Skip to content

Wrinkles Are Good

April 28, 2014

Call me crazy, but wrinkles on a four-year old are a good thing.

Drying up Jane

Drying up Jane

So is some fat on the short ribs.

100_7296
Now my challenge is to keep Jane from getting too fat in her dry period.  Too fat is as bad as too thin with a dairy cow.  It’s pretty amazing to see how fast a cow will gain weight when she’s not milking.  We are down to our last gallon, I quit milking on April 6th.  I will miss the all the milk and cream, but it’s kind of nice for both of us to have a vacation.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2014 8:35 am

    It is hard to read and maintain condition on dairy cows. The beef cows are much easier…in every way.

    Jane is looking pretty good and she’s slick already. Here’s to hoping for a heifer calf.

    • April 28, 2014 8:45 am

      HFS, fingers crossed for a heifer. You got that right on the beefers. I’m looking at two last year’s heifers that are slicking up now, of course they are the ones I was thinking of keeping anyway. Nice to see I’m not totally off base. Jane has little barre hair to lose, but it’s still April. I was amazed that she started to fill out about 4 days after I stopped milking.

  2. April 28, 2014 2:28 pm

    Can you freeze cream and milk?

    • April 28, 2014 3:47 pm

      Yes, cream freezes the best. But I need to get my freezers in order too before preserving season, so I decided to not freeze any this year. As much as I like the dairy products all the time, it’s not worth it to have another cow, the break is nice. Jane is liking her vacation as well. She’s on rear bagger duty mowing around the gardens since I kicked her out of the hayfield 😉

  3. Elizabeth permalink
    April 28, 2014 7:46 pm

    Wow your grass looks (in the background) so good. You must be about a month ahead of us…..

  4. April 28, 2014 7:48 pm

    Haha! Bet she’s enjoying that. I’m on freezer duty myself, trying to get things cleared out enough to defrost. Also the 20 year old fridge is in bad shape — plastic does not hold up — and needs replacing; we’re thinking of going with a fridge-only model, since it uses less electricity. So I need to clear that freezer out and steel myself to lose the extra room. I know it’s a luxury, but luxuries you’re used to are hard to give up. Should teach me to be more efficient, in theory.

  5. CassieOz permalink
    April 28, 2014 10:51 pm

    Nice wrinkles and a pleasantly sleek cow! Beautiful Jane.

    • April 29, 2014 5:04 am

      Cassie, I’m wishing I hadn’t screwed up and got her bred sooner last year – I’m missing some great grass for butter 😦 But it’s kinda nice to put all those jars away for a bit and have some relief in the dishwashing department.

Trackbacks

  1. Reading Condition in the Herd | Chism Heritage Farm

Leave a Reply

