Skip to content

Gardening Ins and Outs

March 25, 2014

Even with a greenhouse to get gardening started, late March gardening moves at a snail’s pace here in the Cascade foothills.  Slow but sure, some of my direct seeded greenhouse crops are making a showing.

Spring Treat snap peas

Spring Treat snap peas

I stuck my neck out and seeded peas, beets, carrots, kohlrabi and filet beans on March 12.  So far the kohlrabi, beets, peas and a few beans are making a showing.  Not a peep out of the carrots or the potatoes I planted the same day, but that is to be suspected with those two anyway.

Merlin F1 beets

Merlin F1 beets

Kolibri F1 kohlrabi

Kolibri F1 kohlrabi

Outside,  even less is happening.  Hope springs eternal though in the garlic row.

Music garlic

Music garlic

And hope springs eternal in the gardener…I did get a chance to do some ground breaking yesterday.

EOS_8324
Edited to add – this afternoon the carrots, potatoes and beans showed up!  In the volunteer department the naturalized cilantro and orach also peeked out.  Woot!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2014 12:09 pm

    Yup. Our garden is full of hope and manure. Not much else.

    I should run for office on that platform. Hope and Manure.

  2. March 25, 2014 12:09 pm

    Love it. It’s always so exciting to see the first things come up from the ground.

    Excited to see more.

    Valerie
    Cottage Making Mommy
    http://www.lovingmyheartandhome.blogspot.com

  3. Bee permalink
    March 25, 2014 12:20 pm

    I know what you mean; garlic and chard are the two big green things in my garden at the moment, with green onions following and snow and snap peas bringing up the rear. Oh, and some cole crops — cabbage, broccoli, etc. Regular peas are not doing well at all, and I’m not sure why. I probably won’t try to replant them, as the temperatures will start to heat up any time now. I sure envy you those greenhouses! If I had a greenhouse I could seed the cool-season stuff at least a month earlier and beat our quick-arriving summers. Ah well, we make up for it on the other end when you’ve got frost and I don’t…

    • March 25, 2014 12:45 pm

      Bee, man our chard bit the dust hard last December, normally it makes it through like the kale, enough so, I don’t have to protect it for seed saving. Not this year 😦

      You would love one, but I always tell people be careful what you wish for – I’m irrigating and weeding already. Sigh poor me… 😉

      • Bee permalink
        March 25, 2014 1:36 pm

        Oh, I know, once I had a greenhouse, I’d be grumping about the extra workload and fussing because I couldn’t get everything I wanted into it. There’s just no pleasing us, is there? Of course, I’d also be singing its praises when we get hit with a freeze and snow in the last week of April, as happened a couple years back. All in all, I think I’d rather have it to grump about just so it could save my bacon when old Brother Wind throws a late spring curveball at me.

  4. March 25, 2014 2:27 pm

    Garlic, sorrel, leeks and two lone kale plants here, a rhubarb starting to sprout, and garlic chives. I started cooking up dandelion greens in determination to use food from our own land, although it didn’t increase the percentage by a lot.
    The greenhouse babies are getting big enough to look real but nowhere near big enough to eat yet, and there’s a pot of miner’s lettuce in the greenhouse, although it doesn’t want to be cut back hard. Did get some things transplanted outside; mustard greens, lettuce, couple of cabbages, some broccoli that’s not looking like it’s going to make it, and a handful of beautiful little pea starts. Also strawberries. Moved a few strawberries into the greenhouse too, hoping for an early harvest. High time to start more seeds; I’ve fallen behind.
    In the meantime, I’m reminding myself to focus on using up those pantry items; that’s why they’re there!

  5. March 25, 2014 4:11 pm

    yahoo! love the sproutlings!!!!! Seeding beans in MARCH-dreamy!!!!!

  6. Barb in CA permalink
    March 25, 2014 5:58 pm

    Matron, for the beginning gardeners like me… is the mulch on your garlic just straw or something more? I so appreciate your willingness to share what you know!

    • March 25, 2014 6:03 pm

      Barb, it’s just straw and for weed control only since garlic spans two growing seasons it’s kinda hard to weed, or at least here anyway, it’s usually too wet to get on the soil, making weeding a pain. Pretty quick I’ll side dress with hen pecked compost and it’s good to go until harvest.

  7. epeavey1 permalink
    March 26, 2014 7:05 am

    For sure my raised beds are full of straw and chicken pooh way too cold to start anything, maybe by April 15th we can get started sure hope so.

  8. March 27, 2014 6:56 am

    My garden is already negected.

    I’m more into animals than plants. What can I say?

Leave a Reply

