Skip to content

Rainy Day = Greenhouse Work

June 14, 2014
getting ready for melons

getting ready for melons

I got some weeding done today in between the rows in the greenhouse.  Tomorrow I can plant the melons and this greenhouse is planted out.  Sigh.  I’m woefully behind on trellising tomatoes.  Can’t complain though…look at my help outside, wanting to visit.

100_7823

 

Nose prints on Tufflite IV

Nose prints on Tufflite IV

 

That's boring, I'm outta here.

That’s boring, I’m outta here.

 

18 Comments leave one →
  1. CassieOz permalink
    June 14, 2014 7:28 pm

    Ah, I always sigh at your green houses. I know how essential they are to your food production but I have awful greenhouse envy. It’s rainy, windy and cold here today (10C) to I’m hiding inside and NOT weeding. Again.

    • June 14, 2014 8:07 pm

      Cassie, they are a struggle, I don’t quite “own” this one yet, just like the “new” garden, they just don’t have the grounding effect on me. But oh my goodness, this one was for finishing turkeys and even since it’s been 5 years since we had turkeys in there, the soil is incredible! I need a machete to even go in there almost 🙂 That’s a good thing, and probably the reason Jane was so curious. We got enough rain I can’t weed in the garden outside, so I thought I better get on the stick inside before it gets hot again. Because we have to get started on hay pretty soon and then gardening kinda goes on hold 😦

      • CassieOz permalink
        June 14, 2014 9:22 pm

        Well I hope the rain ends in plenty of time for haymaking. We weren’t able to cut any the year before last and that was a disaster. In a good year, we get two cuts of a 25acre paddock that has about 60% lucerne (nice mix) but have to rely on the contractor and his timing too. Fingers crossed for you. PS: I love anything with pics of Lady Jane in it.

        • June 14, 2014 10:08 pm

          Envious of the lucerne 🙂 Haying is fairly predictable, it quits raining July 4th and you get out the mower. One cut is all we can hope for though.

  2. CassieOz permalink
    June 14, 2014 10:44 pm

    We sell a enough to pay the contractors fee and try to keep second cut for ourselves. Well, that’s the plan…

    • June 15, 2014 6:18 am

      Fingers crossed for the plan! We’ve been pretty dry here, I’m waiting for some more growth. I get my first cutting by grazing now, otherwise we would have tough old, overripe hay 😦

  3. June 15, 2014 3:37 am

    If it helps, I haven’t staked my tomatoes yet, either. And they are beginning to sprawl. 😦 Number four son moved to the city this summer, and he was the tomato-staker-upper!

  4. June 15, 2014 3:46 am

    Matron how do you trellis your tomatoes? I’ve seen you use tomato clips in the past but in the picture I see post between the plants. Are you trying something new? I’m trying out tomato clips for the first time this year. I grow all my tomatoes outside, (the east Tennessee weather is usually good for growing tomatoes).

    I had been using a Florida weave to keep my tomatoes upright, but I was never pleased with this after the plants got big (everything too bunch up so the plant couldn’t dry off from rain or dew). I used individual posts before that but I put out too many plants now. Hope the tomato clips will work better!

    • June 15, 2014 6:16 am

      Craig, I’m trying Florida weave in this year in this greenhouse, not sure if I’m going to like it but I don’t have to deal with months of growth, since our season is pretty condensed with tomatoes. I’m still using clips in the other greenhouse, so we’ll see how it goes. I have lots of extra T-posts and baling twine so no cash outlay to experiment on this. The biggest reason for trying the weave is that the purlins are higher in this greenhouse and I didn’t want to do the ladder work before planting – lazy…

  5. June 15, 2014 3:58 am

    I know you’ve probably mentioned this but…..are you transplanting melons? Or direct seeding? And how much room are you giving them in the green house or are you trellising? I’ve got seedlings coming up…..first year for transplanting….and have read that they don’t like their feet messed with for transplanting much. As always, thanks for the info.

    • June 15, 2014 6:03 am

      K, I am transplanting them into that mulched row that is still open in that photo. It’s pretty conventional system with drip underneath, so I’ll probably do hills or stations about two feet apart and let them sprawl since I just don’t have time to trellis. Even in the greenhouse melons are iffy, Delicious 51 PMR seems to ripen for me. When I can, I try to direct seed cucurbits, and avoid transplanting but lots of people seem to do it and if you just look the other way, it seems to work. I have some summer squash in the garden side by side, a couple transplants and a couple of direct seed. The transplants are bigger but they look weak compared to their direct seeded counterparts.

      I’m thinking transplanting with irrigation probably makes a difference, since I am not irrigating many of my cucurbits, I need that taproot to do its job and seek out soil moisture and go deep.

  6. June 15, 2014 5:49 am

    priceless! c

  7. Chris permalink
    June 15, 2014 6:39 am

    Wow! and Jane Butterfield looking through the window for her mama? As C. said..priceless! 🙂

    • June 15, 2014 7:04 am

      Yes, priceless, she’s been the rodeo cow of late…goofy as could be, getting out, applying warpaint cowstyle in the compost pile and generally just enjoying her dry period a little too much Mama says…of course I am to blame for not electrifying her fence :p

  8. June 15, 2014 9:31 am

    That’s cute!

  9. Beth in Ky permalink
    June 16, 2014 9:36 am

    I would swear that was my hand in the picture… As for tomatoes, I put up repurposed sections of old woven wire fence, 2 metal posts to hold it up, then tie the tomato to it… cukes the same, except they climb themselves. Pretty easy picking this way. I do still use some heavy duty (concrete wire) cages but don’t really like them, jams everything in there too tight.

  10. June 16, 2014 6:13 pm

    I have been following your blog for a few years now and appreciate how you farm.
    I plan to move to the Portland area this fall and would like to get in contact
    could you please email me so we can stay in touch?

Leave a Reply

