Skip to content

Bacon and Tomato

August 21, 2013
Pantano Romanesco

Pantano Romanesco

Looking into the crystal canning ball I see roasted tomato soup in my future…

Boyd

Boyd

And further in the future I see bacon!  Bacon eating spoiled tomatoes?  It’s nice having stock to feed the too-far-gone-for- kitchen-purposes spoiled produce.  While picking tomatoes I keep a 5 gallon bucket nearby to toss spoils into and it makes for easy cleanup in the tomato rows.

On the preserving slate today, roasting tomatoes for soup, canning tomato sauce, and green beans tonight.  Salsa tomorrow or the next day, plus it looks like the cauliflower is coming on and the green beans will need picking again soon, and possibly the first batch of horticulture beans on the horizon.  High canning season as The Canned Quilter says!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie R permalink
    August 21, 2013 11:43 am

    What do you use for a tomato soup recipe? Can it be water bath canned? I haven’t worked my way up to pressure canning yet.

    • August 21, 2013 12:32 pm

      Debbie, I don’t really have a recipe per sé, but it’s definitely not safe for water bath canning since I add some low acid vegetables for flavor. It’s pretty basic, roasted heirloom tomatoes, with onion, garlic, peppers,celery,and herbs drizzled with olive oil. I make my sauce the same way, but cook it down further than this mixture. After roasting, I run this through my food mill and pressure can. It’s good use for the big juicy heirlooms, roasting really concentrates their flavor and the alliums caramelize during the roasting which makes for a robust soup 🙂

  2. Beth permalink
    August 21, 2013 1:02 pm

    Matron you and the Canned Quilter are my go to girls! The only 2 blogs I check everyday! I’m canning peaches, grape juice, and grape jam today. Beth in Ky

  3. August 21, 2013 1:54 pm

    You forgot to include the lettuce for the BLT! 😉

  4. August 21, 2013 1:55 pm

    I just took a couple of baking pans of roasted tomatoes out of the oven, will can them after evening chores. Hadn’t thought to toss in alliums and make soup. Next batch I will. Gettin’ covered by tomatoes here, gotta keep up!

    • August 21, 2013 4:11 pm

      TD, oh my gosh, the onions and garlic add so much flavor, and I need to use up my frozen scapes and weird left over Walla Walla Sweets anyway – a perfect way to clear the deck 🙂

  5. Ben permalink
    August 21, 2013 2:41 pm

    Trying to find the post with your roasted salsa recipe… little help?

  6. August 21, 2013 4:44 pm

    High Canning Season Indeed! Freezing breaded okra, chopping kraut, freezing broccoli, squash, and blackberries. Tomorrow corn, horticulture beans and red beans. Are your feet hurting yet ? Honey my dogs are barking!! Hugs CQ

    • August 21, 2013 5:29 pm

      CQ, every night that is exactly what we say, our dogs are barking! Too much ladder and roof work, in between babysitting the oven and the pressure cooker. Luckily my relief milker (the calf) can do the milking in the evening, freeing me up for more nail pulling and shake sorting. Ugh! We are almost a month early on some crops, and I believe we’ll have sweet corn before Labor Day, hard for me to do here usually. Back to work!

  7. Bev permalink
    August 21, 2013 7:59 pm

    I really like your idea of roasting your tomatoes for sauce, etc. Thanks for posting the salsa recipe. Going to roast them, too. We ate a few ears of corn. Not quite ready. Tasted good but could use a little more sugar content. Yesterday cucs in the crock for sweer pickles and today I made dill pickles. Laughing about the dogs barking. Oh, yes! It is that time of year, grumbling about everything coming on at once. Isn’t it wonderful how you feel when at the end of the day you can see your work sitting in the jar. Besides bacon, I can smell fresh ground country sausage frying for breakfast. Yum!

Leave a Reply

