Skip to content

Ice on the Way

February 8, 2014
tags:

I keep this as my wallpaper to remind me of warmer days.  It helps when you’re slogging around in the snow.

summer days

summer days – insectary and medicinal row

EOS_2856
Summer come on!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2014 6:34 pm

    We got somewhere between 8 and 10 inches before the freezing rain started here in McMinnville.

    • February 8, 2014 8:19 pm

      Sounds like you guys really got hit 😦 I think we might have about 7″, plenty for us that’s for sure!

  2. A.A. permalink
    February 8, 2014 11:27 pm

    Strange weather over here, never had it like this. I for one will be really surprised if we’re not all dead in ten years or less.

  3. Mich permalink
    February 9, 2014 5:59 am

    No snow for us here in middle England but getting very fed up with being battered by strong winds and rain….so much rain 😦

  4. Chris permalink
    February 9, 2014 9:10 am

    Beautiful photos! Doesn’t seem like summer was ever here or will be here again BUT….No winter lasts forever, no spring misses it’s turn! 🙂

  5. Sarah permalink
    February 9, 2014 9:52 am

    Can I ask what sort of dill seed you use? I have been saving my own seed but it seems to just keep growing smaller and smaller.

  6. February 9, 2014 11:44 am

    That photo made me smile, it certainly is a good reminder of warmer days. We are having a weird winter this year, what little snow we had has nearly disappeared. It feels more like the end of March, early April than early February with no forecast for colder temperatures over the next two weeks either. Half of me wants to get ready setting seed away and the other knows that it is still too early for these parts. So next year, if you don’t mind will you lot share your snow, as that is what seems right for Latvia in winter. We are quite willing to share, we don’t necessarily want too much 😀

  7. Bee permalink
    February 9, 2014 4:51 pm

    I think I’d rather have the 4.5 inches of rain we’ve gotten in the last 36 hours than your ice storms and snow, thanks. We’re still about 15 inches shy of our normal rainfall. However, we do have manzanita blooming, so spring is on the way. Guess I’ll go put on my yellow Pillsbury Doughboy outfit and feed critters; I may not be fashionable, but I’ll be semi-dry!

  8. February 9, 2014 6:15 pm

    Wait till we’re roasting this summer, and we’ll be gazing back at our snow pictures longingly! My husband really hates the cold and doesn’t tolerate it well, but I have a much harder time with the heat. I guess we make a good team!

  9. Lonna J. permalink
    February 11, 2014 8:01 am

    I am ordering my vegetable seeds and flower seeds right now while waiting for the snow. I love this picture of your flowers. Can you name some of those flowers? I would love to have a row or two of these in my garden. Thanks.

    • February 11, 2014 8:38 am

      Lonna, I just went through my herb and flower seed container and planted everything that was outdated, there is about 3 kinds of calendula from medicinal to showy, bachelor buttons of all colors, couple kinds of dill, cilantro, zinnia, and cosmos. Some were spotty germinating and some came up gangbusters, the pollinators love it.

      • Lonna J. permalink
        February 11, 2014 3:06 pm

        Thanks for the info. Last year I planted one row of marigolds. Pretty but a little boring. Thanks again.

        • February 11, 2014 4:40 pm

          Lonna, I stick flowers in everywhere I can find a spot, not that I don’t like the look of nice straight vegetable rows, but the flowers are pretty nice. As for your row of marigolds, you gotta good start!

Leave a Reply

