Skip to content

Scape Artist

July 4, 2014

100_8153
Jane doesn’t care for garlic, but she loves garlic scapes!

100_8155

Down the hatch

Down the hatch

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Janet Russell permalink
    July 4, 2014 10:19 pm

    Does eating garlic scapes make her milk taste funny? Or is she dry right now?

  2. CassieOz permalink
    July 4, 2014 10:31 pm

    Pretty cow, even when you can’t see much of her!

    • July 5, 2014 4:14 am

      I am supposed to get a good photo of her new mask for Kirby’s thread…maybe today Miss Priss will comply. Got lots of good photos of the business end but the face shots? Pffft, she’s on me looking for treats or scratching.

      • Kirby permalink
        July 10, 2014 9:37 am

        It looks like it hangs lower on her nose. How is it around the eyes?

        • July 10, 2014 9:57 am

          Good, I hope to get a photo of her whole head today – she’s not been needing it too much, but I am so thankful to have it!

  3. July 5, 2014 2:01 am

    Won’t that flavor the milk? Mine all went into scape pickles and scape pesto. The pesto is soooo gooood!

    • July 5, 2014 4:13 am

      Pam, she’s dry. I planted all hardneck this year, lots of scapes 🙂 A lot of them went into the oven with filet beans for roasting. Yummy!

  4. July 5, 2014 3:28 am

    Do they affect the taste of her milk?

  5. Andrea permalink
    July 5, 2014 1:05 pm

    Just a few words to let you know how grateful I am for your site. I have been reading you for several years and just today became an ‘official’ follower-no more lurking in the shadows for me. Must’ve been the cute pics of Jane’s snout munchin’ on some scapes that finally got me. I am a city-bound girl with aspirations for a farm where I can keep a house cow of my own – I answered well on the reasons not to keep a house cow, yep it’s definitely for me.
    I wanted you to know that I cried when Della left you and I still think of her often. Everything that you share with us is so precious and informative and I am so thankful that you exist and bother with posting considering everything else you’ve got going. Your blog is a true light in my life. Thank you.

    • July 6, 2014 7:10 am

      Andrea, thanks so much…oh my, how nice your words sounded yesterday. We miss Della too 🙂 She was a major topic at our 4th of July dinner, she touched lots of peoples lives in her little circle of “friends.”

  6. July 5, 2014 5:10 pm

    When we milked we never let the dairy cows out when the wild onions came up in the spring. The milkman would not take the milk if it smelled of onions, this has been a few years ago.

  7. sherry permalink
    July 5, 2014 5:35 pm

    I take it she’s dry.

  8. July 6, 2014 4:05 am

    Who was that masked stranger?

  9. July 24, 2014 9:52 pm

    love your humor.

Leave a Reply

