Skip to content

I Cannot Tell a Lie

February 16, 2014

Ghee makes the most wonderful pie crust!

for my valentine

for my valentine – cherry pie

EOS_7743
EOS_7758

EOS_7756
EOS_7763
EOS_7776
EOS_7779
EOS_7791
EOS_7793
EOS_7795
EOS_7806
EOS_7824

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2014 1:11 pm

    Just beautiful!

  2. Bee permalink
    February 16, 2014 1:29 pm

    OK, now, you can’t toss out a comment like that and not add a recipe! Especially since I’ve never made pie crust with ghee (I’ve made it with vodka, though, and that’s about as foolproof as it gets!). The pie looks gorgeous, by the way.

    • February 16, 2014 4:31 pm

      Bee, ha ha recipe? What’s that? It’s news around here if I follow a recipe, but I just used my standard 2 cups of AP flour, and about a cup of salted butter, plus maybe a 1/4 cup of cold water, and substituted the ghee for the butter. It’s not as flaky as butter, but it tasted very good. Does rhubarb wine count if you drink it and don’t put it in the crust? I realized when I was making that thing that I won the cherry pie baking contest in high school 40 years ago :p Seems like yesterday!

      • Bee permalink
        February 16, 2014 7:32 pm

        Pies and cakes are the only foods for which I use recipes (and I avoid wine of any sort when making them, or I can’t follow the recipe:-) I tend to be heavy-handed with the flour when I make pie crust, but this recipe (I think I stole it from Cook’s Illustrated) can turn anyone into a pie baker:

        Foolproof Pie Dough
        2 ½ cups flour
        ½ tsp salt
        2 Tbs sugar
        12 Tbs cold unsalted butter, cut in ¼ inch slices
        ½ cup cold lard, cut into 4 pieces
        ¼ cup cold vodka
        ¼ cup ice water

        Process 1 ½ cups flour, salt and sugar in food processer until combined. Add butter and lard, process until it looks like cottage cheese. Scrape bowl and redistribute dough evenly. Add remaining flour, process until evenly distributed (4-6 quick pulses). Empty into medium bowl, sprinkle with vodka and water. Mix with rubber spatula until dough is lightly tacky and sticks together. Divide evenly, flatten into 4 inch disks, wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate at least 45 minutes or up to 2 days. Can also be frozen for at least 6 months.

        The vodka affects the absorptive ability of the water. Even if you use all the liquid, you can add quite a bit of flour when rolling out the dough and it still makes great pie.

  3. February 16, 2014 2:04 pm

    oh man- I want some!!!

  4. February 16, 2014 2:48 pm

    Oh, my mouth is watering.

  5. cathylee permalink
    February 16, 2014 3:32 pm

    That’s a beautiful pie.

    Do you think the ghee is better than butter in pie crust? I have seen comparisons with shortening and butter for pie crust and it usually comes down to better flavor and flakier with butter, but crust holds up a bit better, easier to work with shortening. The happy compromise of butter and shortening being best. The flakiness from butter supposedly comes from the water which creates steam pockets (that the flakiness is attributed to). Maybe the ghee has enough moisture to approximate the flakiness and certainly should have a flavor advantage over shortening. I just use butter because I don’t keep shortening in the house and I think my rendered lard might not taste right. Lard at our local stores has some hydrogenated fats (think trans fats). So I don’t use that.

    You’ve certainly convinced me that I want a milk cow so hopefully I’ll have excess butter in a year or so. I’ll have to sell my beef heifer since our pastures are limited but I’m excited about getting a milk cow.

    • February 16, 2014 4:35 pm

      Cathylee, thank you and no I don’t think it was better than butter, but the ghee has been handier than the butter in the freezer so I thought I would try a little experiment. It’s not as flaky and there is no moisture in the ghee as that is what you cook off in the making. It also wasn’t salted and I like salted butter in my crust. But all in all it turned out pretty good.

      I’m swimming in cream these days and it’s pretty nice for a change, I’m going to miss that come time to dry up the cow 😦

  6. Jennifer permalink
    February 16, 2014 3:49 pm

    Oh my!!!! How I’m going to long for that cherry pie. Lucky you and your valentine.

  7. Shannon Gene Templeton permalink
    February 16, 2014 3:57 pm

    Beautiful, never would have thought of using ghee.

    Shannon

Leave a Reply

