Skip to content

Book Review – Eating on the Wild Side

November 1, 2013

I am finally getting around to writing the review for Eating on the Wild Side, The Missing Link to Optimum Health by Jo Robinson.

Jo
I have to come clean too, I know Jo and her wonderful sister, Frances,  personally.  They are the ones who keep the Eat Wild website up and running.  So you would think that I am going to write a slanted book review for my friend.  Buddy deal sort of thing.  Well, it’s precisely because I do know Jo and her tenacity for good research that I am writing a true non-biased review of her latest book.

I received my copy in the summer, and promptly read right through from cover to cover.  Not unusual for anyone here in this household of avid readers.  As I was reading, I found a lot of good information that was put together in an easy to read format.  Good for the gardeners who may want to bump up their game, or CSA managers who have to pore over seed catalogs, and also for consumers too.  Don’t worry, you folks who don’t buy from CSA’s or at farmers markets, Jo includes tips that you can use at the store too, and her take on organics may surprise you.  It  may not be in your best interest to buy organic on some items and Jo explains it all in layman’s terms.

What I found throughout the summer, and part of the reason this review is so late in coming, is that I have been referring to this book as I have been harvesting our crops.  Good lists of varieties to grow or buy and why, and tips on whether to eat raw, cooked or preserved for later benefit after the growing season.  Things I think we all know maybe, but having a book on the most nutritious foods and how to access them is wonderful.

All us are eaters, whether we grow our food or source it from somewhere else and a book like this ties us all together.

Jo will be a keynote speaker this year at the annual Acres, USA conference, held in Springfield, Illinois, December 12-14, 2013.  If you’re going, make sure to snag a seat and give Jo a listen, you won’t be sorry.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2013 11:03 pm

    I just finished this one as well! (It took awhile to get from the library since the wait-list was so long). Some great information, almost too much to absorb if you read it quickly. It probably is one that will have to become a reference book since I really want to try growing some of the suggested varieties!

  2. November 2, 2013 3:24 am

    Matron, I ordered that book for my son’s birthday in September, and read a bit of it before I put it into the mail for him. He’s a scholarly type, and I knew that he wouldn’t enjoy it if it wasn’t well-researched, so I was very happy to see the references in the back! Anyway, I got so excited about what I read that I ordered a copy for myself and am waiting for it to come so I can finish reading it. A little bit of knowledge is a dangerous thing!

  3. Jill Trachte permalink
    November 2, 2013 5:09 am

    We bought the book on your recommendation and use it as a constant reference.
    We’ve let a couple friends read it who now own their own copies. It just that good of a resource.
    If your going to put in all the work why not grow the most nutritious! And there were quite a bit of surprises on both varieties, storage and cooking.
    Thanks for the suggestion!

Leave a Reply

