Skip to content

Another Good Interview

October 24, 2013
tags:

100_6240
Think you’ve heard everything Joel Salatin has to say, here’s another great article.  Read it here.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. susan permalink
    October 24, 2013 9:07 am

    Thanks for the great link.

  2. October 24, 2013 11:11 am

    Yes, I hadn’t heard of this guy, but I like his ideas.

  3. Bev permalink
    October 24, 2013 3:26 pm

    Wow! Excellent article. Joel’ s #15, last paragraph says it all. I do get so tired of all the entertainment hype that goes on in our daily media. Gosh, who cares! He talks so much commen sense and truth.

  4. October 24, 2013 4:45 pm

  5. October 25, 2013 4:37 am

    “The server is temporarily unable to service your request due to maintenance downtime or capacity problems.” Sigh…

  6. October 25, 2013 9:43 am

    OK, I’m going out on a limb to criticise Michael Pollan. Bear with me. I love him and what he does and stands for. However, here’s my gripe. It’s time to admit that a free market does not fix every problem with the system.
    When he argues that to avoid GMOs all we have to do is buy organic foods, I have two thoughts:
    1) Organic labeling has regulation behind it. that is WHY we can trust it (as much as we can trust it). I am fairly sure I have heard him argue against that in other instances.
    2) Organic is expensive and goes beyond not containing GMOs. I bet a lot of foods are/could be GMO free without being organic, and maybe that would be more affordable/easier to obtain for some who may not (yet) see the benefit of no pesticides, etc. but do feel like they don’t want to consume GMOs.

    For the record, I have read his book ‘Everything I want to do is illegal’ and in it, he makes a lot of sense. He has done wonderful things for the local food movement.

    • October 25, 2013 9:49 am

      Are you mixing up Pollan and Salatin? Either way, I agree there is no easy fix, and not to be a wet blanket, but people don’t really want a fix, life is too easy. Instead of trying to make everyone change what they’re doing, I think we need to be the change ourselves. That’s why we grow most of our own food. If my neighbor won’t buy an egg from me because it came from a country hen’s butt, then that her preference and funeral to buy eggs only from a store. She doesn’t want to know that all eggs come from some chickens butt somewhere.

      • October 25, 2013 10:20 am

        Gee, yes. How embarrasing. I really don’t do names well, do I? With respect to GMOs we’re so far past a point of no return. We have no free choice if buying regular soybeans fromthe grainmill and planting it is illegal.

  7. October 25, 2013 9:48 am

    To add is that I love a lot of his other points, especially #18. I so believe he is right!

  8. October 25, 2013 11:17 am

    If you’re trusting factory farm organic foods you’re a fool. They have as many chemicals on them as “conventional” factory farms. These chemicals are just approved as organics. Organic is a stolen word that our wonderful government stole and regulated so the industrial food system could get in on the act. Most supermarket organics are ground on ground that was previously “conventional” food ground. All the growers need to do is leave those fields fallow for 2 years and low and behold they are now organic fields. You need to know your farmer or grow your own. A lot of local farmers in my area, New Hampshire, don’t bother to get certified organic because it’s a crock of crap. They will use other designations that aren’t yet stolen by the government.

    • October 25, 2013 11:38 am

      Agreed! But the organic label does prohibit GMOs. And no local farmer nor I will grow grains here in New England, so unless I switch to a no-grain diet I want to be able to buy them non-GMO.

  9. October 25, 2013 1:14 pm

    Kathrina,
    Go to the web sight Northern Grain Growers Association and it will give you a list of local grain growers in New England. That isn’t all of them but it will help you out.

  10. October 25, 2013 1:32 pm

    Originally getting certified organic had nothing to do with the US government. There were outside bodies that did that. Like I said before the US govt. stole the term. You don’t need govt over sight. Peer oversight, which is what the original certified organic designation was works better because you are getting a designation from somebody who wants to keep the designation “clean”. The govt. hasn’t kept the term organic “clean”.

  11. October 26, 2013 3:04 am

    Finally got to read the interview. I just managed to get a hold of a copy of “Lunatic”. I was struck by Joel saying his most passionate book was “Illegal”. I thought Lunatic was his best book yet. It will be a while before our library system gets his new book.

    • October 26, 2013 5:43 am

      Pam, I would have to say now I think Fields of Farmers is his best. I was surprised at the illegal comment too, but he’s been the one fighting for so long so it makes sense.

Leave a Reply

