Skip to content

Not Much to Say – Welcome to my Big Fat Disjointed Post

December 3, 2013
tags:

Just getting ready for the cold weather.  Thanksgiving was a bust meal-wise.  Hangdog didn’t feel well, so he put himself on a three-day fast, so I only ended up fixing cranberry sauce, brussels sprouts, and mashed potatoes.  There was some leftover sautéed chicken breast from his lunch chicken so that got a dollop of cranberry sauce, and we were good to go.  It actually was fine, the excessiveness of the coming holiday season is not in line with everything else we do.  So we cut wood instead, and spent the days before the big rain covering all the root crops in the gardens and bringing in other things we wanted to save, like brussels sprouts.  A self-employed friend of ours always complains that the holidays are so disruptive and he’s right.  Like anyone needs an excuse to buy more stuff.  Our Christmas present list is as boring as we are – I opted for some new fence posts, and new gate for the loafing shed (can’t wait to see that one once it’s built), some metal working tools for Hangdog, and a new waterproof blanket for the horse.  Needless to say, Black Friday didn’t have much to offer for our list.

36 hour storm

36 hour storm

It started raining Saturday night and didn’t stop until Monday morning.  I was worried about the drought like conditions in November, so I’m hoping this made a little difference.  Dry winters and springs are when our real droughts occur here in the Pacific Northwest.  Not the summer.

Sticky situation - barb wire and holly...

Sticky situation – barbed wire and holly…

We got some decorating done, a barbed wire wreath on the gate seemed fitting.  I still have to gather enough greens to make a wreath for the barn.

100_6481
I replenished all the root crop buckets before we started covering the rows so we should be good until the freeze is over.  Fingers crossed.

Devil dog

Devil dog

He thinks we don’t notice him there hiding under the deer netting…

Gilfeather "turnip"

Gilfeather “turnip”

EOS_5908
Beets and rutabaga rows before covering.

witching

witching

Trying to locate a drain that froze.  You think you know where a pipe is and then actually you realize that you don’t.  😦

EOS_5927
My least hardy kale – lacinato – I doubt it will make it through the  next cold spell.

100_6473
This task reminds me of patchwork – first you take a big piece of fabric and cut it into little pieces so you can sew it all back into a big piece again.  I brought in the brussels sprouts to prepare them for freezing, because if I left them out, they would freeze…

EOS_5975
Speaking of patchwork, this jag of wood is more than just a load of wood, it’s cedar kindling, alder, chestnut, apple, prune and fir.  Each to get spirited away for some different fire.  And that folks has been what we’ve been up to for the last week.

30 Comments leave one →
  1. goingplacesbr permalink
    December 3, 2013 9:52 am

    Love your comments-the dog “hiding”, the brussels sprouts to be frozen before they freeze. You are amazing…always work to be done and sounds like Hangdog pulled his weight despite feeling puny.

    • December 3, 2013 10:40 am

      B, he did! Another cord of wood for next year – a never ending job! Those dogs are a caution – opportunists just waiting for some veggies to fall their way 🙂

  2. michelle permalink
    December 3, 2013 10:06 am

    I wish I could make my Brussels Sprouts grow like yours. Mine are loose and leafy instead of tight, firm balls like yours. Any suggestions?

  3. Chris permalink
    December 3, 2013 11:59 am

    Wow hubby didn’t eat for 3 days? Just water?
    Your Brussels look amazing and yes, they did have crazy quilt look! 🙂
    Smart dogs! No fasting for them! 🙂

  4. December 3, 2013 12:07 pm

    and what a glorious week it has been, such bounty still coming in from the gardens.. c

  5. Lynda permalink
    December 3, 2013 12:13 pm

    You certainly have it all going on and so so organised. Our Christmas lunch is a little like your Thanksgiving. There are only 3 of us and we eat well all year and so what’s another meal, right? I make it special by asking what they would like. Last year we had Turkish. Not your normal Aussie Christmas lunch. Your Brussel Sprouts are amazing. I keep trying, just like i do with the carrots. There is so much to learn. I almost drowned my worms recently. Im so busy taking care of things and growing veggies i forget to harvest and use it OR i forget to turn on the tap and drain the worm tea.

  6. December 3, 2013 3:13 pm

    I am so envious of that row of Brussels sprouts. Someday, moh, someday…

    • December 3, 2013 4:47 pm

      That row is now defrocked, blanched and in the freezer – soon you’ll have a matching row 🙂

  7. Bee permalink
    December 3, 2013 6:23 pm

    I know what you mean about the Christmas list. It’s really hard to find several cubic yards of mulch or manure online…

  8. hennny penny permalink
    December 3, 2013 7:11 pm

    Do you ever rest? I love the falling snow flakes.

