Skip to content

Seeding, Planting & Eating

May 8, 2014

After just a few months of taking a break from gardening it seems now that there is no time to sit and rest.

100_7413
Seeding is on schedule and it’s hard to believe, but before I know it I will be starting brassicas for overwintering.  Ugh.

Tomatoes

Tomatoes

Peppers

Peppers

Celeriac

Celeriac

Peas in bloom

Peas in bloom

Note to self - don't mulch alone, the results are less than satisfactory.

Note to self – don’t mulch alone, the results are less than satisfactory.

Dinner

Dinner

Edited to add - Dinner for us, Jane!

Edited to add – Dinner for us, Jane!

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2014 1:27 am

    Heavens! And I thought I’d overdone it on tomatoes… That’s one hell of a lot of tomatoes. In your future I see much use of a preserving pan! 🙂

    • May 8, 2014 5:04 am

      Carrie, yeah I’m thinking I may have overdone it a bit…the plants in the flats are mostly sold and we’ve just about got ours planted. Indeterminates are in, maybe determinates today. It’s supposed to rain so more time to work in the greenhouse. Weeding and thinning…

  2. May 8, 2014 3:55 am

    I love these pictures. Are those collard greens? Here in Nebraska we are scrambling, too, to get the spring planting done. Getting the stomach flu in the middle of it all really set me behind a bit. But I’m so happy to be back on my feet, I won’t complain.

    • May 8, 2014 4:55 am

      Amy, ugh, not fun right in the middle of your busy time. Just more kale, after eating the mature stuff all winter, there is nothing like tender,fresh spring kale.

  3. Chris permalink
    May 8, 2014 7:16 am

    Wow! You could feed your whole town! 🙂 Did you grow all those tomatoes from seed? That is impressive!

  4. May 8, 2014 9:57 am

    Love the pics. We need to get our greenhouses up. We had the majority of our stuff in for this year and then I went to a conference and came home with 100 more seed packets. What was I thinking lol.

    Hugs,

    Valerie
    Cottage Making Mommy
    http://www.lovingmyheartandhome.blogspot.com

    • May 8, 2014 12:38 pm

      V, I know what you mean, I’m at the point where I think I have too much space to fill and then OMG I don’t have enough space!! Depends I guess on if I’m weeding or seeding 😉

  5. Chris permalink
    May 8, 2014 11:24 am

    🙂

  6. May 9, 2014 6:50 am

    Beautiful farm…You certainly have a love of the land!

  7. mumofteenagers permalink
    May 11, 2014 1:19 am

    Simply magnificent!

Leave a Reply

