Skip to content

No Time to Cook

December 5, 2013

I have too much to do outside, 11°F this morning (in the barn) which translates to all the chores taking a little longer for each one.  Not to mention extra chores because of the cold.  Hubby has been on call since T-day and a couple of middle of the night forays have left him tired and cold, so I am elected to get the cold weather stuff out and where we can get our hands on said items.  Nothing like working in the dark to make you wish you had located the tire chains in the daylight!  So the crockpot is getting fired up today.  On the menu?  Beef Neck Roast on a bed of vegetables.  And flash pictures of said meal in the making… .

Carrots, onions, celeriac, and garlic

Carrots, onions, celeriac, and garlic

Pan seared beef neck roast

Pan seared beef neck roast

If there was a comfort food contest here, Beef Neck roast would win hands down if I was the judge!  Hopefully this will last a few days!

What’s your favorite comfort food?

30 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2013 10:30 am

    It looks delicious. I like that sort of food too. Something that will cook itself and be enough for a few days. I’d probably add some herb dumplings right at the end. xx

  2. Kathy permalink
    December 5, 2013 10:34 am

    My favorite comfort food is almost any homemade soups or stews!! My lamb stew is at the top with homemade bread! About your celeric, I’m reading many encouraging info on growing it. Could you please tell me more and the difference with celery, which I have not grown either! Thank you!

  3. Ben permalink
    December 5, 2013 10:44 am

    -11?? That’s crazy. We’re at 15 low here.

    • December 5, 2013 10:56 am

      There is no breeze at all, my friends down in Springdale are much warmer although they have to deal with that wind 😦 Root crops will be iffy is this keeps up 😦

      • Ben permalink
        December 5, 2013 4:39 pm

        Ah, not 11 below. Good. That would’ve been tragic.

        • December 5, 2013 4:46 pm

          I think I typed a dash instead of a comma and didn’t edit the post before hitting publish. Watching clouds move in as we speak – hoping they go south…

  4. December 5, 2013 11:34 am

    That looks like a delicious combination! I don’t have a favorite comfort food, but one afternoon last week I took some leftover roasted pork that had been very disappointing and experimented it into a soup that was the Best Thing Ever when I came in from chores that evening. It made me so darned HAPPY to have something so tasty (and hot!) to enjoy while waiting to thaw from the knees down.

  5. goingplacesbr permalink
    December 5, 2013 11:56 am

    We were able to hook up with a local beef farmer and purchased 1/8 cow….not much to some people’s idea but we have no idea how long that will last since we have never purchased quantity before. Anyway, I grabbed a package marked “neck bones for soup” and have that simmering with some onions, carrots, potatoes, herbs and some chanterelles and broth from processing last night after my daughter’s foraging. Will make dumplings later with chives.

  6. December 5, 2013 12:38 pm

    Slow cooker has lentil stew simmering as we speak – local lentils. I’m trying a new recipe, which involves a shallot/garlic/cream sauce that gets made stovetop at the last minute and stirred into the lentils before crumbling up some fried bacon over the dish. It’s snowing here, and about -2C, I love the slow cooker on days like this.

  7. December 5, 2013 2:32 pm

    Looks great. I love crock pot cooking!

  8. December 5, 2013 2:55 pm

    Yikes! 11 below! It’s supposed to get down to 0 tonight, and we’re crying like babies over it. I like any kind of soup to comfort me when it’s cold but especially Garlic Piperade, with hefty (hefty!!) doses of garlic and peppers. I wrote a blog post about it! http://vomitingchicken.com/garlic-piperade-soup-2/ Question: how did you manage the snow falling on your blog? Charming!!

    • December 5, 2013 3:23 pm

      Amy, thanks for catching that, 11F not 11 below, it doesn’t get that cold here on this side of the mountains!

      The snow is a WordPress thing available in December 🙂

  9. Bev permalink
    December 5, 2013 3:15 pm

    West of Mt. Shasta in Scott Valley it was 8 degrees. It’s 3 p.m. and it is 32 degrees, with the sun shining. More cold and snow on the way. Your roast looks so good. Our favorite is beef stew and dumplings.

