Skip to content

Half-Truths and Bald-Faced Hornets

September 10, 2013

I always wonder about folks who chuckle when I tell them how many prunes we eat if allowed.  I think there is really no limit to how many dried prunes we could consume if we have them.  But the chuckle part, you know, the R word…regularity, always gives me pause.  We never can tell any difference when we are eating prunes.  Dried or not.

Italian Prunes with Bald-faced hornet

Italian Prunes with Bald-faced hornet

I guess the association with old people eating stewed prunes to promote regularity is a well know half-truth.  I would say maybe more vegetables and fruits of any kind would probably promote just as much regularity.

Italian prunes have to probably be one of my favorite fruits, when we have a good crop we dry as many as we are able to, and freeze some too for galettes and crisps.

Italian Prune

Italian Prune

The Bald-faced hornets and Yellow jackets seem to have the same penchant for prunes that I do, since yesterday I spent my time on the ladder picking prunes amidst the buzzing beasts.  All in all it was pretty laid back though, due to the fact that many of them were imbibing in the fermenting fruits that fell in the rain.  A good time was had by all.  I think we all feel the crush of fall and impending winter coming.  Lost in my little prune world yesterday I imagined the wind whispering through the leaves telling me to hurry, scurry and lay in more stores.

“Winter’s coming, winter’s coming.”

Ready for the dehydrator

Ready for the dehydrator

“I’m hurrying and scurrying as fast as I can.”

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2013 8:28 am

    Mel and Trace don’t seem to have a problem with the prunes, either… :p

  2. Beth in Ky permalink
    September 11, 2013 8:34 am

    How long do those prunes take to dry?

    • September 11, 2013 10:57 am

      Beth, about 36 hours, give or take. I want them dry enough for dry storage, so I may be erring on the side of caution. A friend of mine dehydrates hers and then stores them in the freezer! That defeats my purpose, my freezers are getting FULL 🙂

  3. September 11, 2013 6:28 pm

    Winter is coming. We are planning to light the stove for the first time Saturday morning. Hope the CX chicks out on pasture do well.

    • September 11, 2013 7:01 pm

      HFS, yeah we had to build a fire last week, I needed to dry my clothes before it was time to go out and do more chores. The rain felt good though since we hadn’t really had any to speak of since mid-June. I sure didn’t want to light that first fire though. It’s about 97 today, so we’re getting a little more summer.

  4. September 12, 2013 2:29 am

    I love prunes, too, so you’re not alone. When our plum tree finally makes plums, I’m going to go for it and not look back! 🙂

  5. September 12, 2013 12:36 pm

    Back to the barn roof! Did you pull then re-install shakes? Did you pull shakes and go with tin? you saved the nails for recycle and barnyard hygiene? Sheathing, was it OSB? Just for a working surface? If it was installed, what was the logic using OSB if using tin or shakes? What did you do with the old shakes, siding or kindling or bonfire? The roof is a critical part of the barn. I can learn from your choices and personal experience. It might be a “guy thing but I wanted to know more.

    Thanks for your blog effort. I come and go as a reader. I am certainly a fan from out east (Fossil, OR).

    kderby

    • September 12, 2013 3:36 pm

      Kderby, staccato-like answers to match your questions: We’re using the shakes for siding on a different building. We used 3′ Magna Rib metal 40 year metal roofing,from Metallion. Nails will be recycled and we’re anal about picking them up – hardware disease,you know. As for sheathing we had a lot of wood up there with 2 x 6’s for the shakes, but we had a few mishaps and on the second side we did use some OSB, safer work surface, not as expensive as plywood and with a safer work surface, the project is going faster because of that. Any shakes that weren’t good enough for siding, split or too small went into the kindling pile and we shared a some with neighbors who had a need for kindling. If I had to do it again, I would use OSB or plywood on the whole thing. Hey, it’s my barn, so it’s definitely not just a “guy” thing 🙂

Leave a Reply

