Skip to content

A Few Garden Pics

May 26, 2014

Always late to the party…despite my skepticism the transplanted corn is doing well.  Tender little transplants like corn are a pain, but the plants are taking right off.  This will give me a leg up and help me avoid cross-pollination issues.

Cascade Ruby-Gold flint corn

Cascade Ruby-Gold flint corn

Sweet Meat winter squash

Sweet Meat winter squash

Red-cored Chantenay carrots

Red-cored Chantenay carrots

The second planting of Jane’s carrots was successful! And the direct seeded Sweet Meat squash are up!

Peter Wilcox potato

Peter Wilcox potato

All the potatoes are up and in need of weeding and hilling.  Garden season is in full swing now.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Ben permalink
    May 26, 2014 12:41 pm

    Ah ha! You transplanted corn! We did too actually, I’m not sure I’m sold yet, we’ll see how they do. Seeing those long tap roots coming out of the bottom of the blocks was slightly heart wrenching 😉

    • May 26, 2014 1:13 pm

      Ben, me either, but it was worth a shot. Pam Dawling says they put their flats over water so the roots stretch down to that…I used a 200 plug tray, and elevated the insert and got them out of there before they touched. Don’t really think this will be habit for me, although Diana has been doing it for about 5 years now and it works for her.

      • Ben permalink
        May 27, 2014 1:13 pm

        I have some trays that are just hardware cloth bottoms, maybe I’ll use those next time. Coleman says it ‘air prunes’ them. Most plants do fine and we get them into the ground asap, but if the roots haven’t filled the blocks then it can be sketchy. The corn tap roots grew out of the block and then along the bottom of the tray…

  2. Margaret Huth permalink
    May 26, 2014 1:56 pm

    How much lime do you put at the bottom of each Tomato ? Thanks Margaret

    • May 26, 2014 2:32 pm

      Margaret, about 3/4 to 1 cup per plant, I didn’t do any this year in addition to what I applied to the soil before planting…so we’ll see if I made a mistake or not. Last year I did one row with added lime and one without, no blossom end rot on either row so I decided to drop that. Time will tell.

Leave a Reply