  10. Beth Greenwood permalink
    December 5, 2013 5:58 pm

    Chili for dinner tonight with venison burger for the meat. We aren’t as cold temperature-wise (only 22 this morning) but there’s been a north wind blowing right up the canyon, which makes it bloody cold. We put a heavy blanket on the stud horse tonight — he’s coming up on 27 and gets a little chilly — and the cow that’s in with him right now was downright insulted ’cause she didn’t get one, too. She kept sneaking up on him and sniffing the blanket until he decided she was planning a blanket theft. Pinned his ears back, showed his teeth and she decided she was probably warm enough. I laughed ’til I cried.

  11. December 5, 2013 6:07 pm

    That looks yummy! I love my slow cooker. I’ve had a chicken and wild rice soup going in it for the last two days. I just add more of my home made broth if it starts to get low. Cold days and nights need hot foods to keep you going. I need to go raid my freezer to see if I have a beef cut like that. I know I have beef roasts, but don’t remember ever seeing one that was the neck roast.

  12. December 5, 2013 6:26 pm

    I know what you mean about things taking longer. i was gathering eggs with hands so frozen I could not feel the eggs in my fingers. Where oh where are my big winter gloves!? We are below freezing for at least the next 10 days.. every time we go out we take hot water to put in the buckets for the pigs (who leave no bucket unturned so are not allowed an electric one). Ah well.. it is winter!..c

  13. ladybug41 permalink
    December 5, 2013 6:30 pm

    Yummy,heart warming food to warm you up after frozen chores.Keep warm when you can.

  14. Chris permalink
    December 5, 2013 8:23 pm

    I have never heard of beef neck roast but it looks delicious! What cut would be comparable and do you add any liquid to the pot?
    Stay warm when you can!

    • December 6, 2013 6:54 am

      Chris, nothing like it, but chuck roast may be close…I did, I rummaged around in the fridge for some tomato something. I came up with about a half of a pint of salsa and a the dregs of a pint of tomato sauce, dumped them in, rinsed the jars and put that rinsed jar tomatoey goodness in the pot. Maybe a quart of liquid then?

  15. Eumaeus permalink
    December 5, 2013 9:05 pm

    cheese is comfort food for me. my parents used to tell me that if i ate a slice of cheese before bed then i wouldn’t wet the bed at night. i don’t believe in my parents anymore but I still believe in cheese.

  16. CopperBounty Ranch permalink
    December 6, 2013 12:10 am

    I love stew with dumplings; beef stew, chicken stew, even have had wild rabbit and grouse (Prairie Chicken relative) stew – light coloured and delicate, wonderful with warm biscuits and butter!
    I’m going to take this opportunity and make you all feel lucky for 3F outside; up here in northern Alberta it is currently -31 F, and has been for 5 days, along with snow thigh-high already.
    My kids have to feed their project steers outside 2 times a day, and I do the chickens and cats etc.
    I dress in insulated coveralls, with a downfill jacket on top and gauntlet leather mitts, top it off with a fur hat with fold down ear flaps . All this and my nose hairs still freeze! 🙂 Seriously.

  17. Carole permalink
    December 6, 2013 4:22 am

    Slow cooked belly pork in tomato-y, mustardy, sweet and sour sauce, and the skin goes all gelatinous and the fat goes gelatinous and the meat melts and … Oh I’m startin’ to droole!! Served with baked potatoes and greens on day 1, Padded out with white beans, onion and celery on day 2, shredded into burritos on day 3 (If there’s any left)

  18. Beth in Ky permalink
    December 6, 2013 6:57 am

    On a cold day, anything soupy/stewy with some fresh baked bread. I made a batch of fridge rolls last week and froze 4 roll portions for the hubs & I. And why I never thought of doing this before……………It’s been raining steady for 24 hours here on the southern border of Ky, but at least the snow is supposed to miss us.

