Skip to content

This Morning in the “Garden”

April 29, 2014
tags:
Kale

Kale

Finally some kale is going to bloom.

bonafide Binder twine

bonafide Binder twine

row marking time

row marking time

100_7270

lawn mowers

lawn mowers

100_7302

100_7306

greenhouse/tack room

greenhouse/tack room

lunch time nap

lunch time nap

Now time for round two.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2014 11:50 am

    Wonderful. I am just waiting for the winds to take aa break and will be planting out some kale. I love your gardens, just beautiful. Round two for me too now. Back on with the gumboots.. c

    On Tue, Apr 29, 2014 at 2:43 PM, Throwback at Trapper Creek wrote:

    > matronofhusbandry posted: ” Finally some kale is going to bloom. Now > time for round two.”

  2. T.Valentine permalink
    April 29, 2014 4:46 pm

    What is the red mulch area growing?

  3. April 29, 2014 5:34 pm

    Beautiful! Transplanted onions, parsley, dill, peas and leeks into the garden, hoping they’ll provide enough alliums for the year. Last year my onions sat and refused to grow. Hoping to save some seed from the overwintered kale; still enjoying overwintered leeks, and the sorrel is going strong. New mustard green sprouts looking good, at least if today didn’t fry them while I was at work. Have learned my cabbage seedlings kept dying because I was keeping them in the greenhouse; will be replanting, third time! Live and learn, I guess. Got enough chard from the greenhouse bed to make a calzone; great excitement. Nice bit of spinach, and some gorgeous lettuce, too. Salad for supper!!

    • April 30, 2014 8:31 am

      NM, I know I’m quickly heading to the spot where I have too many starts and no place to put them. Eats lots of bok choy and quiche though, no shortage of eggs and greens! Eggs and greens are fast food!

  4. April 29, 2014 9:01 pm

    That’s beautiful. I can’t help but smiling when I see gardens coming together like that.

  5. April 30, 2014 3:50 am

    Really cool. Hope my wife doesn’t see this, then I’ll just have another project to do. Just kidding, I’ll do it if she asks, maybe for Mother’s Day or something like that.

  6. Beth in Ky permalink
    April 30, 2014 7:57 am

    Flooding rains in southern Ky. today but the garden is starting to show some signs of life…. been a slow discouraging spring so far.

  7. bunkie permalink
    April 30, 2014 8:52 am

    I was curious as to how you like the red plastic/mulch? Does it help the toms?

    • April 30, 2014 10:23 am

      Bunkie, it seems to work about the same as the green. I tried both last year and the results were the same. Our nights are so cool in the summer any type of mulch helps even in the hoophouse. Plus it sure cuts down on the weeding 🙂

  8. S,Lynn permalink
    May 1, 2014 5:38 pm

    I’ve searched your site for info on your greenhouse to no avail. Any recommendation?

Leave a Reply

