Skip to content

Steaming and Reading

August 6, 2013

Today is a perfect day for working inside.  This basket full of broccoli is destined for steaming and freezing.  This has been a great year for broccoli, and a bad year for cabbage moths, since I have yet to see one in any of the broccoli we have eaten so far.  There has been no shortage of cabbage moths, but they aren’t laying eggs or at least very few on any of our brassicas.  I found one caterpillar on our Ruby Ball cabbage in the greenhouse and that is it.  Knock on wood!

Packman F1

Packman F1

I also just received my copy of Jo Robinson’s new book, Eating on the Wild Side, The Missing Link to Optimum Health.

Jo

If it is anything like any of Jo’s other writings, I am sure it is chock-full of excellent information, and a perfect read to see how many vegetables we already grow that may be included in her research.  I snuck a peek and Packman is on the list for nutritious broccoli, one down, so many to go.  Review coming soon.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. cantsay permalink
    August 6, 2013 5:28 pm

    Okay–stupid question, but you are not canning broccoli are you? Do you freeze your broccoli in glass jars?

  2. August 6, 2013 6:18 pm

    Looking forward to the book review.
    Another stupid question? Why steam the broccoli before popping it into the freezer bags?

    • August 6, 2013 6:27 pm

      Gunta, blanching stops any enzymatic action that can cause decay in the freezer. Some veggies like bell peppers or onions don’t need the quick blanching step, but most vegetables benefit from it, and you get a better looking and tasting product when you pull them out of the freezer. You blanch and then immediately cool the vegetable to stop the cooking, then freeze. Not as good as fresh for sure, but a way to put some foods by for winter meals.

  3. August 6, 2013 9:42 pm

    How odd, my feed to tell me that you have posted something was showing a change and all I could see was an older post. Oh well! caught up now. I’m freezing most stuff this year, for the time being as I can’t keep up and get some studying done. So now must run and process two buckets of peas, since I pulled the pea plants to give other plants more light now the days are getting shorter.

  4. Mich permalink
    August 6, 2013 10:49 pm

    We have a plague of Cabbage white butterfly’s this year & the wretched things keep managing to get under my netting due to all the wind we keep getting. Agh.
    Living on top if a hill, keeping things pinned down in windy weather is a challenge.
    So I feel there may be some caterpillar squashing on my agenda shortly…

  5. August 7, 2013 2:20 am

    I did notice that even though the cabbage moths have been active since March, I had very few caterpillars in the broccoli heads I’ve gotten so far. Here in Western Mass. I thought it was because my nutrient density is approaching a good level. The flea beetles were much less in evidence also. Now I’m wondering….

    • August 7, 2013 5:31 am

      Pam, that’s what I think too, if the plants are healthy and sweet they taste bad to the insects. I think that is where folks get it wrong thinking that organic means you automatically have bugs because you don’t spray pesticides. I recently read a conversation on a growers site where a customer returned the product because it was too buggy for them to stomach, so immediately others came to the rescue of the farmer with comments like, that’s your protein, organic means bugs, etc, etc. I don’t think organic should mean bugs in your food, it should mean proper soil amending, etc, and then you are moving towards true nutrient dense food, not just organic means no spray. That’s great for support of the farmer, but that just perpetuates the hippie, uneducated, backward idea of what organic truly should mean.

      I think you’re finally seeing the results of all your hard work. I’ve watched the moths and many times this year they were hanging our in the calendula eating. We have lots of wild mustards etc, for them to lay their eggs on so I may not notice the caterpillars on them at all.

  6. Chris permalink
    August 7, 2013 9:40 am

    Looking forward to your book review and that is some handsome looking broccoli…it can be handsome, can’t it? How long do you blanch it before the ice water bath?

    • August 7, 2013 9:51 am

      Yes, I think it can be called handsome 🙂 3 minutes on the steaming or until bright green. I use my steam juicer, and it works great, much easier than blanching in water. Uses less water too.

  7. August 7, 2013 8:50 pm

    Man, I’m in the same climate but my broccoli just bolted. Man…I wish i could garden right. oh well. at least I like turnips and eggplant since thats all i can grow.

  8. August 8, 2013 5:19 am

    Looking forward to your comments on the book! And that broc is making my mouth water 🙂

Leave a Reply

