Skip to content

First Salad

April 4, 2014

I have to say seasonal eating brings you some highs and lows.  Come fall I am ready for roots and winter squash.

Salad bed

Salad bed

Now I am ready for spring salads.  The mustards are stealing the show in the greenhouse while the lettuce lags behind.

Foggy Ruby Streaks and Joi Choi

Foggy Ruby Streaks and Joi Choi

I tend to plant my salad beds large so we can begin taking leaves from many plants to fill our salad basket.  The days are still short and oh, so cloudy; leaving more leaf behind will let these plants continue to grow even if I start harvesting.

Dandelion

Dandelion

A quick step into the timber will yield some miners lettuce (Claytonia perfoliata) to go along with the arugula, mizuna, bok choy, and dandelions from the greenhouse.  Spring is here for sure when you have mushroom omelets for dinner (egg bounty too) with salad as a side.  Bring on the abundance!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Charlotte permalink
    April 4, 2014 4:35 pm

    It’s official, I’m jealous! Enjoy your bounty 🙂

  2. April 4, 2014 5:00 pm

    Beautiful! I made the mistake of planting the mustard sprouts in the garden, along with some nice-sized lettuce starts. Byebye mustard greens … and lettuce …
    At least the starts in the greenhouse are looking good, but I wasn’t smart enough to save any of the mustard back. I did plant miner’s lettuce in there last fall, and now there are miner’s lettuce starts Everywhere. Apparently it spreads well. Good to know.

    • April 4, 2014 6:07 pm

      NM, start more if you have the seeds, I’ll go through 2 plantings of mustard, choy and arugula before the first lettuce plants are done. Plus they’ll bolt fast once the days start getting longer. I’ve got more waiting in the wings too, for succession plantings. Extras or bolting stuff just goes to the chickens 🙂

  3. April 5, 2014 3:51 am

    That sounds like the perfect meal! I’m anxiously awaiting the spring abundance here in Nebraska! (Do you use drip tape in your hoop house Matron?)

    • April 5, 2014 4:12 am

      Amy, hope it starts warming up soon there for you. Yes, I do have to irrigate in the hoop house, tape under the mulched rows and some is hand watered.

  4. connecttheknots permalink
    April 5, 2014 5:35 am

    Do you cultivate dandelions? I’ve heard the greens are becoming quite popular.

  5. Chris permalink
    April 5, 2014 7:22 am

    Nita, do you actually plant the dandelion, or does it just pop up voluntarily like it does everywhere else? Do you ever steam it like other greens or just use is raw in salads?

  6. bobbarnetson permalink
    April 5, 2014 6:17 pm

    Dreadfully jealous as the snow has just receded here; hoping for some cold frame salads in the next month. Enjoy!

  7. Shirley permalink
    April 6, 2014 6:21 pm

    Did you say mushroom omlet??? Are the morells up?

    • April 6, 2014 8:42 pm

      Shirley, I did, but they aren’t 😦 Gotta love the freezer, I still have some chanterelles socked away 🙂

      • mom24boys permalink
        April 10, 2014 11:35 am

        here in the south Willamette Valley, we have been harvesting morel out by our chicken pen. Yum!

        • April 10, 2014 12:11 pm

          Mom24boys, I just found a patch yesterday near the greenhouse…I haven’t seen morels here since I was a kid. Doesn’t mean they weren’t here, just that I probably missed them 😦 Nom nom!

  8. April 7, 2014 12:18 pm

    I don’t know why it didn’t occur to me to plant more mustard greens right away. Denial, maybe; didn’t want to believe I was really going to lose every last one. Will definitely plant some tonight. In general, however, I’m doing much better than usual with succession planting, and feeling pretty darn proud of it. Less well done; got the nightshades planted just last week (and a few to go tonight), shockingly late, and now will have to hope for the best. Another wonderful spring omelet; sorrel and potato. We picked the first delicious greenhouse radishes for salad this weekend, and the greens were very nice in soup. So satisfying, using all that goodness.

Leave a Reply

