Skip to content

State of the Pasture Mid-July

July 14, 2014
July 14, 2014

July 14, 2014

Good.

100_8269
I’m still working on finishing this field, when the cows get to the end of the pink I’ll be done here and moving the cows to a different field.

100_8261
The regrowth for fall is doing well, although slowing down considerably with the hot, dry weather we’ve been having.

100_8262
So now it’s just graze the stockpile, water, and weed.

100_8263

 

100_8285
And wait for Jane’s baby.  If I was a betting person, I would say Jane is not going to make her end of July due date.  Unless she really gets on the stick and starts bagging up.  This will be her third calf, maybe she’ll surprise me and be on time.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2014 10:00 am

    Beautiful in all respects – Jane is beautiful, your beeves are beautiful, your pasture looks wonderful – very healthy.

    Flies. I found your post about No-Fly and Jane. Do you have to apply this pretty frequently for her? I’m finding that to be true for my Miss Ruby; perhaps I’m not doing a thorough enough job. But the other question – what do you do for your beeves? This would be pretty labor intensive for a flock – sorry, herd (I’m a sheep person 😉 ) – larger than 1. I finally have my chickens with my beef cows and I hope to see improvement from that on the fly situation, but some of my beeves really don’t want to stand still for me to apply this stuff.

    I love the rich diversity in your pasture. My upper pastures have this sort of diversity, though they are not so beautiful right now (I’m at the beginning of managing them myself, so it will be a few years). My lower pastures – river bottom that has anaerobic soil and floods in the wintertime – are much less diverse, so I’m on a learning path for how to enhance the plant diversity there.

    Your faithful posts and lovely pictures are such a blessing! Unending thanks to you!

    • July 14, 2014 1:25 pm

      Marilyn, thanks – I do put No-Fly on Jane when she’s milking and I’ve been checking her tummy and milk veins for flies right now, so far so good. The beef cows have to rough it, rotating them away helps, but they do have some flies. You can put up a cattle rub for them with repellant and once they figure it out they will use it.

      Pasture improvement is always a journey for sure. You can ruin a pasture in a few days in the wrong weather, and fixing it takes so much longer 😦

  2. July 14, 2014 10:02 am

    Is that tansy?

    • July 14, 2014 1:22 pm

      Yes 😦

      • July 14, 2014 1:36 pm

        Well, you got it out!!! 😉

        • July 14, 2014 2:03 pm

          Marilyn, that one anyway. Rotational grazing has helped immensely, now it’s only a problem in shady areas where the grass doesn’t do well. I try to weed after the cows. It’s much easier to pull when they have eaten the grass away from plant.

  3. July 14, 2014 10:11 am

    What’s up with Blake & Dickey? And what is that pink plant? I have some too and don’t know what it is. I spend plenty of time every day hanging out by the water cooler myself 😀

    • July 14, 2014 1:21 pm

      Jackie, Blake and Dickie moved…Blake to “Iceland” and Dickie moved to Hillsboro about 50 miles away. The pink in the pasture is bentgrass, it’s blooming right now so it’s full on pink.

  4. Lucy permalink
    July 14, 2014 11:10 am

    Please send some hot dry to me! Our pasture is still flooded……

    • July 14, 2014 1:20 pm

      Lucy, I would if I could 🙂 We did get some much needed rain yesterday, but it barely settled the dust 😦

  5. Margaret permalink
    July 14, 2014 11:13 am

    Jane is such a pretty cow. Do you know what her background/breeding is? Don’t know much about cows except that she doesn’t look like a Jersey, Holstein, Angus, or Hereford…. 🙂

  6. Kristin permalink
    July 15, 2014 4:06 am

    I’m sure you have covered this but how many times in a year do you graze each area?

    • July 15, 2014 4:24 am

      Kristin, two or three. This is the second pass on this pasture and it will be at least 60 – 90 days before it could be grazed again.

  7. July 15, 2014 6:21 am

    Oh my MIG! Look at all those seed heads! lol

    Somewhat random thoughts as I read this:
    That calf needs to get to work. Don’t worry about the camera.
    We have dodged the hot and dry bullet so far this year.
    I wonder how often she has to replace her rubber boots. Mine just don’t last.
    Ugh. The bull arrives this week. (fingers crossed)

Leave a Reply