  9. December 3, 2013 7:49 pm

    Gorgeous gardens! Up here everything has to be yanked by the middle to the end of September or it’s compost. We don’t much bother with ‘celebrations’ either – I’m happy for phone calls from my kids and grandkids. Makes my day. My Christmas ‘wish’ list this year? Having hubby turn an old refrigerator into an even older icebox that uses cold outside air to keep the food at refrigerator temp. No Black Friday sales on that system up here either 😃

  10. Eumaeus permalink
    December 3, 2013 9:01 pm

    i’m writing by Christmas lights so it improves the spirit. you gotta do some kindling there. get your holly jolly on. it doesn’t have to be about shopping but it can still be magic right.

    And why is it snowing on your website? Is that my eyes? am I dizzy?

    I remember when my christmas list changed to these really exciting things: rock (gravel), metal (pannels), wood (fence boards, posts)… you can’t ask people for stuff like that or really give it… I’ve taken to telling people how unexciting we are too. But its just a ruse.

    • Eumaeus permalink
      December 3, 2013 9:03 pm

      And shoudn’t you be witching with some kinda wood? I’m gonna look into that. I want to say witch hazel but that just has to be because of the name.

      • December 3, 2013 10:30 pm

        Maybe hazel or witch hazel, or my dear departed brother’s rods…he showed me how. He used them a lot on job sites and my husband uses some at his work to do locates.

    • December 3, 2013 10:24 pm

      Yeah, we’ll get a tree pretty soon, gotta hang up my farm ornaments – butter churn, copper still, rubber boots, wheel barrow of manure, and tons of veggies and dragonflies. You know all the essentials.

      The snow feature is on the My Account page at the bottom – check the box for snow in the December.

  11. December 4, 2013 4:46 am

    After all this time I thought I knew all your clever tricks and now this. Divining! Really! We’ll have to talk about this.

    • December 4, 2013 6:16 am

      Rhonda, I have no confidence that I could find underground water like you would for well drilling, but it’s a skill that has been a godsend for locating pipes or old waterlines around here. Very handy indeed.

  12. Beth permalink
    December 4, 2013 10:20 am

    Love the snow! Is the fasting something you have ever posted about?? I am taking an old iron hayrack wheel to the welding shop in town and having a yard gate made out of it. Merry Christmas to me! I dread how much that little job will cost me. Beth in Ky.

    • December 4, 2013 1:49 pm

      Beth, I haven’t, but he is missing 3′ of his small intestine (long story about Western medicine)and fiber just kills him – my signal to quit offering him so many veggies 😦 Dutiful husband never complains about my cooking…sometimes to his own detriment.

      Ouch, I am glad the welder lives here, although I think this gate is going to cost a lot by the time he gets done with it. Metal is expensive, but Janie girl will have her a new gate, although I doubt the decorative aspect will make much difference to her. I’ll just be glad to have a gate that swings freely and isn’t tied on with baling twine :p That’s another long story about two steers in one hole at the same time with an aluminum gate :O Steers 2, Gate 0.

  13. December 4, 2013 11:07 am

    My sprouts froze. Sis said they were bitter at Thanksgiving. Stalks were 6′ tall too. Sigh.

    • December 4, 2013 1:43 pm

      Mine usually do too (outside) this year inside…bitter is usually cooked too long. I like cabbage it is much more forgiving on all counts.

  14. December 4, 2013 11:08 am

    Has anyone noticed that if you slowly move your cursor the snowflakes follow? Makes me homesick… in a good way.
    We unintentionally did a ebay purchase on cyber Monday… an animal trap! Whoopi!! For my recent birthday my husband gave me a pair of rubber boots. (No flowers allowed.) He actually came up with the idea on his own! 🙂
    Love this blog…

  15. ladybug41 permalink
    December 4, 2013 12:59 pm

    I do love that you spent Thanksgiving working like the little ants do.Preparing your food for the oncoming days.I enjoyed hearing about it no matter that others think its mundane work.I can only imagine your beautifil place that you two spend so much time to keep it producing the very best for your family.Thank You.

  16. December 4, 2013 10:27 pm

    I have to laugh… We are splurging this christmas – i told my husband i wanted a dozen cattle panels!

  17. Julie permalink
    December 5, 2013 12:37 am

    Christmas list looks a lot like mine!

  18. M in NC permalink
    December 5, 2013 6:02 am

    Years ago, my mother and I innocently drove down the road (3 miles?) to a small shopping center on the Friday after Thanksgiving. We were clueless and had NO IDEA there was such a thing as panic shopping on that day (that’s what it looks like). We never got out of the car and it took us 30 minutes perhaps to get out of the parking lot and drive home. Whew! Never again!

    I did do my Christmas Cheer shopping this Friday, at two small stores that were not packed with the crazies. The company I work for adopts several families in need from the local community, so I pick an elderly person and do my big shopping for them :). My family has simpler needs and we keep it small and ask what would be useful for each other.

    Your brussels look really nice and my mother would love some turnips. I’m hoping to try a few in a different raised bed in the yard this year.

    • December 5, 2013 8:59 am

      M, love this comment, everything is toy drive, toy drive, toy drive, and so many times the elderly get forgotten, I would like to see a drive at the holidays and all times actually for other goods, toiletries, and other consumables that are so expensive for folks on a fixed income.

Leave a Reply