  19. Wendy permalink
    December 6, 2013 7:55 am

    lamb and apple stew – big chunks of lamb shoulder, sweet potatos, white potato, carrots, parships, apple and onion in beef stock – slow simmer for hours.
    followed closely in favoritism by seared round steak or chuck roats with everything but the apples

    if I have time to for more cooking chicken and dumplins – home made everything, including the stewing hen (pressure cooked)

  20. December 6, 2013 10:50 pm

    Bolognese and pasta is my quick and warming meal. Ground beef, whatever vegetables I choose to throw in there, maybe some beans, tomato sauce of some description and thrown into the slow cooker to await the time it is needed or made in the pan if we need it faster. If any gets left over then just throw a few more things into it or put it on dough for a bolognese pizza with cheese on top.

    Wish we had more beef around here, just off to the local pork butchers this morning. Pork we can get, beef definitely not

  21. December 6, 2013 11:04 pm

    my favorite comfort food is winner winner chicken dinner- roast chicken with mashed potatoes and gravy and peas, and apple gallette for dessert. I’m also pretty partial to rouladen, rotekohl (braised red cabbage) and spaeztle. oh man. good thing i’m fulla pizza.

  22. December 8, 2013 3:35 pm

    Last night it was 20 degrees here and the comfort food was meatloaf and mashed potatoes. Normally there would be left overs but not this night! It was all gone :/ I’ve never had beef neck but it sure looks and sounds good!

  23. December 8, 2013 7:07 pm

    First cold spell of a Cajin family life calls for big bowl of rice and gumbo with chicken, pork, and kielbasa sausage. A great pone of cornbread with butter to boot! Can’t beat it!,

  24. October 23, 2014 10:05 pm

    I just found your blog and I’m loving it! I live on a farm (not really a homestead) about 45 min east of you (30 min straight north of hood river in Trout Lake). Your lifestyle is inspiring. I can’t say that I have the desire to grow all of my own food, but I would love to eat as locally as you do, buying ingredients that we don’t raise from other farmers. We raise beef, heritage turkeys and eggs to sell, plus we have a small garden and some fruit trees for ourselves. This is the end of our third year here, so our learning curve is still steep, but the business is starting to take off. You said you’ve been doing this for 30 years? That’s amazing! I was curious, do you butcher your own beef or take them somewhere? If you take them to a butcher, who do you use? We’ve been using Malco’s Buxton Meats (we have to use a USDA butcher in order to sell meat). I’m not impressed with them, but I haven’t heard great things about other butchers in the area, either.

    I’m very intrigued by your success with dry land farming. We get less rain here, about 20″ to 30″, lots of that in snow (though less and less snow each year). We also have loamy sand soil, which is as sandy as it gets without being pure sand. I’m curious, do you think dry land farming would work here? Crop irrigation usually starts in mid-April, with breaks during rainy weather. Rain can happen as late as June, though. Also, I noticed that you don’t mulch. You mentioned dirt mulch. What is that? Do you have a post about it?

    I’m also curious about farming with a child. I have a 7-month old boy and I felt very confined to the house this summer. It was a lot harder to get out and work than I thought it would be. Did you have a hard time when your daughter was an infant?

    • October 24, 2014 9:59 am

      Hi “neighbor”, beautiful area you live in for sure! We take our beef to Marks in Canby, USDA also, but that adds an extra 35 – 40 miles for you, but it is mostly freeway instead of the backroads to Sandy. Buxton is closer to us, but I’ve never taken an animal there, some people like it and others swear it’s the worst place ever. Pretty touchy subject all around for sure.

      You should try to read up on anything Steve Solomon has written on the subject, this is a good place to start:
      http://www.soilandhealth.org/03sov/0302hsted/030201/03020100frame.html
      And if you’re in Hood River, contact these farmers, they do a little dryland.
      https://www.facebook.com/saurfarming

      As for the child thing, my daughter was born in the winter during our “slow” time, so I was housebound a bit and quite comfortable I might add for a few months. But I worked fulltime off farm then, and after maternity leave was over, I went to work, and my husband did childcare duties while farming. I farmed when I got home, the second shift so to speak. We managed, and we just made sure we took her with us to do everything. It does slow you down, but with backpacks, big wheel strollers etc, kids are pretty mobile and happy to be hanging out with their parent(s) outside.

Leave a Reply

