Skip to content

This Past Week – Random Pics

August 30, 2013
tags:

Readers often ask me how do you find the time to write?  Sometimes you just make time and other times, like when I am up at 4:00 am canning, I have some sit down time at the computer, no one but me and dogs are awake and I have a little bit of time before I need to milk.  I like to strike when the iron is hot or actually idea is hot, and write, and then just schedule the post for sometime in the future to publish.  We take lots of photos during the week, since things change so fast on a farm and some moments just get missed if you don’t have your camera with you.  Without further ado here are some photos of our past week on the farmstead.

100_5933

Peppers – sweet and hot

halfway mark

halfway mark

pole beans

pole beans

Sweet Meat

Sweet Meat

Big Meat

Big Meat

Potatoes

Potatoes

Dahlias

Dahlias

Vole patrol

Vole patrol

Sunflower at sunset

Sunflower at sunset

Dark sentinels

Dark sentinels

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2013 9:14 am

    My cat growing up would be eating the greens and what rodents – ha! Great Captures – Happy Weekend:)

  2. Chris permalink
    August 30, 2013 10:15 am

    Gorgeous photos of a well lived country life! Is that your raven pair that watch over you? 🙂

  3. August 30, 2013 1:27 pm

    I have what may seem a strange question for you. In the area of Australia where I live we don’t get the huge change in seasons that you seem to get so I don’t need to put up food for Winter as we just grow different crops for the season. For instance I grow beans in summer and peas in Winter so I haven’t felt the need for canning beans. I have preserved tomatoes in Summer but that’s about it. Do you think if you had a more mild Winter you wouldn’t worry about canning so much food?
    I really enjoy reading your blog!

    Mel:)

    • August 30, 2013 2:38 pm

      Melissa, I was just going to write up a post on that very subject about “our” food system. I really preserve less than I did when I was younger :p Ugh, did I just say that? I don’t feel old, too often anyway. But yes, I would do less if possible. Look for details soon 🙂

  4. Chris permalink
    August 30, 2013 1:54 pm

    🙂

  5. Alison permalink
    August 30, 2013 2:05 pm

    I’m new to your blog and have been enjoying it and learning a lot. It’s my second year having a garden and having a little extra to put away this year is awesome. Just wish my sweet meat squash was doing better. How do you know when to cut it off the vine? One of mine has quit growing. Looks like I might get one maybe 2 more if there is enough growing time.

    • August 30, 2013 2:42 pm

      Alison, depending on where you are…you may or may not get any more squash to ripen. I cut my vines back now so no more fruit will form, and then I just wait for the formed ones to ripen. I try to wait until frost is close or at least another month or so. When the Sweet Meat is ripe is will be a blue gray in color and there will be a white spot on the bottom where it touches the soil. At that point I cut them from the vine and cure them in the house or greenhouse depending on space.

      • Alison permalink
        August 30, 2013 3:44 pm

        Bummer, I’m going to guess that being in Minnesota we won’t get any more to ripen. Well, I’ll keep an eye on our one squash. I think I need to revisit your post on salsa so I can plan for next year. Thanks so much for the help!

  6. Bev permalink
    August 30, 2013 5:22 pm

    I always look forward to one of your new posts. Lucky for us that you share such beautiful pics and your daily lives. Wow, the color of all the vegies, the scenery and the flowers. The sunflower is awesome. Sweetmeat squash is our all time favorite. They make excellent pie. We begin each day, well what needs to be done next? The list is quite long. Our corn is harvested. We are digging the stalks up for the cows. When nice and green they are gobbled up. Like your little grey helper following you around. Have a great weekend.

  7. Barb in CA permalink
    September 1, 2013 6:12 am

    Matron, is the new roof going on Jane’s barn? I don’t think I’ve seen a shot of that building before. (Or maybe not from that side?)

Leave a Reply

