Skip to content

Maid in the Shade

July 12, 2014

Or should I say brush hog?

1/4 Guernsey, 3/4 Chestnut

1/4 Guernsey, 3/4 Chestnut

I took pity on Janey today and put her in the barn yard.  We’re hauling hay and I don’t have time to pack water to her so she’s on autopilot for the heat wave.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. CassieOz permalink
    July 12, 2014 3:34 pm

    I just love pix of Jane as she supervises your life. I’ve finally conceded that I can’t milk Morag any more until I get my new hip so it’s down to DH until we dry her up in about 8 weeks. I still go down for my dose of cow each morning though. Wouldn’t miss that!

    • July 12, 2014 3:55 pm

      Cassie, I thought of you the other day, as my hip hurt once in a while while raking hay…I forgot to take off my pedometer (afraid I would lose it and run over it with the tractor, although I lost it this morning moving the cows). Apparently raking hay in over and under on a rough field made the pedometer think I walked ten miles. Every creak made me think of your hip surgery. Give Morag a hug for me. If I squint one eye I can imagine Jane is making bag. But I did catch sight of a mucus string this morning. Things are starting to cook.

  2. Bee permalink
    July 12, 2014 4:19 pm

    Hey, ladies, if you’re not already seeing one, a chiropractor trained in the Activator method can be very helpful for hip pain (says the orthopedic RN who sees one once a week!). It’s often the displacement of muscles, tendons and bones that makes it so painful. An Activator-trained chiropractor can adjust you with only gentle taps of the instrument — no bone-cracking, twisting and adjusting as in typical chiropractic work and no pain. Check Activator.com and find one who is Advanced Proficiency Rated; they have the most training.

    • July 12, 2014 4:25 pm

      Bee, thanks for that, that is my problem, but Cassie is beyond that stage. I’m bad weeding and I feel it if I don’t do it properly 😦

Leave a Reply

