Skip to content

Protecting Your Freezer Stockpile

August 19, 2013

We’re busy re-roofing our barn, and trying to keep up with the flow of produce, canning, freezing and dehydrating.  The freezer space is starting to get a little scarce too, we’ve stocked up on chicken, beef and soon pork will have to be stuffed in.

EOS_3217

Nectarines – summer in a jar come winter

None of that counts fruits and vegetables that are starting to add up in quantity too.  The single worst thing that can happen to frozen goods is a power failure.  A short power outage doesn’t tend to hurt as long as you don’t open your freezer, if it is full you have several days before you need to be worried about the contents, unless of course it is during a heat wave and then you have to act sooner.

One rule I always go by in stocking freezers is to load my fruits and berries above my meat products.  Because in case of thawing you possibly can have berry and meat juices leaking everywhere.  I don’t know about you, but if raspberry  juice got on my chicken, I would not really mind, but if chicken blood was mingled with my raspberries, now that I would mind.  To go even further, in the meat stacking train of thought, I also stack beef right under fruit and veggies but above chicken and pork.  Why?  Because we sometimes eat our beef raw, or very rare, and we never eat our chicken or pork raw, so the same scenario applies, if beef blood somehow mingled with chicken or pork that would fine because those meats are always cooked.

Just a small tip, from a frazzled preserver/roofing nail puller 😛

15 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2013 4:41 pm

    Ah, ok, you are doing the barn roof yourselves. Metal? Be careful – we love you!

    • August 19, 2013 5:09 pm

      Yes, and thank you we’ve already had one mishap…yes, metal the ultimate retirement roof, we’ll be too old the next time is needs replacing 🙂

  2. thetinfoilhatsociety permalink
    August 19, 2013 10:54 pm

    Holy crap. You would have thought, with my background, I would have thought of this. Nope. Thank you for this post, you may have saved my entire freezer contents!

  3. Mich permalink
    August 20, 2013 12:01 am

    Yikes be careful on that roof of yours! Good tip about the storing of meat & fruit/veg in the freezer.

  4. Lonna permalink
    August 20, 2013 4:07 am

    I love the precision in everything you do! lol,

  5. August 20, 2013 6:24 am

    I would never have thought about how things should be stacked in the freezer. It makes perfect sense! You are going to need a long hot bath (or twelve) with all that muscle use!

  6. August 20, 2013 11:42 am

    Is it the kind of roof you can’t stand on? The kind where you tie a rope to a tractor on the opposite side, throw it over the peak and tie the rope around your waist as you put the sheets on? …or am I the only redneck?

  7. Martha permalink
    August 20, 2013 12:36 pm

    I’m absolutley enjoying your blog. It’s like a glimpse into a life that I would love to live but hate to do all the hard work. It’s the best of both worlds, I get to enjoy it through your words and photos, then kick my feet up on the couch!

    I am a bit of a gardener but that’s as far as it goes (for now).

  8. Eumaeus permalink
    August 20, 2013 1:22 pm

    Timely post. We’ve got to make room for a beef coming next week. Wish we froze all those raspberries you’re talking about. My gardener vision, that sweet dream of next year, is already starting to form. Usually that only happens after frosts when the false sense of security and superiority sets in. I’ve yet to best the weeds and they are mocking me in their tree-like glory as we ‘speak.’

  9. Kate permalink
    August 21, 2013 6:43 pm

    raspberry chicken….mmmm I feel a recipe coming on. lol!

  10. August 26, 2013 10:38 am

    Great points as I just picked up my wild salmon share this weekend and nestled them among the blueberries. Blueberry Salmon, yes, but Salmon Blueberries, nope. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Links: Jam, Ketchup, and a Sur La Table Winner | Food in Jars

Leave a Reply

