Skip to content

First Calf

May 20, 2014

Calving watch has started.  I fear the calving season will be stretched out a bit this year after last year’s two bull breeding season.  The first calf could have arrived on May 12th so four days later is normal.  A pretty heifer calf born to Lula, who is Jane’s aunt.

heifer born May 16, 2014

heifer born May 16, 2014

100_7482
Of course every one of the youngers wants to know why I’m sitting in the grass.    They just can’t resist checking me out while I’m checking the new calf.

100_7485
I like cattle.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    May 20, 2014 10:27 am

    Awe…welcome lil lula! 🙂 this must be your favorite time of the year!!

  2. Fid permalink
    May 20, 2014 11:00 am

    Congratulations! I like cattle too. 😉

  3. Bee permalink
    May 20, 2014 11:56 am

    Pretty baby! Funny, how it never fails, when you go out in the pasture, everybody wants to come check you out. I irrigate with the broodmare, her new stud colt and the two-year old hanging by my elbow. In the other pasture, it’s the three cows and the new heifer. In the third pasture, it’s the stallion, who figures the only reason I’m out there is to scratch all his itchy spots. I really don’t need to be supervised, gang, although I do (mostly) enjoy the company.

  4. A.A. permalink
    May 20, 2014 12:42 pm

    ❤ Happy times, if not sleepy times.

  5. May 20, 2014 3:43 pm

    Congratulations! It is so fun to welcome these fresh smiling faces to the farm each year. Our first calf of the year arrived on Sunday. A dun Dexter bull. We named him Norman. Cows just make me smile- :0)

  6. Allisa Imming permalink
    May 20, 2014 5:51 pm

    I love watching the curiosity of animals with humans. It’s a strong statement that your cows are one with you. The interdependencey is fascinating. Congrats on your new baby, Mama.

  7. May 20, 2014 5:54 pm

    Gorgeous!

  8. May 20, 2014 9:00 pm

    I agree…They are gentle courious creatures…

  9. May 20, 2014 9:50 pm

    What a well behaved herd. And the mother cow isn’t trying to get you while you mess with her calf. How nice is that!

    • May 21, 2014 4:57 am

      Nice! We’ve had a few of those…not fun. It helps that I make the dogs stay away during calving too.

  10. dkswife permalink
    May 21, 2014 12:40 am

    I like cattle too…especially my Jerseys 🙂 There is something so calming about watching them graze, and having them come up to my husband and I and giving us cow “hugs”. You know the kind where they wrap there head around your leg? That’s what we call a cow hug 🙂

  11. May 21, 2014 7:31 am

    Very cool! Do you do any kind of parasite management, besides rotational grazing and good feed/supplements?

    • May 21, 2014 11:59 am

      Adalyn, those things work the best for the grazing season and having winter feeding areas designed too so manure isn’t being deposited in mangers etc., plus clean, fresh water daily in clean troughs.

  12. May 21, 2014 1:23 pm

    Very cute and oh so sweet!

Leave a Reply

