Skip to content

Slave Driver Most Definitely

May 5, 2014
Jane Butterfield

Jane Butterfield

Last week before the rains set in, I was able to get Jane’s roots planted.

Parsnip seed row in the distance

Parsnip seed row in the distance

Homegrown parsnip seeds in hand - the cycle is complete

Homegrown parsnip seeds in hand – the cycle is complete or starting over.

100_7352
I also had time to get the potatoes in, the old standbys and a few new ones.  New this year, Blue Gold and Desiree.

Ever wondered how long it takes to chew a cud?  Me and Jane ruminating on “stuff.”

 

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Fid permalink
    May 5, 2014 3:33 pm

    Hey, the link doesn’t work! Says it’s private. Lucy had a bull calf, Lorenzo, this past weekend. He’s just adorable! Give the pup a biscuit for me. 😉

  2. Rita permalink
    May 5, 2014 4:09 pm

    Oops, the video is set on “private”.

  3. May 5, 2014 6:25 pm

    Curious as to what you plant (if anything) for Jane – I was thinking sugar beets and maybe parsnips for our milker – not sure. My goats get tons of kale, willow, carrot tops and so on. Never noticed it showing up in the milk – though people wanted me it would.

    • May 5, 2014 8:01 pm

      I plant parsnips and carrots for her, I tried mangels (sugar beets) but they need lifting and storing, so carrots and snips I can leave in the ground and dig as needed. I know that isn’t an option for you so maybe digging and storing wouldn’t be a factor.

      • mumofteenagers permalink
        May 5, 2014 11:29 pm

        Great video – I had no idea they chew a mouthful for THAT long. But then that’s my ignorance.

  4. May 5, 2014 11:13 pm

    I like that first picture, you two really look like life-long friends!

  5. A.A. permalink
    May 5, 2014 11:41 pm

    Beautiful coat on Jane.

  6. May 6, 2014 12:10 am

    I love these posts. You and your partner. 😊

    Do you guys have ticks where you live? I noticed you sitting in the grass, a pleasure we can no longer have because of the situation we are having with Lyme infected ticks. It’s truly heartbreaking to have to he afraid to lean on a tree or rest in a meadow.

    By the way, Desiree are glorious!

    • May 6, 2014 5:04 am

      Tara, we don’t as a general rule, I have seen 2 in my lifetime on our dogs, but if it continues getting drier we may. Our little wet microclimate is what saves us, you don’t have to go many miles to get to tick country.

      I can’t wait for Desiree – it’s always fun to try a new variety.

  7. May 6, 2014 4:24 am

    How delightful. I plant for my chooks, though they do a pretty good job of finding their own greens. They are quite giddy when I bring out a big ole’ pumpkin or squash in the middle of the wintertime, though.

  8. May 6, 2014 5:47 am

    yikes, i am behind again, i have the parsnip seed and carrot seed too! I will sow them today.. we have had very little rain yet, which is a bit of a worry.. So i had better get out and water Daisy’s kale, she is going to have a very tasty summer thanks to this sensible idea of yours!.. c

  9. Chris permalink
    May 6, 2014 6:52 am

    What a peaceful lie down in the grass you and Jane were having…well, you lying down anyway! Love your boots! Where can I get those? 🙂 Do you ever save any potatoes of your own to replant or always buy fresh ones? Maybe they don’t store so well?
    That grass is gorgeous!

  10. bunkie permalink
    May 6, 2014 7:29 am

    Great ruminations there!!! Those shoes look mighty comfy, and resolable. too. Where did you find them?

  11. Ben permalink
    May 6, 2014 3:00 pm

    Ah yes. More boot talk! I ended up getting a pair of Rain Forests on sale last year. I really like them but they do get hot in the summer. Someday when I get a real job I’ll get a pair of Wescos too 😉 http://www.wescoboots.com/wesco/stock2010.asp

    • May 6, 2014 3:51 pm

      Excellent – hubby still has his from his logging days. Excellent boots! He’s wearing Carhartts now for work and they last him about a year of steady wearing. I should clarify he still has his “corks” (caulks)when you need them nothing else is a good substitute.

Leave a Reply

