Skip to content

OMGhee

November 1, 2013

Standard Milking Time changes this week just before the illusion of Daylight Savings Time wreaks its havoc.  Try getting a cow to read a watch.  I think they should just leave the clock alone, I joke about not having enough daylight, but actually there is no more daylight.  The cow will still be waiting to get milked when her time clock tells her.  So begins the gradual switch.  Jane is far enough into her lactation that I can tweak things a bit to fit the shorter days.

EOS_5060
Even though I have lights in the barn, I like to milk in the daylight.  Morning milking by light bulb is okay, but on dreary winter days, I like to be out and back in by 4:30 with everyone tucked in for the night.

EOS_5056

Come winter I like to be on a 14/10 milking schedule instead of the standard 12/12.  As long as Jane isn’t tight, it’s not a problem and it sure makes it a lot easier on the milk maid.

EOS_5031

EOS_5046

EOS_5040
Have I said I love to milk?  I think farmers are really the original foodies – how could you not be with fresh goodness everywhere you look.  The post title? That’s what my daughter said this morning when she opened the door for me when I was coming in with the morning milk.  I get up early and fix hubbie’s breakfast so he can go to work, and my daughter fixes our breakfast while I am finishing up chores outside.  “OMGhee?”  The taste of hash browns and eggs cooked with ghee.

butter soon to be ghee

butter soon to be ghee

23 Comments leave one →
  1. Wendy permalink
    November 1, 2013 12:11 am

    So how do you strain your ghee? I have tried a few things and haven’t come up with something I really like. I tried using flour sack towels but some milk solids still get through, the method I’ve used the most is milk filters, they keep the milk solids out of my ghee but it takes too long using the milk filters.

    • November 1, 2013 5:19 am

      Wendy, I’m new to making ghee, but cheesecloth seems to work the best, I’m using 4 thicknesses. I use muslin to strain my milk, but that didn’t work well – took too long and the ghee cooled and wouldn’t allow the resulting liquid to come through. For ghee I plan to store I am ladling it out of the pan, which insures I won’t get any milk solids in the jars, when I get down to the dregs I just pour it through, some milk solids will make it through, but I just use that bit for cooking and it’s gone before it could spoil. So far so good.

  2. November 1, 2013 12:16 am

    one word: yum!

  3. November 1, 2013 4:58 am

    How yellow the butter is – is it really that color?

    • November 1, 2013 5:20 am

      Lisa, yep that’s the real thing, the breed of cow makes a difference, and the feed, she’s on grass so that’s where the color comes from. Her butter is light compared to her Mom’s, so mileage does vary 🙂

  4. Eumaeus permalink
    November 1, 2013 7:36 am

    One day we will get set up to milk in a barn and leave the unpredictability of the open air and grass. One day we will have routines and animals that keep the flies down and I won’t even wear one of those mosquito nets on my head when I milk in the summer. And then, because I do love milking now, I will love milking more…

    I remember my sister came one day and asked what that was in a jug on the counter. ‘Milk’, I said. And she told us “that’s not what our milk looks like”. If you didn’t know ‘our’ american milk is pitch white.

    • November 1, 2013 7:58 am

      E, yes I think you will love milking even more. I’m still thinking that milking a wet cow is my least favorite thing, timing and minerals help with flies, but I haven’t figured out a way to stop the rain yet!

      My daughter calls store bought milk paint, because it looks like white paint.

  5. nikki permalink
    November 1, 2013 7:52 am

    Beautiful milk! Does the halter your cow is wearing rub her hair off? My cow’s halter leaves a gouge on her nose 😦 I was wondering if leather made a difference?

  6. Henny Penny permalink
    November 1, 2013 7:58 am

    I love your farm! I love your blog!

  7. Chris permalink
    November 1, 2013 8:17 am

    I know this is totally off topic, but from reading your blog from time to time it seems through your time and trials you have found what really works and what does not. I would really appreciate any advice or reference you can give for the name and make of a reliable, honest to goodness thermometer/hygrometer combo that really works and is speciaifically for a basement root cellar setup. Online I see so many and for such varying uses and varying costs, but none specifically for checking the temp and humidity of my basement root cellar area. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. This will be my first year with this endeavor. If it matters at all I live in the northeast US and do have a dehumidifier in my basement as it can start to smell during the summer months.Thanks for any advice you can give!

  8. Chris permalink
    November 1, 2013 8:51 am

    Thank you so very much for such a quick response and the additional advice. I spent so much time yesterday on line and in the end all I needed to do was request your advice. Thanks so much for all your sharing. Many folks seem to try to cash in on it, yet you freely offer your insights and advice. It is a joy to read your blog, following your journey through triumphs and the honesty of your trials and errors. Refreshing:)

  9. CopperBounty Ranch permalink
    November 1, 2013 10:39 am

    Oh for sure farmers were the first Foodies 🙂
    My oven-roasted garden tomatoes w/ olive oil, garlic, thyme; have my city-slicker executive-chef Sister drooling with envy! (Tomato idea from you, MOH!)
    Thanks muchly, I don’t out-cook my Sister often 🙂 lol.

  10. Racquel permalink
    November 1, 2013 11:04 am

    I am constantly amazed at your stamina and resolve. I don’t think I could keep up with you on a bet.

  11. Chris permalink
    November 1, 2013 3:41 pm

    Oh my Ghee is right! That is the most beautiful butter I have ever seen! I am so envious of the fresh, wholesome, lifestyle you have. I know that it is extremely hard work for you and your family but one that must be immensely satisfying at the end of every day! Your dedication to eat and grow good healthy food, your good stewardship towards your land and animals is admirable beyond measure! And you still find the time to freely share it with so many who can only benefit from your knowledge!
    My hat is off to you Nita, Hangdog and your daughter…what’s that funny name you call her? 🙂

  12. Chris permalink
    November 1, 2013 3:47 pm

    It’s Ruthless right? I remembered! 🙂

  13. Chris permalink
    November 2, 2013 7:23 am

    🙂

Leave a Reply

