bought tomato.  Now finally this past week the tomatoes are ripening fast enough that we can graze throughout the day on tomatoes and add them to our meals several times each day if we want.

Music garlic

Music garlic

The garlic has been harvested and hung to cure.  My experiment this year was to compare chicken manure compost and cow manure compost and the effect of each on the bulb size.  The cow compost won out by leaps and bounds.  New this year was Killarney Red and our old standby Music, both showed a difference between the two fertilizers.  Don’t let folks tell you hardneck garlic doesn’t keep well.  I still have Music from the previous season that is passable in a pinch.  Now that I have new, I will use that, but I am happy to report that we did not run out of garlic.

Blueberry streusel

Blueberry streusel

We are done with the raspberries and the blueberries are starting to demand our attention.

During the last of our haying I was able to break away and get greenhouse 2 planted with our fall and winter brassicas.  So that big chore is off my seeding/planting list.  Also marked off the planting list yesterday was seeding more lettuce, chicory, and basil in the greenhouse, and direct seeding cilantro and winter kohlrabi in the garden.

I love summer!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2013 10:45 am

    Love your pictures! Good to hear about the garlic, will try more horse manure compost on our bed. Our 7 year old grandson showed me an early yellow tomato and asked if OK to eat. Yes ( I had been eyeing it ,too). Nice to see kids picking from garden. Johanne

  2. July 26, 2013 10:46 am

    Beautiful harvest! My mom had that same colander; whenever I see one I think of her.

    • July 26, 2013 10:21 pm

      I have the same colander too:) Well two of them with the stars, both different sizes. Found them at the thrift store, and donated my plastic colander back. Dug my garlic this week, and the first tomato is ripening, mmmm!

  3. Victoria in CT permalink
    July 26, 2013 12:08 pm

    Jane, I love reading your blog. I have learned so much about soil, cover crops and the benefits of kitchen cow vs. chicken manure. I guess what it really comes down to is the soil, right? Healthy soil-healthy animals and plants. It seems such a simple process, but it is really very complex.Thank you so much for sharing your knowledge!

  4. girlgonegranola permalink
    July 26, 2013 3:14 pm

    Is now a good time to start cilantro for Fall?

    • July 26, 2013 3:30 pm

      Sure, and you can probably sneak in another succession too, mid-August. It does the best direct seeded, the trick this time of year is keeping the soil moist enough for germination.

  5. July 26, 2013 8:03 pm

    I’m in a zone 5 and will be away for a month. I’m thinking of planting carrots in my empty pea beds before I leave. Would that make sense? If I seed them so thinly that I wouldn’t have to thin them until I’m back? I’ll also try for some more radishes and lettuces.

  6. July 27, 2013 4:02 am

    I’m so excited to plant a fall garden. Last year’s fall garden was a smashing success, the heat & humidity of a Texas summer settled some and moisture came through semi-regularly. It’s hit & miss as I have pretty severe fall allergies so I have to rely on mother nature to keep the garden watered for about 6 weeks. But I figure I’m only out a few inexpensive packet of seeds if things don’t go well but gain several pounds of fresh fall produce if it does! I’ll be planting my fall garden in a couple of weeks. Yea!

    ~Taylor-Made Ranch~
    Wolfe City, Texas

  7. July 27, 2013 3:38 pm

    The garlic looks great. And tomatoes are the gems of summer!

  8. July 27, 2013 6:20 pm

    How do you keep your greenhouses watered?

    Let me head off your smarty pants answer. “With Water”.

    Do string out soaker hoses when you plant? Do you just walk through with a hose?

    • July 27, 2013 8:21 pm

      Smarty Pants? 😉

      I did do soaker hoses but I do hand water too. I haven’t graduated to drip yet, but I should. I only have 3 rows of tomatoes that need the weekly irrigation, the rest I water by hand with a hose. Not terribly efficient but for me it’s kind of a cud chewing zen time and I know the plants like the overhead watering compared to the dry old bone effect of drip. I will quit watering the tomatoes this week anyway, so now I’ll just handwater the other crops in there.

  9. July 28, 2013 7:01 am

    Another hand up for the familiar colander 🙂
    Today I found the first green tomatoes, which was pretty exciting considering everyone else seems to be rolling in fresh vegetables already and I am still counting tiny squashes and have yet to see a bean flower. What an interesting year for gardening. Yep, interesting. I’m sticking with that!

Leave a Reply

