Skip to content

The Odd Time in the Pantry

June 20, 2014
Last of the keeping onions  - June 20, 2014

Last of the keeping onions – June 20, 2014

We’re getting down to the dregs, some days we eat all fresh from the garden and days like this, cold and drizzly – we plumb the depths of the freezer to see what’s there that needs to be eaten.

On the menu tonight?  A mix of fresh, just picked cabbage and carrots for slaw, and a pork roast made into carnitas.

Here’s an old post about the cabbage slaw…no peppers yet but it will be good anyway.

And here’s what’s going on with the pork roast.

I can’t wait for dinner!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2014 11:44 am

    Had slaw last night. Very similar recipe. Cabbage heads are still a bit small but…

  2. Allisa permalink
    June 20, 2014 1:37 pm

    Love this post! Especially the link to Josh Weissman’s superb site. Now I’m getting his updates too! Enjoy dinner

  3. CassieOz permalink
    June 20, 2014 3:43 pm

    Winter Solstice here today and a kitchen full of friends coming for dinner which is a mix of home grown (freezer and canned), garden fresh (salads) and ‘cheated and bought them in’ (peppers and avocado). We can toast the longer (and yet colder) days ahead while you are awaiting the bounty of the second half of summer and your days close in.

    Happy Summer Solstice/Longest Day, from Australia

  4. June 21, 2014 2:01 am

    I just made a large batch of parsnip hash from a butt that had been slow cooked in our pear sauce. If I leave the parsnips in the ground, the mice get them. So I dig in late fall and freeze them. Except for the salt and pepper, it all came from the farm. It’s a good way to use up the remaining onions, too.

    • June 21, 2014 4:27 am

      Pam, sounds delicious. I am fortunate to not have that problem with my parsnips, for some reason the voles don’t go for them. Interesting note on rutabagas, my dogs love them after a hard freeze, but last year I planted my regular Joan, and added Gilfeather Turnip which is really a white rutabaga…the dogs think they are candy, I had to cover them like I do the carrots to keep the dogs out!

  5. Carrie permalink
    June 21, 2014 5:44 am

    Happy Solstice from the UK

  6. Bee permalink
    June 21, 2014 6:46 am

    Yes, those “experts” who talk about planning your meals ahead always make me laugh. Hard to plan when you don’t know what’s going to ripen in the garden, what leftovers you’ll need to use up, what’s in the freezer that should be used to make room for a new crop, whether the cream has soured enough to use for a particular recipe and whether the butcher will come on Monday or Thursday so you’ll have fresh liver for liver and onions. Flexibility is the name of the game at my house, since I can’t plan meals more than 48 hours ahead! Last night was sliced fresh pork side meat (need to make room for the two pigs who will soon be ready to butcher), potato salad (using up about-to-sprout potatoes, green onions, fermented pickles and extra hard-boiled eggs) and carrot sticks.

    • June 21, 2014 7:09 am

      You got me beat – I’m usually getting nervous at about 3 in the afternoon…hmmm what’s for dinner 🙂

      • Bee permalink
        June 21, 2014 11:19 am

        Oh, I have days like that, too, Nita! And the loose plan for today just got creamed, since Maybelle calved and the calf was apparently taken by a mountain lion. Bummer! So I can’t rely on the baby to clear out the colostrum and am back to a milking routine. Leftovers tonight!

        • June 21, 2014 1:21 pm

          Ugh, I hate that! That’s always my biggest worry, but we’ve been able to avoid that for over 5 years now…knocking on wood as I type this. But the cougars are getting thicker around here 😦 Hope the rest of the your day/week goes better than today!

  7. Vicki permalink
    June 22, 2014 7:19 am

    Yum! It’s always fun to see how you use all your homegrown foods. Inspiring. Would love to see more 😉

  8. July 6, 2014 5:12 am

    I know this is a “I should have known that” question, but I don’t. Just completed my onion crop here in Texas with large white onions that are “green!” Can anyone tell me why they are green veined? What did I do wrong or what can be done?

Leave a Reply

